We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviews have been mixed, for a reason...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Reviews have been mixed, for a reason...”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I had really mixed feelings for this hotel. I knew that the property was old and that the new operator had refurbished it. So I expected things to be pretty up-to-date. Turned out the room was OK. Comfy beds. The bathroom could have been better considering they had redone everything. It was quite plain. I wasn't expecting it to be gold-plated, but at least they could have made it simple and stylish. It just seemed like the bathroom had no element in it. Our room, funny enough, had two sofas which were already laid with sheets, so this kind of room would be perfect for a family with a couple with two kids.

Didn't get to use the courtyard though as it was too cold. We had some expectation of the gym/sauna facilities. After all, it was a RESORT, right? However, this area of the hotel was the disappointing part. The new operator left the entire gym/ sauna/ pool area in its Jurassic state. Honestly, the changing room where the sauna was located especially looked like a 90s government stadium grade facility. That particular area of the hotel is very dated. We went back to our room in no time.

Breakfast was great though. Great variety and good quality. Oh, and in general, the hotel staff was quite friendly. Parking was convenient too - just outside the main door. I might try out another hotel though for my next visit.

Room Tip: Not sure what to say. We booked a superior room but was given a courtyard room at check-in. Booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandonAshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Brandon,
Thank you for your comments on the hotel. As you note we have been refurbishing the hotel and the initial focus was on the rooms and ensuring guest comfort. We take on board your comments regarding the bath rooms and hope to incorporate some of your suggestions at a later stage.
With respect to the gym/sauna facilities, we are currently developing an in house spa which was originally to be set in the current Sauna gym change rooms area. as a result this part of the hotel has not been brought up to the same standards as the rooms and lobby facilities. This particular area of the hotel will be updated in the near future
Thank you for the feedback on Breakfast and the hotel staff in general, they and we appreciate it a great deal.
We hope that you will check out our progress and consider us for your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    925
    393
    133
    110
See reviews for
762
1,109
37
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Aside from a distinct lack of parking, the Fairmont is a well appointed and comfortable get-away destination. Amazing site with amazing views. The room was great but they opted to put us on the side without a view but was still very nice inside.
The restaurant produced fabulous meals, aside from the fact that I found what looked like a broken tooth in my meal (not mine). Am sure that was not a regular occurance.
None of the downsides would stop me from going back. Am already planning the next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Chrissie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great views, great walks nearby, buffet food was excellent with plenty of quality choices and no shortage of anything except serving utensils on all occasions. Room was excellent, comfortable bed and all clean, tidy and well maintained.
Where are the bar staff? Annoying not being able to socialise, and talk business, at the bar after dinner at an onsite conference.
Last gripe, we had multiple rooms all to be paid for with one account yet despite the chairman with the credit card organising it the night before, and offering to pay all accomodation charges upfront, I still had to pay all costs when i checked out early in the morning.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fantastic views over the Blue Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ActionMan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our first visit to Fairmont Blue Mountains was 21 years ago we thought it was the best resort in the world. Our last visit was Easter this year ( late March ). We had booked using our free night with Accor Advantage Plus, 3 nights for $380 very reasonable. Of course it was busy with many children and we were given a lower floor which was adequate but still some noise from children. I would recommend the top floor of the Megalong Wing with a view of Jamison Valley we have stayed there before. The Concierge is good and is always helpful. The indoor pool is warm but is unattended so it was full of children but there were enough towels. The grounds are good for short walks and the golf course a good course apparently not as well maintained as before.
The food is good but just too many people in the morning. We always like The Paragon in Katoomba ( art deco ) wonderful Devonshire Teas. The other place for Devonshire Tea is Wazgoose Café Leura where they cook the scones in little flowerpots. If you visit Megalong Valley go to Logan Brae orchard for apples , apple cider and juice. then down in the valley for Devonshire tea with homemade blackberry jam and fresh cream.
We always like the Blue Mountains we will go back.

Room Tip: Top floor of the Megalong wing with views of Jamison Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean_n_JSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Jean, Thank you for taking the time to detail your experiences at Fairmont, especially from your perspective of first staying 21 years ago. Your feedback on Fairmont and the surrounds are most appreciated. I note your comments regarding the crowds at breakfast and am happy to advise we are redesigning the buffet and upgrading Jamison's Restaurant which will include a weather proof enclosure around our new terrace. this will provide more space and an improved breakfast experience. thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great location with a beautiful view and good size rooms, but that's about it!
Went to the Fairmont for Christmas in July. How disappointed we were zero atmosphere. The decorations, lights christmas tree etc looked great on arrival, but that's where it stopped.
No Christmas carols, no Christmas cocktails and the bar near the beautiful log fire closed for drinks. Instead a very impersonal bar up near the entrance with one waiter who had no idea how to run a bar.
The Jamison room served our Christmas meal which felt like a poorly run cafeteria. The Buffett was poor, the service was terrible and Santa arrived what a joke that was !
A very ordinary Example of Christmas in July
My advice go some where else as it not worth the time or price

Room Tip: Pay the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Boo1963,
Thank you for your feedback regarding the Fairmont for Christmas in July. I am disappointed that the experience provided did not match your enjoyment of the decorations, lights christmas tree.
At the end of each period, our team review what went right and what calls for improvement and this review is especially importantly for such events as Christmas in July. We will incorporate your feedback and thank you again for giving us the opportunity to enhance the experience for the coming Christmas.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
899 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Property: Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing