We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really unique place to stay”
Review of Branksome House

Branksome House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Branksome House
Ranked #9 of 10 Leura B&B and Inns
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A really unique place to stay”
Reviewed January 31, 2009

I stayed here for two nights in November 2008 with my boyfriend, my brother and my sister-in-law after spending a week with 15 members of our family for a wedding in Sydney. Branksome is an absolute charm of a place. We loved the layout and the decor of the place, and particularly enjoyed lighting the open fire and toasting the marshmallows provided! Also, the useful and thoughtful touch of the provision of teas (any kind you can imagine!), cereals etc. Also the location just a short walk from Leura town centre. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, it was such a relaxing and homely place to stay - two nights wasn't enough!

  • Liked — Decor and little touches (marshmallows!)
  • Disliked — Limited kitchen/cooking facilities
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Branksome House was fantastic. We had our choice of rooms, as we were the only ones booked at the cottage for the two nights we were there. The room we chose had a great living room, bedroom and bathroom and to make it even better, we had full use of the shared kitchen, dining room and living room (with comfy couches and fireplace) of the cottage. We had one wonderful dinner in with a bottle of Australian Shiraz and a fire, it was very cozy. Also, Cynthia was very helpful with restaurant and activity recommendations. If we're ever back in the Blue Mountains, we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2008

I have just had the pleasure of staying at Branksome House again and each time I visit it is more enjoyable than the time before. For anyone looking for an escape from the city with all the comforts of a truly boutique hotel......this is it! The house is situated within walking distance of Leura Mall where an array of shops and cafes await. A must for anyone planning a visit to the Blue Mountains.

  • Liked — Open fire, comfortable beds, decor
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiara
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

I have had the pleasure of staying several times at Branksome House and would not consider staying anywhere else in the Blue Mountains. From the moment you arrive, till long after you have left, you have that feeling of being 'special'. Nothing is overlooked - amazingly comfortable beds, the fire set and ready to light with the logs stacked neatly beside it, a collection of music which caters for most tastes and a garden that will enthral you.

There is nothing better than coming back to Branksome House after a day cruising the shops in Leura and surrounding beautiful villages or (if you are more energetic) walking the numerous trails in the Mountains. During winter, I always love returning to Branksome after one of these 'adventures' to enjoy a glass of red wine in front of the fire or on those occasions when I've stayed during warmer times, a lovely glass of something cold while sitting on the front verandah enjoying the beautiful garden with it's light and shade and splashes of colour.

I love the ambience at Branksome House that has been created with the use of wonderfully subtle and warm colours and fabrics. They are combined beautifully with exquisite furnishings to give guests a feeling of sumptuousness without going 'over the top'.

There was nothing better than to wake in the amazingly comfortable bed to be greeted by birds in the trees right outside the window, brewed coffee and delicious French pastries that can be purchased in the village (about a three minute walk from Branksome House). You can choose to cook your own breakfast but I always prefer to explore the numerous fantastic cafes in Leura that are all within easy strolling distance of Branksome House.

As I said, it doesn't get any better and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in the Blue Mountains.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was perfect
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuggsHoniara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2008

The acommodation is very homely and a beautiful place where you can relax and enjoy more than the comforts of (my) home! You have to be a little creative with cooking as there is no traditional oven but there is a microwave and electric wok! We really enjoyed the the glass chess set, electric blankets, fire place and sitting on the verandah in the morning sun.
Probably the most outstanding aspect was the hospitality of our host, Cynthia, who was incredibly hospitable from the first moment. She made us feel very welcome and was available if any problems arose.
Thanks for a beautiful stay!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Belex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We loved our stay at Branksome House, warm comfortable, plushly decorated, it was such a relaxing time for us at the end of a lot of travelling around Australia. The entire front half of this grand old house is the B&B section, quiet outlook and easy walk to town centre. Leura a lovely little town in the Blue Mountains style. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PipPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast NSW
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2008

We left Branksome House feeling wonderful.
The house is sumptuous and comfortable-very inviting on a cold day!
We loved sitting around the open fire with a glass of wine,chatting and reading.(Toasting the enormous jar of marshmallows provided was fun as well!)
Beautifully decorated,it provided a home away from home with the boutique edge we love.

  • Liked — The beautiful decor
  • Disliked — Occasional train noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank C0astie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leura House
Leura House
#5 of 10 in Leura
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Broomelea Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#7 of 10 in Leura
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bethany Manor
Bethany Manor
#4 of 10 in Leura
77 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Branksome House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branksome House

Property: Branksome House
Address: 98 Railway Pde, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Also Known As:
Branksome House Leura, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing