We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We came across this resort while driving around the towns of Leura and Katoomba in the Blue Mountains area of Australia.

We were pleasantly surprised by affordable prices, friendly staff and recently redecorated rooms. There was also a hot breakfast included in the rate.

We were so happy with this hotel that we stayed an extra day.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OntarioJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,463)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,408 - 2,414 of 2,463 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2008

The fairmont is not a bad place to stay when going up to the mountains although the price can be a bit hiked up. If you plan to go to the mountains i suggest you do it on a weekend that does not fall on a public holiday so that you can really get this at market value. I stayed up here once towards the end of summer at the end of february and i was able to book using last minute accomodation wotif.com and get a 50% reduced rate around $200AUD per night rather than the usual $400AUD rack price. I suggest you take advantage when you can although the best time to generally goi to the mountains is towards the colder months and autumn is ideal as the sun come out midday and really warms you up. I would however be mindful that in summer you get flies they are very annoying so. My last trip in may for work was bliss, no flies, warm days cool night.

The fairmont and the moutains in general have parts of the area that seem to view themselves as exclusive and truly are overarated. You wouldn't have to pay this much at some resorts especially this area.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Saos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

I had an $893 charge made to my credit card 7 months after I stayed with them as part of a conference. They won't return my calls and I'm having top get my credit card provider to sort it out. Very frustrating.

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank JamesP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

It was our first get away after my husband and I got married. We thought it be nice to get out of Sydney.

When we arrived to the Fairmount Hotel we were blown away how beautiful the landscape was. When we walk through into the lobby we felt a weird feeling, it was extremely aerie. Our rooms apparently were refurbished but still looked old. They just installed flat screen TV’s to every room which made a slight difference. The view from our room was amazing. That night whilst we were sleeping weird things occurred to the point we had to ask for another room at 5:30am as we were petrified.
They next morning we asked staff members weather the place was haunted and they said that many guests had complained and that staff had experienced ghosts extra on the 4th floor in the Girlongirl Wing which we happened to be staying in. They changed our rooms without any fuss to another wing and another floor. The next night we had no problems. We were given another room which wasn’t refurbished and honestly I preferred the non refurbished room. The place was rundown but definitely has potential.

On a positive note the staff were brilliant, the golf was amazing and the location was peaceful and picturesque. I recommend eating out in the Leura Village at the French Restaurant and Silks.

If you do stay there just don’t stay in on the 4th floor in the Girlongirl Wing

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank TravelBugSydney08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We booked a family suite at the Fairmont for our family with 2 toddlers. Upon arrival the bellman was very nice and helpful, the lobby had a lodge kind of feel that you would expect in the Blue Mountains. But when we entered our room we were surprised by how dirty and shabby it was. It had not been vacuumed, the walls were filthy, the beds were concave and upon sitting on them you just felt springs. For $579 per night we decided it wasn't the right place for us. We checked out-- they wanted to penalize us with their 3 day cancellation period. But after further discussion they let us go without penalty and recommended 2 other hotels in the area that may be more comfortable. We ended up at Lillianfels 5 minutes away with connecting rooms-- spent an extra $200 per night, but it was more than worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cruise4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

My boyfriend and I went there to get away from the city, we wanted a place to relax and just enjoy ourselves. And that's what we did...the hotel was perfect.

A lot of previous comments talk about how old and shabby this hotel is, but to us that was part of its charm. Yes it is an old hotel but they must have refurbished the rooms because everything looked fresh and clean.

We stayed in a Deluxe Room which gave view over mountains. We had a Queen bed and a Single bed (which we didn't use). The Bathroom was nice, marble floor and vanity, bath that turns into a shower. And nice fresh robes.

Mini bar had the usual drinks and snacks. They also give you complimentary coffee and tea.

We dined at the Eucalyptus Restaurant on site and the food was wonderful. It was fine dining, both our dishes came beautifully presented and you could taste every single flavour, it was cooked to perfection. The desserts were to die for. The prices are comparable to a fine dining restaurant. We spent $120 for 2 courses for 2 people incl coffee. (inc $10 tip). It was well worth it.

The following night we decided to use their Room Service. The food came within 30mins, the portions were more than what we expected. We ordered mains and desserts, again the food was fantastic. We spent $75 for both of us on 2 dishes each.

The service we received was great, cannot complain at all. Everyone was very friendly.

The garden and lake at the hotel was really beautiful. We walked around the grounds and enjoyed the fresh air from the mountains.

The Buffet Breakfast had an enormous choice, from fresh fruits, to cereals, to pancakes, to hot food such as bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs. Plus the fruit juices, coffee, tea, toasts.

There's a golf course on the premises, tennis courts, a games room and a billard room. We spent a good 2hrs playing snooker and had a great time.

The also have an indoor pool + jacuzzi. An outdoor pool. A health club and spa treatments.

Overall we were very satisfied with our stay. If I had to complain about 1 thing, it would be the flies in the garden grounds. But you can't blame the hotel for that.

If you are looking for a place to relax, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wywk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2007

We stayed at this hotel during the queens bday long weekend. What a disappointment. The hotel is way over due for a refurbishment and was more of a 3 star than a 4 star.
The rooms were awful looking and we actually couldnt wait to leave... luckily we didnt spend much time in the rooms.
We expected the resort to have a warm cosy feeling, however this wasnt the case. Way over priced for such shabby quality. The service was also very impersonal.

We went to Echo Point and walked through lilianfels... we were left breathless and regretted not staying there. Echoes Boutique also looked magical.

We will never stay at Peppers Blue Mountains again. For that quality they should be charging a quarter of the price. We felt very ripped off.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range: $154 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing