We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 27, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels
1  Thank MAF53
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,463)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 2,463 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

The setting is really nice and looks over the blue mountains. Rooms are well appointed and food iS good quality. One thing though us they got very busy and the restaurants were full up all nights and one night they only offered us room service. The manager at the restaurants was rather unhelpful so took it up with the hotel manager who got us room service at the bar at least. Asked for an ice bucket and they told me is $5 for delivery. If I went to the bar it's free. Took one star from my review for that.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Smart_Traveler_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you for the feedback provided on your stay. I do apologise regarding the lack of help you recieved regarding the room service and restaurants, as you note the holiday weekend was extremely busy and despite sbest efforts to manage restaurant booking niot all requests could be accommodated.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Booked 1 night at the Fairmont for a special anniversary with my partner over Anzac Weekend and how disappointed we are now! I can't believe this "resort" advertises as a luxury accommodation option when in reality it is tired and the management team are rude.

On arrival you will spend 20 or so minutes trying to find a park in the small outdoor carpark. No staff outside to greet you or assist with luggage. At reception check in was quite slow with just 2 people on the desk, and then there was the long walk to our room with the old carpet and no pictures lining the hallway walls. There were just a few pictures however they were of A4 sheets stuck inside large frames, with big empty borders - quite strange indeed! Why not have some beautiful pictures of the Blue Mountains landscape?

While we did love the bed and the room was spacious, we noticed some problems on entry. The TV didn't receive channels, there were cobwebs around the roof/walls and the bathroom had some problems. On our way to Eucalypt Restaurant we notified the front staff that our toilet was constantly running, and quite loudly too, and the spa bath was dirty as it had been splattered with paint - maybe from renovations?

After a beautiful dinner at Eucalypt (even though there was still a slight hiccup as they didn't get our orders correctly) we asked if everything had been fixed. We were told the TV was reset and the bathroom was fine. We shouldn't have been so confident!! The bathroom was the same and so we had to listen to the toilet run for 20 minutes after each flush for the rest of our stay!

Further into the stay we had more problems, but I won't go into them in detail:
- No robes or slippers in a "luxury hotel". Not even more than 2 towels and washers, I found this strange when comparing it to hotels in the same price category.
- Shower doesn't run properly as it's permanently split on half shower/half bath tap mode. Yes we tried the pull/push knob and it doesn't fix it.
- Shower handle should really show which way is cold and hot as it seemed no matter what we did the temperature wouldn't stay put (maybe the use of other showers in the hotel impacting our water supply??)
- No fan in the bathroom was quite strange, mirrors fogged up horribly.
- No room service menus in the room, had to call reception for it and even then it lacked a lot of what other luxury hotels have e.g. desserts, breakfast
- Random charge to a charity on our check out invoice and no tick box to exclude it when it really shouldn't be added in the first place (I have never witnessed this at a luxury hotel before).
- Long line at the Sublime lounge with frantic staff talking about issues in front of the customers, you could tell they were stressed so it was definitely not relaxing.
- Sublime lounge was dirty with dusty surfaces on tables which I would imagine should be wiped after each guests use and do not use the water or juice tumblers! They were smudged glasses that smelled horribly. Obviously not washed properly.
- The gift shop was closed the entire time we stayed which was strange on a weekend, especially a long weekend. Not that we mind as we saw for 200 grams of lollies they were charging $13, what an unbelievable rip off.

Overall it is completely misleading what you read on their website about having a relaxing luxury holiday. Prices are way too high for what you receive, we will not be returning. If you are considering staying here just have a look at the last 6 reviews - All of them say how horrible their stays were!!!

I would love to think that after the hotel reads these comments they fix the issues but I doubt they will as we told multiple staff about the problems and they didn't seem to care. It just seems like it's normal at the Fairmont for these issued to be brought to their attention again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank navindt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Guest,
I can only apologise for the range of issues you experienced and the fact we were not able to sort them out during your stay.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

What makes Fairmont worth a visit? It's surroundings. There are few ( if any ) places that offer such lovely views of the scenery as this place. The hotel seems very grand and would remind anyone of a ski-resort in Whistler upon entering the lobby. Until you realize it is empty, with a few staff members spread out here and there.

Over all we had a good visit to this property, paid a very beneficial industry rate and got a good night sleep in our double bedded queen room. The breakfast in the morning was nice and plentiful, the ladies serving us even one step better than the actual breakfast. Strangely enough there was no ham to be found ( or anything similar to it either ) which kind off disappointed my fellow traveller slightly.

It would have been great to see this operate in its glory days with a packed lobby of guests because it radiates a very cool "mountainous" vibe. This property is very tired and out dated now, and way too large for its location. The staff are generally nice but the impression, with the exception of the ladies in the morning and our bartender, is that service ends within the four walls of the property. E.g. we were not even asked what the purpose of our visit was or if we desired any assistance to arrange external or internal activities during our stay.

Do not get put off staying here, it is a 3-4 star property which will serve the basic needs of a hotel stay. However, do not come here with the expectations of getting any WOW experience.

Room Tip: Grab a table outside for breakfast to get the best view of the surrounding valleys Ask for a room l...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Sebastian,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. I certainly glad you appreciated the location and scenery, but I am very disapointed that we missed our opportunity to assist you and wow you with our knowledge and care for our environs - its a very timely reminder of how much further we can extend.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Rude hotel manager, construction going on and not on website, indoor pool dirty and rude front desk manager. They con you into signing up with Accor loyalty program and do not honour deal!
The food is over prices and Buffett is poor quite. Go to a different hotel if you can.

Room Tip: Need mattress update
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Accor Loyalty programs in common with other such programs have terms and conditions attached to their use. I apologise for any percieved rudeness on behalf of myself or Front desk manager, I trust this matter has been resolved directly with you.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range: $154 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing