We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend, helpfull staff and great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Weekend, helpfull staff and great restaurant”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed a Saturday night with another couple (seperate rooms). The other couple requested a Kingsize bed when they booked and did not get one. They complained to the receptionist at the desk and was advised that unfortunately she did not have the authority herself to alter the room due to the occupancy rate (they were full). That was not so great. She could however offer both couples complimentary breakfasts as compensation. That was a tick. We took the offer. We found the rooms to be nicely appointed and roomy, not cramped. Later the desk staff answered our queries about the Christmas In July dinner which we were considering having. Again the desk person quickly sussed out what we were looking for in dinning and recommended the Eucalyptus restaurant as a more intimate, quiter affair. We took her advice and ate at the restaurant. It was great. We had the best meal in a restaurant in a long while. The service was excellent. We were advise by the waiters that there would be a slight delay in the food due to the Christmas in July thing happening next door but kept the hunger at bay with extra bread roles and friendly chatter. To be honest I did not think the food was long in coming and it was delicious. When we got back to our room around 9:30PM I found it a bit cool and reported to the desk that the heating did not seem to be working. I was told that someone would be up shortly to reset it. They were there within 2 minutes and fixed the problem. Another big tick. l Would certainly recommend the hotel and we would go back. Had a great weekend away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbitt2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    941
    398
    136
    113
See reviews for
782
1,120
38
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We booked in for a girls weekend away relying on the day spa brochure services that were available.
Had difficulty organising for 5 ladies to get treatments ended up booking in 3. This should have been an indicator as when we arrived the "Day Spa" was in the bottom of the hotel. 2 rooms one not wider than broom closet, not clearly signposted, the staff in this appear to be casuals and do not present themselves professionally. No white coats, clean appearance what you expect from beauticians. We decided not to proceed with the booking.

The rooms are comfortable and clean. We were told they are about to replace all the furniture and upgrade the rooms.

The concierge David Whitacker was very professional taking our bags immedaitely on arrival and looking after them for us until our rooms were ready.

The Embers area for dining was lacking in organisation - we arrived at 11.45am the fire was not going. At 12 when the bar area opened officially we had to ask about the fire and a menu so we could order food. Menus are not on display for this area of the food service.

We ate at Jamesons for the Christmas in July dinner which was pleasant and very busy would suggest a few more Xmas decorations aaround the room to truly get the spirit together with Christmas music.

When we left Jamesons at about 9pm to sit in the Ember Lounge it again had the end of a fire in the fireplace when we asked about the fire being restarted we were told we could do it ourselves. The tables where people had eaten sat for over an hour uncleared although there were 2-3 people behind the bar whilst we were there.

Suggest they consider promoting the Day Spa and bringing it up to reception level as i am sure it would be a lucrative area of the business, perception did not meet reality of the Resort with some of the staff needing a push along in service.

Room Tip: Our rooms were ground floor same level as reception but noise not really an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pez27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyGeoff, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that our Beauty Treatment rooms were not up to standard, and can only apologise. Our staff have been fully de-briefed on uniform policies & we assure you it has been rectified.

I was also disappointed to hear about your experiences in Embers Bar regarding clearing of tables along with the lighting of fires in the evening. I assure you that your feedback has been passed on to each of these areas to be addressed.

I’m happy to hear that you found the rooms spacious and that you received great service and professionalism from one of our longest serving staff members our Concierge David Wittaker.

Please be assured that Guest feedback such as yours is invaluable and is used to improve our service levels & performance to ensure that Guests keep returning to Fairmont Resort.

Regards,
Geoff York
General Manager
Fairmont Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

How can a hotel persuade all of their staff to be rude unhelpful and unpleasant, how does a manager achieve this? Extra hidden fees at check out were the icing of the cake of this generally terrible experience. My sick husband and children were left waiting for hours while our room was cleaned without an apology from staff. Food was very average, wait staff at the bar seem to be unable to see me. The common areas were dirty and furniture in the room had chipped shabby looking surfaces that could have been easily repaired without much cost, no one mentioned the $30 per head breakfast charge on top of the overpriced tarrif. Which meant we paid $60 for a few pieces of toast.

I WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekender044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyGeoff, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

I was extremely disappointed to hear that your stay with us did meet your expectations and I was keen to respond to your review as soon as possible.

I encourage all our Guests to make contact with our Front Office Managers & Staff during their stay to discuss any negative issues so we have the opportunity to rectify the situation immediately & make the rest of your stay as enjoyable as possible.

I would like to make contact with you, if you wish to discuss some of the key areas of concern.

Please be assured that Guest feedback such as yours is invaluable and is used to improve our Customer Service levels & performance to ensure that Guests keep returning to Fairmont Resort again and again.

Regards,
Geoff York
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I stayed here many moons ago and remembered it as 'The' hotel in Leura. On this occasion I cant say we were impressed with a) the service at the front desk b) the quality of the room c) the amenities and d) the overall look and feel of the place. Out blankets smelt like cigarettes and we specified a non-smoking room. I was immensely disappointed overall and can't say that I'd go back. I know it's under new management and they're in the midst of getting it up to Accor standards, I hope you get it there one day but for the moment it's a run down hotel with no warmth. Sorry...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarz292402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyGeoff, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry to hear your stay was not enjoyable and that your expectations were not met during your stay with us recently.

We go to great lengths to ensure that Housekeeping standards are maintained to high standards so I was concerned to hear your comments about the Hotel & the room blankets. Be assured we will be investigating this.

Our staff' are also very committed to providing a warm and welcoming atmosphere on our Front Desk and again, I'm disappointed to hear that you did not feel this was the case during your stay.

We appreciate Guests sharing their concerns and will ensure that this feedback gets sent through to all our Departments within the hotel to make sure improvements are made in each of these key areas.

Regards,

Geoffrey R York

General Manager, Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We have just got back from 2 nights at the Fairmont. Reading previous reviews I was concerned re what to expect. We travelled with 5 other families and had a very positive experience. Yes, the hotel is under renovation, but it didn't affect us at all. Even though the weather was not great, we had a great time in the indoor heated pool, gym, playing board games, golf, going for walks in the hotel premises - in fact we didn't need to leave the hotel at all. Breakfast was included in our rate, and was great. Lots of fresh food and choice. We ate dinner at the bar next to the fireplace the first evening, and although a limited choice the food was fine. We ate at the al la carte the second night, and that was great. For the amount we paid (4 of us comfortably shared a family room) it really was value for money. We will return and look forward to seeing all the improvements next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I have been going to the Fairmont for over 10 years and after this visit I may not go back again. The hotel is undergoing renovations which was not mentioned on any booking sites.The wing undergoing renovations smelt of paint fumes and building dust yet guests were expected to stay in that wing. It advertises "Christmas in July" yet this year the big beautiful Christmas tree, normally in the grand foyer was no where to be seen. As we didnt want to stay in the wing with paint fumes the only available room was a downgrade from what we actually paid for and it gets worse. Basic items in the room like a shower cap and face cloths were missing, items that a guest shouldnt have to ask for. However the saving grace on this weekend hoilday were 2 concierge staff, 2 lovely professional gentlemen, that assisted us as much as they could so our stay was not a complete disaster.

Room Tip: when booking a room confirm that you are getting what you actually pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyRed001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We have no hesitation in saying welcome back to the Fairmont of old. we have had many stays here over the last 8 years. our most recent stay in June 2011 was fantastic. on arrival we were greeted with a smile and the staff were so proud to be there looking after us. we talked about the new owner and the plans for the future and how the customers always came first.

to renovate you have to make noise and a mess..too bad because the end result will be worth it..

we will always have the Fairmont as our home away from home.

if you are looking for a great place foe a weekend away give the Fairmont a go you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLaskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
917 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Property: Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing