We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star - You must be joking!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 17, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this establishment for 3 nights in March 2009 as part of our honeymoon. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of looking at the reviews of this place after we had paid for the room but seeing that we were being booked by the travel company as being on honeymoon (and the place having a 4 Star rating) we decided to give it the benefit of doubt. I wish we hadn't. What a disappointment!
The room was below average at best and further inspection showed it to have dubious stains on the carpet and bed sheets, the windows didn't close properly, some of the wall sockets were loose and the fridge was stocked with out of date drinks. To get to our room, we used one of the 2 lifts at our end of the hotel - the other lift was out of order.
On the way to the pool area we had to step over large amounts of bird droppings on the outside patio and the temperature in the pool was similar to the Arctic ocean.
The reception staff were abrupt and couldn't look us in the eye when answering questions which indicated that they were perhaps embarrassed by the state of this miserable place. We asked what time the restaurant opened to be told that basically it didn't open and we should look to eating in the next town up the road?? A 4 Star hotel that doesn't have a functioning restaurant? We tried room service one night (on our honeymoon!) but the food was basic at best. In addition, although popping down to the bar area at different times, we couldn't find out when it might be open.
The only highlight for us was that the hotel was right next door to the Leura Golf Club, where the staff were friendly and helpful and the views from the golf course were stunning.
Compared to the hotel we had just left in Sydney and the one to which we were going next (in Hunter Valley), this place was run down, worn out and not the place to be on a honeymoon or any holiday, come to think of it! We won't be returning here nor recommending it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stonedecroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,430 - 2,436 of 2,509 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2009

keep away! This is not the same hotel it once used to be. This old outdated hotel is dirty, the service is poor. There are no staff. In the event of an emergency you would die in your room as no one ever picks up the phone. I was too scared to eat at the hotel for fear of food poisoning. Worst hotel ever!!!

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
8  Thank tooposh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We were allocatted a Room (125) that hadn't been cleaned. The Bath was dirty. There were no Towels and no Soap. Our Complaint at Reception caused for an "Upgrade" to a Superior Room (443) that didn't have the King Size Bed and Spa Bath as requested. The trade-off was that it had a Balcony and was larger. First day was a disaster. The room was not serviced and when we caused for that to happen at about 6:00 PM the bed Linnen was just turned around.
This was Easter weekend and there were about 500 guests and 15 Staff to serve all. No one would answer the Phone, RoomService/HouseKeeping/Reception/MainSwitch were NEVER answered. I had to walk the 120 Meters to Reception and Complain to get an Ice Bucket delivered to the room.
The whole floor was increadibly dirty. Towels thrown into corners of the corridor. Room Service Trays left out in the hallway for over 24 hours.
The Lagoon Pumps failed about 2 weeks before we arrived so the major water features were in-operative. The Spa pool Heater failed on the Saturday so there was not much enjoyment there. The smell of Chlorine in the Indoor pool area indicated that the chemical induction unit wasn't correctly regulated. ll in all, a very Tired Resort, to be avoided at all costs. The Health and Hygiene conditions would have to be the worst I have seen in any Resort. If we could have achieved a Refund of the pre-paid accomodation we would have returned Home. However, this was not an option as one guest learnt. The Police were called as she continued her request and after an hour or more of their presence, I understand that a refund was made.
Easter Horribalis is the best that I can describe it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GrahamI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Sheets had not been changed from previous guests
Bath had a brown dirt ring around it
Room Service dropped someones food and put it back on the plate
No Service
No Staff
Filthy filthy filthy
After we saw our $500 per night room we asked to check out and obtain a refund. This was not forthcoming.
This place should be sut down by the health department. We were too scared to eat at the one restaurant due to the state of the rest of the facility. In addition, there were only 6 main meals on menu.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Snnoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

Service Poor.On arrival there was no parking. was told to use the Golf Club Car Park. Dinner 1 hour to arrive had to remind waiter for dessert menu long after Main Course finished. Never enough towels out for the Pool, Reception said 1 sec and 10 minutes later we were still waiting. Long queues at Reception even for just a quick questions meant a long wait. Staff seemed to be away from desk a lot. No senior staff presence. No name badges. Had to asked for the room to be service after been out for most of the day and then could not get any teabags. Phone call to book dinner went unanswered. Picnice Lunch Request clearly advertised in the room information was met with a I dont know what you mean.....Generaly service and leadership comes the top. Would not be in hurry to come back. Got better service from a Local Motel in Katomba at Anzac long weekend last year.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HopeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

The service was terrible, totally dissapointing experience. a jaded operation. windows without handles and cant close - that was in the second room. we had to move as tv couldnt be taken off child lock, dirty bed covers, and the window hinge broke, leaving the window unable to be closed. Staff not interested, able to help, not enough. Have stayed in 2 star hotels that are better. staff seem really unhappy.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ms62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Stayed there last week and everything that could be wrong with a so called resort and what use to be a great place is soooo wrong.
Staff are rude and un-friendly (except for the doorman), most don't speak english or know anything about the hotel - simple things like where the gym is or where my room was located???? Food was horrible and forget about trying to get room service - took us an hour to find someone to place an order with then another hour later a cold disgusting burger and chips turned up. The heating in my room did not work, towels had brown stains all over them and the food in my mini bar expired 2 years ago?? To top my stay off it took 45 minutes to check out becuase the staff were busy trying to deal with 3 other guests complaining about similar things i have mentioned. The sadest thing is that it use to be so nice,. As informed by some staff the place has been taken over by a chinese couple that cleary have no idea how to run a hotel and have fired all staff that have half a brain so they can pay the min wage to all! Do not waste your money and save yourself the frustration of staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinquelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
966 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
591 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range: $140 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing