We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular-Does the Job!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
GreenLeadersGold level
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Regular-Does the Job!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2007

The fairmont is a great hotel for families, and i have stayed there with my family many times during my lifetime. Nearly once a year even! It is a great location if you live in Sydney, because it is a way from the city buzz but not far to drive there, approximatley 2 hours depending on traffic.

The hotel is very homely, with the doormen being welcoming and friendly. The hotel is very close to the small town of leura and close to some very nice restaurants, many with 5 stars (or 3 hats.) It is about a 15minute drive to Katoomba, which is where all the attractions such as the scenic railway (steepest railway in the world) and the three sisters are. the villiage of Leura has a nice bakery, some very subtle but nice restaurants and cafes - basically all your needs, although the fairmont provides alot.

the lobby won't dazzle you, it's pleasant and clean but understated. the completle feel of the fairmont is that it's lyk one large woodside cabin, very homely and warm with that stereotypical smell of firewood but large enough to not provide claustrophobic impresisons.

the staff are friendly and willing to help. The rooms are pretty basic, they have good channels on the television - cable but not all the channels only a select range. there is nickelodeon for the kids aswell as sports channels, home/life kind of channels as well as the normal free to air (abc, 7, 9, 10, sbs.)

the bathrooms are clean, and towels are provided as well as soap, shampoo and conditioner, hair cap, sanitary devices for women and a shower that is able to convert into a bath with the push of a button.

the beds are comfortable, but the matresses are of low quality compared to most hotels with the pillows sometimes feeling quite hard - although then hardness of the pillows was only really experienced once by myself and family on the latest fairmont expedition.

The hotel is very child-friendly with lots of in house movies such as ones that have not come onto dvd yet and some that can still be found in cinemas! they have older classical movies as well as an adult range. there is a safe, and fridge stocked with basic drinks such as soft drinks, water and beer whcih can be consumed but noted and added to the rooms toll.

Jamiesons is suggested for the buffet breakfast which is a basic nice buffet with a fruit/yoghurt/muesli section then moves into a cold cuts and yoghurt section, then starts the hot food which has eggs, hash browns, bacon, bread and butter pudding and then there are cereals, bread and a toaster as well as muffins or little pastries for later. there is also a drink despenser with different fruit juices and water.


It's best to go into town if you want dinner, because there are some fantastic restaurants. Solitary,cannot be missed! it is quaint with moderate prices (higher than your avergage place because of the excellancy and high rating of the restaurant.) they give you complimentary soup and bread, with a lovely and warm (literally because it is a bit up hill so its cold and the heating works) environment. due to the high altitutde of the place, there is a great view. Definitley go there, the desserts are the highlight!good coffee.

Ashcrofts in blackheath is great - must go.

You can find the numbers for these places in the yellow pages provided in the fairmont rooms.

the pools great, with a gym that is a bit old but does the job and an indoor pool as well as an outdoor one and a spa with each. makesure u have chlorine resistant swimsuits for the indoor one though - towels are provided at the desk in the indoor pool. same level as the pool is the games room for kids. overpriced but provide good entertainment value.

gift shop is a bit of a hole but has entertainment value. two wings in the hotel - ask megalong because it's brighter and fun with the pool on that side, hence a shorter walk.

Near the gift shop is a billiards room so thats good - all in all great. gotta say the art they have is (--) but wat can u say?

right next to the golf course if ur into that, with tennis courts and a nice walk for you to do. very quaint and peaceful settings.

Stay there - it's truly great:)

  • Liked — the overall feel of the hotel.
  • Disliked — pillows!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trip_lover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    909
    382
    132
    108
See reviews for
744
1,084
36
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

We arrived late Saturday afternoon and I was pleased to find a parking spot not far from the front entrance. The doorman/porter was welcoming and offerred to take our (small overnight) bag, and was not put out when we declined. Reception was efficient.

The room was clean, but there was nothing on opening the door for the first time to set this hotel room apart from any other ordinary room in any other ordinary hotel. We made a cup of tea in our room. There was free cable (?or satellite) TV but the reception was variable. Bathroom was clean but the sink was small and square and it was difficult to wash your hands without splashing water around. There was only one hook in the bathroom, so nowhere to hang towels apart from the rack over the bathtub/shower- which allowed the towels to be splashed- and it was difficult to put clothes/underwear/pyjamas/robe on one hook on the back of the door.

There was a sign on the airconditioning control advising not to set the temp to 25degrees or above, otherwise the aircon would shut down. I set it to 24c but I am sure the temp did not reach even 20c as we were on the cold side of comfortable all night. There were only two pillows for our queen bed and both were very flat and worn. Consequently Mrs P had a stiff neck in the am.

We had the buffet dinner at Jamieson's restaurant in the hotel and it was very ordinary. It must be variable because I note some other reviewers have said it was very good. The oysters were good but I think they were rationed as they only came out a few at a time. The steamed fish was good (except that the waiter said is was ?basa? imported from Vietnam) but all the other dishes were same old same old. Desserts looked much better than they tasted. The fruit salad was all gone. There was no whipped cream or custard but ice cream was delivered promptly when I asked.

Breakfast was similarly OK. There was a notice advising not to put croissants in the toaster and to ask the waiter to warm them up- which she did, and they were very nice. The fruit platter must have been prepared days or a day ahead as the melon was soft and soggy, and the peel of the cut orange was curled and dried out.

Coffee was very good- self serve- and various teas were available in pots.

Overall, our stay was good, but it could have been excellent with a little attention to detail.

  • Liked — nice curtains
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank presdient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2007

My husband and I booked a last minute escape at Peppers Fairmont Resort and had a very relaxed and enjoyable stay. I had heard mixed reviews about the resort and admittedly it is a little dated, but it is beautifully maintained inside and out. The gardens are gorgeous, the pool is excellent and the rooms are very cosy and clean. I believe some of the rooms have been very modernised but I liked the older style as I thought they were more in keeping with the Resort. It had a lovely bar with an open fire where you could relax with a drink or hot chocolate. The Saturday night buffet was excellent and good value and the breakfast was very good (loved the Bircher Muesli). There is a golf course at the resort and tennis courts. It is only 1 km from Leura shops, which is a great mountain village with cafes and interesting things to see. I would recommend the resort for families and romantic escapes and would certainly go again. It is very good value compared to other much more expensive resorts in the area.

  • Liked — cosy mountain hideaway
  • Disliked — too many children
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank estatictravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2007

Want outdoor activities? I suggest avoiding Peppers while I'm here. On both of my stays it's been overcast or bucketing between periods of fine weather. But that's not the hotel's fault, and it gave me a chance to get to know it... and like it.

Most people will get to Leura by car from Sydney. The trip's about 1.5 to 2 hours, part of which is on the M4 motorway. ($2.20 toll.) Further into the mountains the roads get narrower and subject to the RTA's "throw a dice" speed limits. On my last trip several pieces of (needed) roadwork also slowed the trip, and that work will probably go on for some time so it needs to be factored into your plans. You pass through a number of villages which offer arts and crafts on the way, so if you're into such things the slower pace once you leave the motorway may not matter so much. I'd still avoid a drive back to Sydney on Sunday afternoons if possible; the traffic bottlenecks from weekend escapees returning home can be a little frustrating.

Peppers borders the Jamieson Valley (much of which is a national park) on its southern side and a golf course on its northern one. It's set on a sprawling block of land consisting of well tended gardens, lakes and activity facilities. The area between the highway and the resort is low density residential, so it's a place to go to for quiet rather than for the bustle of shopping. (Aside from the eateries, the only on site retailer is a gift shop (open during normal business hours including weekends) which also stocks, for example, confectionery. However it's a short drive to the various Blue Mountains townships if you need anything.)

There's plenty of parking, though none of it is undercover. There are about 30 or 40 spots near the main entrance, but those fill up quickly. The majority of the parking is on three terraced levels starting a couple of hundred metres or so down hill from the main entrance. The haul up hill is especially fun in the rain and/or if you have a lot of / heavy luggage, so I'd advise less mobile guests to take advantage of the hotel's offer to take care of your luggage; drop it off at the main entrance, drive down to the car park, and then you'll only have yourselves to haul up the hill. Anyone with a reasonable level of fitness should be fine with or without luggage, though. When it's not raining.

The building itself is also sprawling and consists of two main wings; the eastern Megalong wing and the western Jenolan wing, both of which consist of 4 floors. Because of the way the land slopes, level 4 of the Megalong wing is at the same elevation as level 1 of the Jenolan one. The various restaurants, bars and conference facilities exist between the two wings along with reception. The pool and fitness facilities branch off from level 2 of Megalong on the northern side.

Both times I've stayed in rooms on the south side of the Jenolan wing. (Level 2 the first time, level 1 the second.) The best views are probably from the upper levels on the south side of Jenolan from which you'd be able to see straight across to the other side of the Jamieson Valley. The upper levels of Megalong would probably also offer a fair view of this. The views on the lower levels of the south side are blocked off to a large extent by the trees around the buildings; not that that's an unattractive sight. The northern side's views look over the hotel grounds and the golf course, but be aware that the lowest levels on the northern side of Megalong are below the level of the pathways and look out onto a small garden area only. You probably aren't coming here to stare out of the window of your room, but it's a factor to consider if you want a particular "atmosphere" for your stay.

I don't discuss room prices in my reviews because any connection between the rack rate and what you pay via internet bookings (for ANY hotel) is purely theoretical. It depends on which Web site you book through, when you're staying, the phase of the moon and what was in the chicken entrails that morning. A stay at Peppers won't be cheap but nor will it be outrageously expensive, subject to your personal level of outrage. The restaurants and food aren't cheap either. The hotel often hosts business conferences and retreats for merchant banks, legal firms and the like. (Yes, I DO have a point here, bear with me.) The common area walls are hung with the works of some of the more interesting (often local) Australian artists (Jo Ernst, James Willebrant, Robert John Bosler, etc) and most of them are for sale for thousands, rather than hundreds of dollars. (I don't know whether they've been scaled back since a previous reviewer wrote of them, but I didn't find the description/price tags to be either large or tacky any more than they would be in a normal commercial gallery.) Put it all together and it's fair to say that Peppers' target market is middle to upper income, white collar types as has been alluded to some in past reviews. HOWEVER there's nothing snooty about the place in either its atmosphere or its staff, and I don't think that anyone, blue collar, white collar, up town, down town, whatever, could feel uncomfortable or awkward here once settled in. (Except perhaps the lager-lout crowd who probably wouldn't want to come her anyway.)

Some previous reviews have commented on "shabbiness" in the common areas. I have no such feeling about them. They've had a few years of use now (the resort opened in 1988) and have the odd spot of wear and tear, but alas that's pretty much inevitable for a hotel; even if walls are freshly painted and unmarked, they won't stay that way for long. (Though I doubt that these walls have remained un-refurbished for the whole 19 years.) However I'm not sure who dreamed up the pea green, cream and... purple décor of the corridors. Check the photo (yes, the dark pieces of carpet are purple even if they don't photograph well in low light) and decide for yourself. The outside of the buildings has also been well maintained, with the possible exception of the walls around the pool which could do with a lick of paint. However I'd attribute that to the effect of the chlorine in the pool and the unavoidable humidity.

The rooms are clean and (generally) comfortable and follow the green / cream colour scheme started in the corridors... but thankfully leave the purple behind. (Deep browns, presumably reflecting a "wooden" theme, take its place.) You can see one of the two spare beds which serve double duty as lounges in one photo. I'm not sure what they're like as beds, but unless you have REALLY long legs or recline on them they're not brilliant in their lounge role. The other (minor) gripe is the main bed, which is two singles joined together. I'm sure that this isn't the only hotel to do that to maximise accommodation flexibility, but on my second stay the crack between the two and the raised seams around the rim of each mattress were more noticeable than in any other hotel I've stayed at. It's not QUITE uncomfortable, but you're more than a little conscious of it. At the very least, the use of a single protector covering both mattresses might help to disguise the mattress seams.

The main chest of drawers / work table had a few scratches on it from years of use as a previous reviewer noted (as do the bedside tables which are made of the same dark wood), but since the furniture seems designed to give an "antique" feel the room doesn't suffer from it in my opinion. The question of whether it bothers any given guest is probably one of expectation rather than there being any absolute right or wrong here.

The ubiquitous 48cm analogue CRT television is present with free to air channels, a couple of pay TV channels and about half a dozen pay per view movie channels. (Including adult movies, which can be locked out by PIN code.) Reception on the ABC is a little dodgy and the room's channel list is out of date; the channel shown as CNN is actually the Maxx music channel. But again, you don't come here to watch TV.

The usual facilities (mini bar and fridge, iron and ironing board, coffee and tea making and so on) are there. The clock radios have been removed, which is unusual for a 4+ star hotel. (They were on the room facilities list, but have been crossed out.) However you can book a wakeup call and the time (albeit 5 minutes fast) is shown on the TV... when it's off. The hair dryer in the bathroom is a rather odd thing. It's a hose-like contraption attached to the wall, and has only one setting; high temperature /cyclonic force. For women who use more subtle styling techniques, bringing your own may still be an idea. Aside from that the bathroom is immaculate and modern and the full sized bath is a joy to soak in. The in room safe is slightly larger than those I've encountered elsewhere and with a little ingenuity WILL fit a 15.4" wide screen notebook! (But if you've a 17" notebook, you're still out of luck.) Wireless broadband is available in the rooms; the receptionist (working from memory) said that she thought that it was $10 for half an hour or $30 for 24 hours, and you're provided with your own login. I lost interest when she mentioned that you need to disable your firewall, and didn't test it. (Note that the hotel also has a business centre which should have all the communications facilities that you need.)

If you want to "do something" at the resort you'd need several days to get through everything on offer. Tennis courts, a basketball court, a well used squash court (there used to be two but the second one has been carpeted and now appears to be an aerobics studio), indoor and outdoor swimming pools, gymnasium, bicycle hire, golf at the neighbouring course, health and beauty facilities including massage, a games room (pictured), a billiards room [draws breath...] and of course bushwalking either around the hotel itself or after a short drive up to Katoomba, not to mention an array of guided tours from horse riding to 4 wheel driving that the hotel can arrange. Most of these incur an additional charge except for the pool, gym and ball courts. (Though there's a charge for equipment for use on the latter if you don't bring your own.) If you plan on undertaking any of these activities aside from the gym or pool I do recommend booking (ideally a few days) ahead to ensure that you get court (bike, horse, massage, whatever) time.

The indoor pool is heated, 17.5m long and between 1 and 1.8m deep. It's about 3 lanes wide, and one is set aside for lap swimmers. I have no idea why it goes to 1.8m since it uses more water, makes it problematic for poor swimmers who are under 6' tall and affords no real benefit to good swimmers. I prefer the Novotel Canberra's "1.2 metres all the way" indoor pool as per my previous review. The outdoor pool is also heated. I'd love to tell you the depth but it's not marked and I didn't feel inclined to sample it in the rain. There are spas near both of the pools, and there's an attendant in the indoor pool/gym area.

The gym equipment has been well used but it's not rusty or run down. All of it appears to be in working order and there's a good deal of it; two treadmills, several cycle and step machines, several fixed weight stations, free weights, a rowing machine and others. It's one of the more comprehensively fitted out hotel gyms I've come across, though it lacks any cross-trainer machines probably due to space limitations. The shower facilities are large (far more so than in most hotel gyms) as are the locker facilities. A sauna is located off from the showers, which is less uncommon. (Supposedly there's another in the women's shower room, but you'll excuse me for not checking.) Unlike the gym the squash court could do with a bit of a spruce up; there are a few spots on the front wall where the top layer of plaster has come away and which could make for some interesting ball deflections should you hit them.

On my first visit I also noticed some outdoor obstacle course style equipment at the start of a bushwalking trail. I'm guessing that this is for the type of corporate retreat so beloved by bosses who think that they can get their employees to climb a wall together and be transformed into a "Band Of Brothers". (Without appreciating that there is a particular catalyst needed for such a transformation, and a company "bootcamp" ain't it. You don't get shot at or share a foxhole in most corporate environments. Although in ONE place where I used to work...) This equipment doesn't seem to be available for use by the casual guest for obvious (public liability) reasons, but your life probably won't be the poorer for it.

There are five main dining areas at the resort, by which I mean three. Misty's appears to be for functions rather than being a true restaurant, so we'll leave that one aside. (It was being used for a birthday party when I was there.) At the bottom of the pecking order we therefore have The View coffee shop, and Embers Bar. These are in fact is the same place; it just changes identifies at 5pm. (The coffee shop incarnation opens at 11am, 7 days.) Split between an upper and lower level, The View / Embers isn't overly spacious. The upper level contains the bar / coffee shop (which still looks like a bar), and about half a dozen 4 person tables nestled closely together in two groups. The lower level, right next to a large stone fireplace, contains about 20 built-in seats in a semicircular pattern around the fireplace, plus small tables to rest drinks or snacks on. Both levels offer a view over the valley via floor to ceiling windows on either side of the fireplace. Watching a rainstorm sweep through while you're being warmed by the fire is a nice experience. The requested minimum attire level is "smart casual", and children aren't allowed after 10pm. (The bar closes at midnight.) I had a chicken and salad burger and orange juice for lunch there on the Saturday; the cost was $20, the serving was more than ample, and the quality was above average though perhaps the ingredients (especially the salad) weren't QUITE as fresh as the ones for a similar dish (of similar price) at the Novotel Canberra.

Jamieson's, just off to the left of and down one level from The View, is one level UP the dining experience food chain. It's a casual dining restaurant which is open for breakfast (7am to 10:30) and lunch (noon to 2:30) 7 days, and for buffet dinner on Saturdays (6 to 10.30 pm, reservation required). The décor's fairly simple; beech wood upholstered chairs, and tables accommodating between 2 and 8 people. The furniture may be nearing its use-by date; more than one of the chairs has its foam padding sticking out from holes in the corners of the upholstery, and shows the scuff marks of many years of use on its legs. But that shouldn't give you the idea that the restaurant is run down or shabby; overall, it's not. And the surrounding windows offer a view out over the valley which will probably distract you from the wear on the chairs unless you're a pedantic Trip Advisor reviewer.

I had breakfast here both days (as part of my package), but didn't try it for lunch. The breakfast menu is expansive and very good. Fruit, cereal, toast, eggs, tomatoes, hash browns, sausages, bacon, baked beans amongst other things, at least 5 different types of juice and all of it well prepared; you'd be hard pressed not to find SOMETHING to your taste. The only minor criticism is that they run out of newspapers a little too quickly on the weekend; be prepared to bring some reading material of your own (if you're so inclined) as a precaution, or get there early. The restaurant is fairly large so it would be rare for them to run out of space for breakfast as one previous reviewer mentioned; but the hotel is pretty large too so it COULD happen, especially when a conference is in full swing.

Room service breakfast is also available at $17 per person (continental/ bakery breakfast), $22 pp (light breakfast; cereal, juice, toast and coffee / tea), or $29 pp (the Blue Mountains breakfast which is a platter of sausage, eggs, bacon etc, or an omelette, hash brown and a few other things). I'd be inclined to go for Jamieson's over the Blue Mountains breakfast; at Jamieson's, you can have as much as you like of whatever you like, personal trainer permitting.

The next step up is the Eucalypt; it's the hotel's fine dining facility (open 6 to 9:30 7 days), and the prices match. ($62.00 for two courses, $75.00 for three plus sides at $5.50 each plus beverages plus (if you wish) tip.) The atmosphere suggests that it's mostly for couples, though I saw a couple of families with older children as well as one forlorn individual tapping out a Trip Advisor review on his PDA. Oh wait; that's a mirror. It's located downstairs from the main lobby, and while it's surrounded by windows there's really nothing to look at since it's open only at night. The interior décor is classy with mirrors running down some of the columns, sculptured glass covering others, leather covered chairs and so on. I went for 3 courses. Before the starter I was given an appetiser consisting of about a milligram of seafood on a large plate with sauce artistically drizzled around it, which gave me a sense of foreboding; unnecessarily, thankfully.

Each course provides a choice of different types of meat dishes, or a vegetarian dish. If you don't like what's on the menu the chef is prepared to suggest alternatives. I went for quail and forest mushroom for starters, aged Megalong beef and a side of mixed vegetables for main, and caramel and vanilla roast pineapple with macadamia ice cream for dessert. There were no milligram servings in any of those three, and in terms of preparation and taste each course was better than the last... which is saying something because the quail was very fine indeed. (You Must Try the roast pineapple dessert if you're ever here. You. Just. Must.) The restaurant has a couple of quirks; they don't leave a pitcher of ice water on your table, but the waiters do ensure that you're topped up. And there's no pepper; only coarse salt in a tray. However I didn't need either; the chef knew exactly what he was doing with the sauces and seasonings. (And popped into the restaurant occasionally, presumably to check how things were going.)

A reservation is required and I'd strongly suggest that you do so at the time that you book your activities; on the Friday that I arrived the earliest I could get into the restaurant was 8pm.

If none of that appeals there's room service which, not coincidentally, has the same menu as The View has for lunch. The soup of the day's $10.50, various mains (mostly meat or seafood dishes) run from about $18.50 to $28, and sides run between $8.50 and $12.50 with desserts in the $12 to $15 range. For a romantic bushwalk a picnic basket can be prepared (with at least 2 hours notice) at a cost of $66. (I wouldn't try that in summer or even late spring, incidentally, because the flies would drive you nuts.)

Would I come here again? Yes. No hotel is perfect but overall I like this place, though I'd probably leave it until I had someone to share it with. (Which, with my romantic history, probably means that I WON'T come here again so I may have to waive that proviso.) Except perhaps for the solo explorer who wants to do all of the tours (and for whom I'd recommend a mid-week stay of 3 or 4 days when the rates are lower), this is probably a better place for couples or even families.

Prices are in $AUD as at March 2007. My previous stay was in Sep-06.

(Late addition: Yesterday I received a letter from the resort acknowledging the suggestions that I left on their feedback form upon check-out. True it's a form letter, but it suggests that someone at the hotel least reads them.)

  • Liked — Plenty of activities, good facilities, good restaurants, great views, clean, generally comfortable
  • Disliked — Can be a little expensive (which is why I rated value as average), but generally worth it if you take advantage of the facilities.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2007

We had been staying in cities (Hong Kong and Sydney) for 3 and 5 nights and had hired a car to vist the Blue Moutains. We booked Peppers as overnight accomodation and were extremely pleased to be able to enjoy a pool for the first time on our trip (choice of indoor and outdoor). The hotel was not particularly busy during our stay. We visited Leura and the three sisters and Katoomba from here. In the evening we enjoyed a bottle of wine and a bar-ordered meal on their bar verandah (smoking area). During the evening every now and then there were quite a lot of flies around us (awful) as well as a couple of wild cockatoos flying around (lovely to watch). Our room was basic, clean and practical. We did feel as if we were away from the city as there was a note in our room on our arrival warning of the possibility of spiders (!!!) being in our room. On finding a spider in your room, you were advised to use the inspect spray that could be found in your wardrobe or call reception. As a UK tourist visiting Sydney, I wouldn't necessarily book this hotel for a long stay but was more than happy with the accommodation it offered as a very nice base to see the blue moutains from.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank ozzyvirgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2006

Stayed here with work on a conference. It is another bland corporate retreat place, but no frills and everything seems a little shabby and truly ordinary. The rooms could all do with a bit of updating. Don't expect anything special. Don't know about the view it was misty our entire time.

  • Liked — Pool area and facilities
  • Disliked — Quality of rooms
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MatthewRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2006

got a good value lastminute deal through wotif.com.au last year and enjoyed a weekend away- although my partner forgot his jacket and jumper and forgot it is always cooler in the mountains!

the hotel is very large when you drive up and quite atypical resort hotel on a golf course -but the landscaping is beautiful and the facilities were great. I particularly loved the indoor pool- although the outdoor one looked excellent for the warmer months.the room had a pleasant outlook and was fairly spacious and clean and functional- everything you could need but not personal -exactly as you would expect in a bigger hotel. the saturday night buffet- seafood as muchas you can eat including prawns for 50 dollars a head... an absolute bargain and really good food. however everyone seemed to be wanting breakfast at the same time and there was a wait in the abr area which then ran out of seats as everyone waited for the buffet breakfast. my partner also had a great game of golf . whillst i loved the nearby shopping in the quaint leura mall. next time though if we can be more organised we might try a cottage- a bit more romantic?

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — waiting for breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — get up early or really late for breakfast if included in price- otherwise get it elsewhere
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Property: Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing