We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown & Haunted!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 25, 2008

It was our first get away after my husband and I got married. We thought it be nice to get out of Sydney.

When we arrived to the Fairmount Hotel we were blown away how beautiful the landscape was. When we walk through into the lobby we felt a weird feeling, it was extremely aerie. Our rooms apparently were refurbished but still looked old. They just installed flat screen TV’s to every room which made a slight difference. The view from our room was amazing. That night whilst we were sleeping weird things occurred to the point we had to ask for another room at 5:30am as we were petrified.
They next morning we asked staff members weather the place was haunted and they said that many guests had complained and that staff had experienced ghosts extra on the 4th floor in the Girlongirl Wing which we happened to be staying in. They changed our rooms without any fuss to another wing and another floor. The next night we had no problems. We were given another room which wasn’t refurbished and honestly I preferred the non refurbished room. The place was rundown but definitely has potential.

On a positive note the staff were brilliant, the golf was amazing and the location was peaceful and picturesque. I recommend eating out in the Leura Village at the French Restaurant and Silks.

If you do stay there just don’t stay in on the 4th floor in the Girlongirl Wing

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
19  Thank TravelBugSydney08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,432 - 2,438 of 2,486 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2008

We booked a family suite at the Fairmont for our family with 2 toddlers. Upon arrival the bellman was very nice and helpful, the lobby had a lodge kind of feel that you would expect in the Blue Mountains. But when we entered our room we were surprised by how dirty and shabby it was. It had not been vacuumed, the walls were filthy, the beds were concave and upon sitting on them you just felt springs. For $579 per night we decided it wasn't the right place for us. We checked out-- they wanted to penalize us with their 3 day cancellation period. But after further discussion they let us go without penalty and recommended 2 other hotels in the area that may be more comfortable. We ended up at Lillianfels 5 minutes away with connecting rooms-- spent an extra $200 per night, but it was more than worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cruise4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

My boyfriend and I went there to get away from the city, we wanted a place to relax and just enjoy ourselves. And that's what we did...the hotel was perfect.

A lot of previous comments talk about how old and shabby this hotel is, but to us that was part of its charm. Yes it is an old hotel but they must have refurbished the rooms because everything looked fresh and clean.

We stayed in a Deluxe Room which gave view over mountains. We had a Queen bed and a Single bed (which we didn't use). The Bathroom was nice, marble floor and vanity, bath that turns into a shower. And nice fresh robes.

Mini bar had the usual drinks and snacks. They also give you complimentary coffee and tea.

We dined at the Eucalyptus Restaurant on site and the food was wonderful. It was fine dining, both our dishes came beautifully presented and you could taste every single flavour, it was cooked to perfection. The desserts were to die for. The prices are comparable to a fine dining restaurant. We spent $120 for 2 courses for 2 people incl coffee. (inc $10 tip). It was well worth it.

The following night we decided to use their Room Service. The food came within 30mins, the portions were more than what we expected. We ordered mains and desserts, again the food was fantastic. We spent $75 for both of us on 2 dishes each.

The service we received was great, cannot complain at all. Everyone was very friendly.

The garden and lake at the hotel was really beautiful. We walked around the grounds and enjoyed the fresh air from the mountains.

The Buffet Breakfast had an enormous choice, from fresh fruits, to cereals, to pancakes, to hot food such as bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs. Plus the fruit juices, coffee, tea, toasts.

There's a golf course on the premises, tennis courts, a games room and a billard room. We spent a good 2hrs playing snooker and had a great time.

The also have an indoor pool + jacuzzi. An outdoor pool. A health club and spa treatments.

Overall we were very satisfied with our stay. If I had to complain about 1 thing, it would be the flies in the garden grounds. But you can't blame the hotel for that.

If you are looking for a place to relax, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wywk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2007

We stayed at this hotel during the queens bday long weekend. What a disappointment. The hotel is way over due for a refurbishment and was more of a 3 star than a 4 star.
The rooms were awful looking and we actually couldnt wait to leave... luckily we didnt spend much time in the rooms.
We expected the resort to have a warm cosy feeling, however this wasnt the case. Way over priced for such shabby quality. The service was also very impersonal.

We went to Echo Point and walked through lilianfels... we were left breathless and regretted not staying there. Echoes Boutique also looked magical.

We will never stay at Peppers Blue Mountains again. For that quality they should be charging a quarter of the price. We felt very ripped off.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

The fairmont is a great hotel for families, and i have stayed there with my family many times during my lifetime. Nearly once a year even! It is a great location if you live in Sydney, because it is a way from the city buzz but not far to drive there, approximatley 2 hours depending on traffic.

The hotel is very homely, with the doormen being welcoming and friendly. The hotel is very close to the small town of leura and close to some very nice restaurants, many with 5 stars (or 3 hats.) It is about a 15minute drive to Katoomba, which is where all the attractions such as the scenic railway (steepest railway in the world) and the three sisters are. the villiage of Leura has a nice bakery, some very subtle but nice restaurants and cafes - basically all your needs, although the fairmont provides alot.

the lobby won't dazzle you, it's pleasant and clean but understated. the completle feel of the fairmont is that it's lyk one large woodside cabin, very homely and warm with that stereotypical smell of firewood but large enough to not provide claustrophobic impresisons.

the staff are friendly and willing to help. The rooms are pretty basic, they have good channels on the television - cable but not all the channels only a select range. there is nickelodeon for the kids aswell as sports channels, home/life kind of channels as well as the normal free to air (abc, 7, 9, 10, sbs.)

the bathrooms are clean, and towels are provided as well as soap, shampoo and conditioner, hair cap, sanitary devices for women and a shower that is able to convert into a bath with the push of a button.

the beds are comfortable, but the matresses are of low quality compared to most hotels with the pillows sometimes feeling quite hard - although then hardness of the pillows was only really experienced once by myself and family on the latest fairmont expedition.

The hotel is very child-friendly with lots of in house movies such as ones that have not come onto dvd yet and some that can still be found in cinemas! they have older classical movies as well as an adult range. there is a safe, and fridge stocked with basic drinks such as soft drinks, water and beer whcih can be consumed but noted and added to the rooms toll.

Jamiesons is suggested for the buffet breakfast which is a basic nice buffet with a fruit/yoghurt/muesli section then moves into a cold cuts and yoghurt section, then starts the hot food which has eggs, hash browns, bacon, bread and butter pudding and then there are cereals, bread and a toaster as well as muffins or little pastries for later. there is also a drink despenser with different fruit juices and water.


It's best to go into town if you want dinner, because there are some fantastic restaurants. Solitary,cannot be missed! it is quaint with moderate prices (higher than your avergage place because of the excellancy and high rating of the restaurant.) they give you complimentary soup and bread, with a lovely and warm (literally because it is a bit up hill so its cold and the heating works) environment. due to the high altitutde of the place, there is a great view. Definitley go there, the desserts are the highlight!good coffee.

Ashcrofts in blackheath is great - must go.

You can find the numbers for these places in the yellow pages provided in the fairmont rooms.

the pools great, with a gym that is a bit old but does the job and an indoor pool as well as an outdoor one and a spa with each. makesure u have chlorine resistant swimsuits for the indoor one though - towels are provided at the desk in the indoor pool. same level as the pool is the games room for kids. overpriced but provide good entertainment value.

gift shop is a bit of a hole but has entertainment value. two wings in the hotel - ask megalong because it's brighter and fun with the pool on that side, hence a shorter walk.

Near the gift shop is a billiards room so thats good - all in all great. gotta say the art they have is (--) but wat can u say?

right next to the golf course if ur into that, with tennis courts and a nice walk for you to do. very quaint and peaceful settings.

Stay there - it's truly great:)

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank trip_lover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We arrived late Saturday afternoon and I was pleased to find a parking spot not far from the front entrance. The doorman/porter was welcoming and offerred to take our (small overnight) bag, and was not put out when we declined. Reception was efficient.

The room was clean, but there was nothing on opening the door for the first time to set this hotel room apart from any other ordinary room in any other ordinary hotel. We made a cup of tea in our room. There was free cable (?or satellite) TV but the reception was variable. Bathroom was clean but the sink was small and square and it was difficult to wash your hands without splashing water around. There was only one hook in the bathroom, so nowhere to hang towels apart from the rack over the bathtub/shower- which allowed the towels to be splashed- and it was difficult to put clothes/underwear/pyjamas/robe on one hook on the back of the door.

There was a sign on the airconditioning control advising not to set the temp to 25degrees or above, otherwise the aircon would shut down. I set it to 24c but I am sure the temp did not reach even 20c as we were on the cold side of comfortable all night. There were only two pillows for our queen bed and both were very flat and worn. Consequently Mrs P had a stiff neck in the am.

We had the buffet dinner at Jamieson's restaurant in the hotel and it was very ordinary. It must be variable because I note some other reviewers have said it was very good. The oysters were good but I think they were rationed as they only came out a few at a time. The steamed fish was good (except that the waiter said is was ?basa? imported from Vietnam) but all the other dishes were same old same old. Desserts looked much better than they tasted. The fruit salad was all gone. There was no whipped cream or custard but ice cream was delivered promptly when I asked.

Breakfast was similarly OK. There was a notice advising not to put croissants in the toaster and to ask the waiter to warm them up- which she did, and they were very nice. The fruit platter must have been prepared days or a day ahead as the melon was soft and soggy, and the peel of the cut orange was curled and dried out.

Coffee was very good- self serve- and various teas were available in pots.

Overall, our stay was good, but it could have been excellent with a little attention to detail.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank presdient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2007

My husband and I booked a last minute escape at Peppers Fairmont Resort and had a very relaxed and enjoyable stay. I had heard mixed reviews about the resort and admittedly it is a little dated, but it is beautifully maintained inside and out. The gardens are gorgeous, the pool is excellent and the rooms are very cosy and clean. I believe some of the rooms have been very modernised but I liked the older style as I thought they were more in keeping with the Resort. It had a lovely bar with an open fire where you could relax with a drink or hot chocolate. The Saturday night buffet was excellent and good value and the breakfast was very good (loved the Bircher Muesli). There is a golf course at the resort and tennis courts. It is only 1 km from Leura shops, which is a great mountain village with cafes and interesting things to see. I would recommend the resort for families and romantic escapes and would certainly go again. It is very good value compared to other much more expensive resorts in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank estatictravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
955 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
589 reviews
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range: $139 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing