We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heading toward much better rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I would like to give this a 4 star rating, but just couldn't do it.

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days at a recent conference. It is a great venue for a conference and recommend it highly for conference events. When the the upgrades are complete, it could be a 4 star hotel. The food and service for the conference was excellent.

The new bar that opened the week we were there on the upper level, is nice and the bar staff very nice.

The staff was great, except for one male at the reception desk who never seemed to be worried about solving problems. Nothing was the hotel's problem. The same person gave problems to a number of people in my group. If we need something fixed in the room, we had to wait until we talked to other people at the front desk. The rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The renovations are still going on and, for example, a new elevator was started up in our wing while we were there. Unfortunately, with all the renovations and painting going on, they are not cleaning the carpets on a daily basis and it gives the appearance of a dirty area...most of the stuff on the carpets is just paint flakes. They should vacuum up this rennovation debris on a daily basis.

The heating did not work in our room and it was fairly cold at nights in our room. One light bulb in the bathroom was hanging by the wires, because the clip was missing that hold the bulb in place. There are clocks in the room, so bring these if you need to wake up early.

I believe when they finish the rennovations and get their act together, this will be a fine hotel. Bottom lines is, that in Leura, we would stay there again and would expect it to be even better.

Room Tip: Upper levels give better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,266 - 2,272 of 2,510 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

A big thank you to the Conference staff for their support during our recent Conference. We used a all of the rooms in the Resort for our Conference and our suppliers and team members were equally impressed.

I would especially like to thank Carolyn, David, Andrew and Chris.The technical support for presentations was superb and at a level we had not experienced before.

From Team function to Supplier function to Gala Dinner everything was set up, knocked down and transformed seamlessly.

Loved it so much visiting again soon to enjoy the venue on a personal visit.

Thanks again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrshmc8816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The horror stories surrounding this once fine property are now buried in the past. Accor are now managing the premises & a huge amount of work has been done & is still being done. Most suites have been completely redone including furnishings & bathrooms, new bars etc are underway, existing restaurant & bar are looking the part & the indoor & outdoor pools are up to scratch. Tennis courts are OK & the gardens have been spruced up.
The views over the valley & golf course are magnificent & the local Leura/ Katoomba surrounds are picturesque.
Current pricing is good, obviously to tempt nervous clients back.
We stayed in a standard room for $179/night & will be happy to return, anticipating further improvements as their $10m renovation/revamp rolls out.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Megalong wing offer better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank miserygutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Restaurant and bar Staff were amazing, hotel having upgrade so a little noisy but it will be amazing when its finished.
thanks for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at the Fairmont Resort in July for a long weekend. While the resort looks OK and the new owners are refurbishing, we felt that the very basic requirements just weren't covered. First of all, on arrival, it was pouring rain and there was nobody at the front entrance to direct us or tell us where to park our car. This was annoying because it really was pouring and the carpark was full so we had to wait about 20 mins just driving around until somebody left. Check-in was reasonably swift and the front desk staff were pleasant enough but once inside our room, all was not well.

For a start, the air-conditioning was broken and would only pump out freezing cold air. This, in mid-July, was not great. A staff member then brought us a heater which was so small it did absolutely nothing. We wanted to stay indoors that night for a cosy evening but we were so cold it was really unpleasant. The bed was extremely hard, I have stayed in a lot of hotels and this really was as hard as a plank it was not luxurious at all. The bathrooms seem to have been re-done but the floor tiles look like they need a good acid wash as there is concrete residue all over them so they don't look nice at all. The finishes are very ordinary as well. For what used to be a reasonably luxurious resort some time ago it just all seemed disappointing. Later that night we decided to watch some in-room movies but our TV didn't work. The front desk told us they would give us complimentary breakfast to make up for the problems we had had with our stay and I wish we hadn't accepted to tell you the truth because it was, without a doubt, THE worst breakfast we have ever had.

Broken coffee machine, very long queue to even get hot water for a cup of tea, every single thing on the buffet was stone cold. I have eaten in hotels which cater to hundreds of guests every hour with no problem and manage to keep the food hot but this was truly abysmal. Cold eggs, bacon and pancakes really is not appetising and I wish we had not bothered. The staff walking around the breakfast room were clueless, never once offering us a cup of tea or coffee and each time we tried to get our own from the machine, none of them were able to help, just staring at the machine and offering no explanation or assistance with anything else to drink.

I tried on half a dozen occasions to call housekeeping to get laundry done during our stay but nobody ever answered the phone. Likewise with Reception. The phone would just ring out and we never saw any staff anywhere. The one fellow who checked us in on arrival was the same one who brought our heater and then checked us out 3 days later. There was nobody ever at the entrance, the concierge desk was always unmanned and honestly I think they only have one staff member at this place doing everything because the service is bad.

We stayed at Lilianfels the month prior and it was much better than the Fairmont.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissFussyPants2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyGeoff, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Dear Ms Fussy, thank you for you review and our apologises for the issues you enjoyed whilst staying. Whilst we have a refubishment program underway we have endeavoured to minimize any disruption for our guests. This program is also addressing several of the issues you encountered including the guest room heating, the introduction of a new bedding product with duck feather luxury duvets, pillows and mattress toppers, an upgrade of the breakfast buffet heating system and digital television reception.
We will make contact with you off line to discuss this further and offer a resolution for your disappointment.
Regards,

Geoffrey R York
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

After several years absence, my wife and I decided to see if new owners had made any improvement to what used to be one of the star attractions in the Blue Mountains. To say we were pleasantly surprised is an understatement. The new owners are in the process of refurbishing and revamping the old Peppers and bringing it up-to-date with freshened up rooms and attentive and very helpful staff.

Even though the tradesmen were still working in our wing, they were no bother and our room, overlooking the wonderful view, could not be faulted. It was freshly painted and newly furnished and the bed was to die for. We slept like the proverbial babies after wining and dining in the bar area by the fire. The a la carte breakfast was freshly cooked and regularly replenished. The menus were comprehensive and the meals more than to our satisfaction.

Check-in was a breeze as was checking out. The staff could not have been more helpful in all areas and we look forward to staying again shortly. We have recommended the hotel to our friends and would recommend it to anyone wanting a pleasant, stress-free stay in the mountains.

Room Tip: The rooms on reception level have wonderful views overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NormH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed at this resort this weekend for 2 nights. Some areas are still being renovated but the lobby area is looking plush. The outdoor pool wasn't open this weekend but the indoor pool and spa were both large and warm and popular. Our room, for 2 children and 2 adults, was in Megalong Wing level 1. It had a king bed which was very comfy and 2 daybeds/singles which the children loved. The room was warm and spacious and quiet and the bathroom was clean and modern and had a good combined shower and bath. We had pleasant views over lawns and trees. The grounds are lovely. There are walking tracks, tennis courts, a little stream with a bridge, quite a large lake to walk around and plenty of parking. We saw guests enjoying Segway tours of the hotel grounds although our children were too young for us to try this (we were told they needed to be at least 10). Things have really changed at this hotel. We loved staying here and we will definitely stay again next time we're in the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
966 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
591 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range: $140 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing