We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute perfection!”
Four-poster Queen Bedroom 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Four-poster Queen Bedroom 1
Four-poster Queen Bedroom 2 Four-poster Queen bedroom 3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
162 reviews
Four-poster Queen Bedroom 1
Four-poster Queen Bedroom 2
Four-poster Queen bedroom 3
Lounge room with gas-log fire
Mahogany fully-equipped kitchen
Mahogany fully-equipped kitchen/dining
Double spa bath with mahogany fireplace
Outdoor dining
Front entrance
Alfresco dining on sun drenched verandah with gas BBQ
Lounge room, centrally heated with gas-log fireplace
Private and secluded front entrance
Moet on ice
Four-poster Queen Bedroom 2
Moet on ice in the master bathroom
Ornate mirror master bathroom
Tea for two on the sun-faced north verandah
Private lush rambling courtyard
Cupid nestled in the private courtyard
Hot chocolate on the front porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Leura, Blue Mountains, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 162 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
deborahsh...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Absolute perfection!”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a wonderful time away in the Blue Mountains as part of the Embracing Blue Mountains weekend!

Full of workshops, treatments, music, artists and so much to celebrate the Blue Mountains, topped off by staying at the beautiful "Leura Rose" with every detail being thought of: the beds were comfy, there was plenty of space for us all to enjoy, easy access to places to eat - it really was a perfect place for a girls weekend.

Our Sunday evening couldn't have been any better - shared with my friends with a cold glass of champagne, the log fire, wrapped in my plush gown and nestled into a comfy lounge, certainly cannot wait to come back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review of Leura Rose Deborah. Lovely to read that you and all the girls enjoyed your time away and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you all back very soon. Take care, Lorraine :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J5hih
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house for the perfect getaway”
Reviewed January 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2015

We drove up from Sydney and arrived on a very windy and cold night. But the moment we entered we instantly felt cosy and relaxed. Adele was playing throughout the house (speakers in every room!) the gas fireplaces were on, candles are ready to be lit in every corner of the house and the house was warmed with central heating.

The house is old but it's all part of the charm. The highlight was the huge bathtub by the fireplace. Plenty of towels and amenities so you don't have to leave and pick up anything from the supermarket. Lorraine (owner) makes the whole place more personalised to meet your needs and is very responsive on email and text. This is a great place if you want complete privacy and the whole entire place to yourself. Downside is the bed which creaked every time you moved and my husband who's a bit heavy set felt like he was going to break the bed. Also, the driveway is narrow and steep but there's plenty of street parking for the less confident.

Definitely a place to go to for a winter escape!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review of Leura Rose Joanne. With antique furniture there sometimes come squeaks, although certainly no breakages, they are built to last. We certainly hope to welcome you back to Leura Rose or perhaps another Mountain Whispers property in the near future. Take care, Lorraine :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildcatNZ
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very nice house in a quiet area”
Reviewed December 30, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We visited Laura Rose on our way north. The house was immaculate, three double bedrooms, two bathrooms and everything immaculate. The house is about 1km from Leura Village but it is an uphill walk to get there. It was a very nice place to stay but possibly too many signs telling you what to do and what not to do. Overall excellent.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2015
Happy New Year to you and your family Peter. Thank you for your review of Leura Rose. I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Mountain Whispers again in the near future. Take care, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dvv R
Bingara, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed December 29, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

BEAUTIFUL property! Terrific location, easy and extremely helpful communications with host, Lorraine. Definitely recommend staying at Mountain Whispers accommodation to anyone visiting the Blue Mountains. Thanks again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2015
Happy New Year Dee to you and your lovely family. Thank you for your review of Leura Rose and Mountain Whispers. Hope to welcome you all back for another family reunion sooner rather than later. Take care and with warmest regards, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone N
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You don't get a place to stay - you get an unforgettable experience!”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Mountain Whispers isn't about having a place to stay - it's about being given an unforgettable experience. Despite my love of the Blue Mountains we really didn't see much reason to leave Leura Rose and I couldn't think of a more amazing setting to spend quality time with two of my best friends. The attention to details is outstanding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of Leura Rose Simone. It's extremely rewarding knowing that my guests have had a lovely experience, as that's what Mountain Whispers is all about. Hope to welcome you back sometime with your girlfriends in the near future. Have a lovely Christmas and New Year, with warm regards, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A special place to feel at home with a bit of luxury.”
Reviewed November 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Highlight of the house for us is the spa, quite extraordinary, lovely way to unwind after a day in the mountains.
The house is well equipped to make the stay very easy and quite a treat.
Leura village is a nice morning walk away to stretch the legs and get a coffee and walk off the yummy eggs and bacon breakfast that is supplied.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The bathroom with the oversize spa and fireplace
Liked least: All the notes about the up keep of the property, one directory would have been fine
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2015
Congratulations once again on your Wedding Day Amanda & Brody and it certainly was lovely welcoming you both to Leura Rose. Thank you for your lovely review and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you both back very soon. Take care and all the best for a very happy future, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily N
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girls' Weekend Away in quiet, luxurious cottage”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Four girlfriends (Sydney based) celebrate our birthdays together every Oct/Nov. This year, we decided to head out to the Blue Mountains and contacted Lorraine about her Mountain Whispers properties. We chose Leura Rose Cottage, and we certainly chose well!
Coming to this cottage feels like we've arrived at a friends' house. The fireplace in the lounge was lit, music was playing, and the red wine and port were set out, Saturday's eggs, bacon and breakfast already provided in the fridge.
This cottage is decorated in a lovely theme, and it is extremely luxurious. Split system air conditioners / heaters in each room, plus central heating and the fireplace, meant we were warm all weekend. Every last little touch is considered - plush dressing gowns, party hat and poppers for a "significant" birthday, spa baths with bath gel, towels, laundry, you name it. The weather changed drastically, which was lovely. Saturday was sunny, and we went for morning walks; we had brekky and then drove to Katoomba (Echo Point and the Three Sisters) with a stop at the Gingerbread House for tea and a bite. Saturday afternoon saw the mist come in, so we went back to the cottage after visiting Hamilton Spa, and had a glass of champagne by the fire before going out for dinner.
If you really want to spoil yourself, Leura Rose Cottage is the place to go.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of Leura Rose and my services Emily. It's always lovely to welcome a group of lovely girls and you managed to experience the ever-changing weather patterns of the Blue Mountains which allowed you to take in all the creature comforts of the cottage. I sincerely look forward to welcoming you all back to Mountain Whispers for your next girls' getaway. Take care and with warmest regards, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing