We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Argyll Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Argyll Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 10 Leura B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A terrific B&B. Just a block from the main drag in Leura, it is a comfortable and friendly place to stay. The decor is a bit quirky but it is clean and stylish. The breakfast is a real treat. The owner has a lovely cat called Rosie who loves to be part of the action. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherril, Owner at Argyll Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice comment on Trip Advisor. it makes us happy to know you enjoyed your stay. Rosie sends her furry love. Cherril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 73 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Staying at Argyll Guesthouse was very relaxing indeed. We had 4 nights, in which, with a homely and welcoming feel by Cherrill that was most enjoyable. The house was clean, comfortable and peaceful, yet very near the Leura town area {less than 2mins walk to the centre}. The spa suite where we stayed was perfect. The more than ample English or Scottish breakfast was great too with black pudding, haggis {if you're brave enough} and the porridge with whiskey is a must too.

All in all – a great visit, in which will be back again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANandEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherril, Owner at Argyll Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Ash, thank you for your kind comments. Looking forward to your returning to the Argyll. Regards Cherril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed a one night at Argyll Guesthouse, taking up two rooms with the shared bathrooms.
The house was clean and comfortable (said to be built by a Scottish). We really enjoyed siting around the log fireplace in the kitchen area. The place was very near the Leura town area (<5min walk to the supermarket), with ample parking space outside.
Cherrill was such a wonderful host, providing useful advice for our plans. The breakfast was great too. The porridge with whiskey was really interesting, and would recommend you to try it.

Wish i had a house like this. Would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a good homestay in the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0nEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherril, Owner at Argyll Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. Hope to see you again one day. Regards Cherril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Argyll Guesthouse for two nights in July, the house itself has a homely and welcoming feel, and the spa suite in which we stayed was very spacious, clean and comfortable.

The highlight of the trip were the breakfasts, the porridge with a shot of whisky and cream was particularly delicious, as well as a large range of possible choices from a full on English Breakfast or Scottish Breakfast to even kippers on toast.

Cherril is a lovely host and it's really the small touches that made the stay perfect, from the lavender bath salts to the "help yourself" tin of milo and large selection of teas. Everything you could want for a relaxing stay is right here.

The location is very central, a short drive to the Three Sisters and Wentworth Falls, there's plenty to see and do.

Overall I would highly recommend The Argyll Guesthouse as a relaxing and romantic getaway, and as a great base to explore the mountains.

Room Tip: The Spa Suite was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherril, Owner at Argyll Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Max and Mink, thank you so much for your kind words. It is so helpful when people take the time to let me know you enjoyed your visit. I hope you come back one day.. Regards Cherril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The day before the Queens Birthday long weekend we decided to spend the weekend in Leura to experience some winter atmosphere. Fortunately another guest had just cancelled and we jumped in and grabbed the room.

Overall Argyll House is a nice place to stay. Cherill is very welcoming giving us a couple of eat out tips that were great which we probably would not have discovered if left to our own devices. The accomodation is in an extremely handy spot , only a few minutes walk into the mall and a yet very quiet and comfortable spot to relax and sleep. The place certainly has an old world charm about it with plenty of memorabilia on display.
The bed room was very large with a sitting room attached, a little cold on arrival and early mornings but the central heating soon fixed that. The ensuite is very small with the hot water in the shower varying in temperature from very hot to very cold whenever any one else in the house used the water and altered what appears to be a very delicate pressure balance. This needs to be looked at.
Breakfast was really good, a great range of choices both English and Scottish and a dash of whisky to help face the cold outside.
A nice spot to unwind

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherril, Owner at Argyll Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thanks for writing a review for the Argyll. This is the first time anyone has mentioned a problem with the hot water. Will get my plumber to check it out. Thanks again for your kind thoughts, I hope you come again one day. Regards Cherril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely Stay with my partner David over easter long weekend. Wonderful mother and daughter team who go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.
Breakfast is generous and delicious with fruit bacon ,eggs ,toast ,porridge etc one must try the infamous whiskey porridge !
Wonderful place to unwind relax and soak up the mountain air, a short walk to the mall. Perfectly located.
Thoroughly enjoyed the old world charm and comfort or Argyll guesthouse.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_chan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherril, Owner at Argyll Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

A pleasure having you as guests and hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The perfect place to stay if you are looking for quality affordable accommodation in Leura in particular or the Blue Mountains in general. Every aspect of our stay was perfect from the high quality well appointed accommodation through to the wonderful breakfasts and friendly helpful host. Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherril, Owner at Argyll Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leura hotels
0.4 mi away
Leura House
Leura House
#5 of 10 in Leura
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bethany Manor
Bethany Manor
#4 of 10 in Leura
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Broomelea Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
0.3 mi away
Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Guesthouse

Address: 11A Craigend St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range: $2 - $3 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll House... beautiful in all seasons. Scottish or English hearty breakfasts served in Argyll's spacious, sunny dining room. 300m level stroll to the centre of Leura Village. Be as social or private as you wish. A 1918 "Californian Bungalow," Argyll House is a boutique B&B with only 4 guest suites with a choice of the luxurious Spa Suite, en suite or our budget Traditional Rooms. Guest facilities include a large lounge with with a DVD library, music and open fires in season and the light-filled breakfast room with all day tea and coffee-making facilities. 4 course breakfast every morning - start with fresh fruit and juice and work your way through a full on English or Scottish breakfast, finishing with toast, jam and marmalade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Argyll Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Guesthouse Leura, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing