We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yay the Sydney Morning Herald have done an expose. this place should now close down” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
GreenLeadersGold level
wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yay the Sydney Morning Herald have done an expose. this place should now close down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

Oh what a dump. We stayed here in March and it was just awful. We only lasted a night and demanded a discount. It was just horrific. The staff don't speak a word of English. the rooms were not maintained -- ours had no sheets. Sorry, it had 1 sheet and then a bedspread. Strange. And the mini bar food had expired over a year ago. Somehow the booking got lost and we ended up walking in other guests and then reception tried to blame us for getting it wrong (we didnt get it wrong - they did). The pool wasnt working, and when we queried why they said that it was too cold (okaayy it was 25 degrees...) there were no staff anywhere to be seen and we saw some immigration people wandering around (I suspect they were looking for illegal workers being paid on the cheap). the blue mountains is just lovely, but this is a dump. close it down. i read today in the Herald its not just us. Close it down. Now.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sc0tt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    901
    374
    131
    107
See reviews for
732
1,072
35
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

And my brother in law is a pig. The Fairmont used to be a beautiful resort. Unfortunately, we booked in based on our delightful experience 5 years ago. Well, a lot can happen in 5 years and this place has gone from palace to pigsty. I swear the sheets on the bed hadn't been changed from the previous guests and the room wasn't cleaned for the 2 nights we stayed. I didn't want to stay more than one night but my husband, being the civil Aussie that he is, said it would be alright. We stayed one more night and, by then, even he had had enough. We had booked for 3 nights but decided to head home a day early.

We have filed a dispute with our credit card company as the hotel didn't deliver the product. The customer care person at the bank informed me that she had processed other claims similar.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tammydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

I paid over $500 per night for my accomodation here, and I have to say that I've had much better experiences staying in budget youth hostels in my younger days. The state of the whole hotel was appalling - it is in a state of disrepair with mould on the ceilings and walls throughout the hotel; stains are clearly visible on the walls, floors, beds, even our bathrobes. The towels in our bathrrom were wet, and smelled quite unpleasant. Our minibar was mouldy and leaking, and there were open drinks which were partly consumed left in there. Staff were unfriendly, and unhelpful. The pool was closed, unlaundered sheets and towels were left out in the common corridors. The whole place just came across as being unhygenic. I wouldn't be happy paying $50 a night here, let alone $550+. If I could give a negative star rating, this would be the only place where i've stayed that i would consider doing so.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank English_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

We just had 2 nights in the Fairmont Leura. It is a scandal that this hotel can be allowed to operate. The night we were there a Sydney TV station ran a segment about this hotel - and just how bad it was. This was not sensational journalism - but a true account of what most "guests" would experience. The hotel is filthy. The staff , if you could find some, were rude. Fortunately we did not eat in the hotel at all.
We doubt we will have any success in getting any money back for this horror experience. We hope that others heed this advice - and wait in anticipation that the hotel is out of business. Do not make the expensive mistake we did. Stay away.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank connolbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

Everything you hear about this place is true. On our stay there were dirty towels and sheets piled up in the hallways. The sheets on our bed had stains that appeared to be blood. The staff (if you can find them) can barely speak a word of English (and are abrupt and rude). The pool stank of chemicals to the point where it was nauseating. Loose light fittings, windows won't close.... A bloody nightmare.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Baron-VW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

This place was disgusting! We had paid around $400 a night for 4 nights here, and could not believe it was able to tout itself as 4 star. It would have been lucky to be 2 stars. The pool was out of order because the water was disgusting, you couldn't even walk past the pool plant room because the smell was so toxic, the majority of staff could not speak English and the ones that could were about 12 years old and didn't know anything about the place, the food was not only terrible but they reused meat that had been in the previous day's buffet, when we checked in with 50 people they only had one person on check-in so it took an hour to check in, and the internet would constantly drop out and remain out for long periods of time. To top it off, staff did not give a flying [--] when anyone complained. This place was absolutely appalling and I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kirstenevski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miscellaneous01
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

NIGHTMARE. Booked for the weekend but checked out less than 12hrs after arrival.Our view rusty shipping containers outside the window, bugs in bathroom sink, dirty towels/bed linen not just in room but in hallways. EXTREMELY rude receptionist both face to face and hung up on our calls. Had no choice but to clear our own table at breakfast and collect what clean cutlery we could find off other dirty tables! No food left on Buffet for breakfast. Only beautiful thing in this disaster of a resort is the lovely concierge. This place has changed dramaticly. So sad.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank miscellaneous01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Property: Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing