We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argyll Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Argyll Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 11 Leura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is our second stay at Argyll Guesthouse in Leura. This guesthouse is a time warp stunner from the Victorian era. Lots of fireplaces, intricate woodwork and beautiful gardens. It is located on a quiet tree-lined street in the heart of historic Leura. Our large suite had a four post bed, fireplace and a spa. But what gives the B & B its real charm is the owner, Cherill. She is an experienced English owner who looks after her guests like they are long-time friends. Her creamy porridge (with a wee dram of whisky!) is the best thing ever for a chilly morning. Just don't tell the Vicar!

Room Tip: Bring a hungry tummy for the delicious 4 course breakfast that's included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisHollandKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherril, Owner at Argyll Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Chris and Helga, lovely seeing you again and thank you for your kind thoughts. Regards Cherril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    13
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights/5 days at Argyll Guesthouse, in the Ensuite. It was within walking distance to the restaurants and shops along the Leura Mall. We were greeted by Cherrill who was very friendly to talk to and was very helpful. She told us about all the things we could do and how to get there. The breakfast was delightful, especially the porridge. The house was very clean, comfortable and peaceful and the house has a beautiful courtyard. It was lovely and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for the Spa Suite! Try the porridge, and go the Everglades Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherril, Owner at Argyll Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank for your kind comments hope to see you in the future. Regards Cherril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Where to next?
Level Contributor
409 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

A terrific B&B. Just a block from the main drag in Leura, it is a comfortable and friendly place to stay. The decor is a bit quirky but it is clean and stylish. The breakfast is a real treat. The owner has a lovely cat called Rosie who loves to be part of the action. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherril, Owner at Argyll Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice comment on Trip Advisor. it makes us happy to know you enjoyed your stay. Rosie sends her furry love. Cherril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Staying at Argyll Guesthouse was very relaxing indeed. We had 4 nights, in which, with a homely and welcoming feel by Cherrill that was most enjoyable. The house was clean, comfortable and peaceful, yet very near the Leura town area {less than 2mins walk to the centre}. The spa suite where we stayed was perfect. The more than ample English or Scottish breakfast was great too with black pudding, haggis {if you're brave enough} and the porridge with whiskey is a must too.

All in all – a great visit, in which will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANandEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherril, Owner at Argyll Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Ash, thank you for your kind comments. Looking forward to your returning to the Argyll. Regards Cherril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed a one night at Argyll Guesthouse, taking up two rooms with the shared bathrooms.
The house was clean and comfortable (said to be built by a Scottish). We really enjoyed siting around the log fireplace in the kitchen area. The place was very near the Leura town area (<5min walk to the supermarket), with ample parking space outside.
Cherrill was such a wonderful host, providing useful advice for our plans. The breakfast was great too. The porridge with whiskey was really interesting, and would recommend you to try it.

Wish i had a house like this. Would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a good homestay in the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l0nEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherril, Owner at Argyll Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Hope to see you again one day. Regards Cherril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poo, Asturias, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Argyll Guesthouse for two nights in July, the house itself has a homely and welcoming feel, and the spa suite in which we stayed was very spacious, clean and comfortable.

The highlight of the trip were the breakfasts, the porridge with a shot of whisky and cream was particularly delicious, as well as a large range of possible choices from a full on English Breakfast or Scottish Breakfast to even kippers on toast.

Cherril is a lovely host and it's really the small touches that made the stay perfect, from the lavender bath salts to the "help yourself" tin of milo and large selection of teas. Everything you could want for a relaxing stay is right here.

The location is very central, a short drive to the Three Sisters and Wentworth Falls, there's plenty to see and do.

Overall I would highly recommend The Argyll Guesthouse as a relaxing and romantic getaway, and as a great base to explore the mountains.

Room Tip: The Spa Suite was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherril, Owner at Argyll Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Max and Mink, thank you so much for your kind words. It is so helpful when people take the time to let me know you enjoyed your visit. I hope you come back one day.. Regards Cherril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The day before the Queens Birthday long weekend we decided to spend the weekend in Leura to experience some winter atmosphere. Fortunately another guest had just cancelled and we jumped in and grabbed the room.

Overall Argyll House is a nice place to stay. Cherill is very welcoming giving us a couple of eat out tips that were great which we probably would not have discovered if left to our own devices. The accomodation is in an extremely handy spot , only a few minutes walk into the mall and a yet very quiet and comfortable spot to relax and sleep. The place certainly has an old world charm about it with plenty of memorabilia on display.
The bed room was very large with a sitting room attached, a little cold on arrival and early mornings but the central heating soon fixed that. The ensuite is very small with the hot water in the shower varying in temperature from very hot to very cold whenever any one else in the house used the water and altered what appears to be a very delicate pressure balance. This needs to be looked at.
Breakfast was really good, a great range of choices both English and Scottish and a dash of whisky to help face the cold outside.
A nice spot to unwind

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherril, Owner at Argyll Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for writing a review for the Argyll. This is the first time anyone has mentioned a problem with the hot water. Will get my plumber to check it out. Thanks again for your kind thoughts, I hope you come again one day. Regards Cherril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Broomelea Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Leura House
Leura House
#6 of 11 in Leura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
0.6 mi away
Bethany Manor
Bethany Manor
#4 of 11 in Leura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Guesthouse

Property: Argyll Guesthouse
Address: 11A Craigend St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll House... beautiful in all seasons. Scottish or English hearty breakfasts served in Argyll's spacious, sunny dining room. 300m level stroll to the centre of Leura Village. Be as social or private as you wish. A 1918 "Californian Bungalow," Argyll House is a boutique B&B with only 4 guest suites with a choice of the luxurious Spa Suite, en suite or our budget Traditional Rooms. Guest facilities include a large lounge with with a DVD library, music and open fires in season and the light-filled breakfast room with all day tea and coffee-making facilities. 4 course breakfast every morning - start with fresh fruit and juice and work your way through a full on English or Scottish breakfast, finishing with toast, jam and marmalade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Argyll Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Guesthouse Leura, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing