We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Death of a great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Without doubt the death of a famous resort since the Peppers brand has been taken down the place has gone from bad to worst. I stayed at the resort prior to the current owner, taking over back when it was a mainstay of the community. It employed local staff and was a jewel in the local tourist industry with average of two conferences a week. I stayed in shell of building dirt and rubbish lying about all over the place, parts of the conference room areas I would say haven't been used or clean since the last owners left. Some staff don't even look at you the ones that can understand any English. If not for several of the old regular staff the place would not be worth even stepping in the door. Its Very , Very sad to see such a great establishment being treated as a joke. The once prize winning gardens left to go to seed, I watch one of the staff apparently related to the owner treat the place like to private castle whilst treating its guests with rude indifference. I can hardly wait for the current owner to go broke and the place be bought out by someone who knows how to run a hotel business. I would not recommend any tourist to stay, you get better services at a back packers hostel and staff are probably more friendly too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sydneyswagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,463)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,367 - 2,373 of 2,463 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2010

Looking at older reviews it's clear to me that the hotel has made some change. My room was clean and comfortable and acceptable it was'nt over priced and i enjoyed my stay their. The hotel is a little dated and could do with a refurb but it was clean and the facilities there are very good. The service was a little slow but friendly , only draw backs were that there wasn't anywere open to get food but that was easily overcome with leura and resturants not far away.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markyb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

This place is a bit quiet on the guest front, but they've obviously solved many of the problems in the earlier reviews. I stayed here twice in December and whilst the staffing was on the low side the rooms were comfortable, clean and reasonably priced. The service was fine and the facilities excellent with indoor, outdoor pools, jacuzzis. Yes the hotel could benefit from a refurb but rooms look like they've already been refurbed and the price reflects the current standard - in my opinion a perfectly acceptable place to stay and a reasonable cost. One negative was hardly any food options on site as most of the restaurants are closed due to so few guests staying - would suggest heading into Katoomba, Leura or Blackheath for food.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

I went back to this hotel for a conference (not my choice) and it has got worse. Alot worse. My advise is to stay away. We got food poisoning.

A HEALTH HAZARD. STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gradsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We had no idea of the state when we booked and prepaid to stay here. It is a no mans land. The bartender is fantastic, the lovely lady in the morning that was there for breakfast was so please to see a human that she was incredibly insightful and helpful. There are apparently only 12 staff members and there are also apparently only 12 guests. Great ratio for cleaning. It is a beautiful looking hotel that needs a major facelift. I think it's so sad that it's come to this. I wouldn't rate it very high on the star level, and I wouldn't recommend or ever stay here again, but in saying that. The staff we have encountered (who live in the area) have been very helpful and lovely. From what I can see it definitely isn't a staff issue, it's a management issue.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deeinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

far and away the worst experience i have ever had, would be funny if it wasnt my money. reception cant speak english, tried to order room service,, on third attempt the non english speaking waiter brought mer a packet of uncooked pasta and a jug of warm water... what the? it was so pathetic that my wife and i looked at each other and burst out laughing, breakfast was pineapple and rice, no restaurant and room was filthy. we left first night and refused to pay. did not feel safe staying there with my children.. what happened to all the wonderful Peppers staff?

wish i could have rated this as a negative

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank travelmattNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Food Terrible if you were lucky to stay on a night they decided to open the restaurant
Room service crockery left outside door for 3 days along with piles of dirty linen
Virtually no staff, the ones present were in dirty uniforms and had no training.
Had to drive to the next town to have a meal on a night of 0 degrees with 2 small children - disgraceful.
Charge like a wounded bull but do nothing to justify cost.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range: $154 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing