We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kempsey

“Try somewhere else”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kempsey Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 56 Restaurants in Kempsey
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Nine of us went here for dinner on 10/1.
The restaurant was empty.
When we asked for a table for 9 people, the very young girl said she would need to check.
She then said we would need to be seated upstairs.
Having recently had both my knees replaced, we said that wasn’t an option for us.
She then said they didn’t have a table big enough for 9 people. I then asked if all the table downstairs were booked.
No - they weren’t, she replied......
So I asked if the 5 adults could sit at one table and the 4 children sit at another table.
No - that would block the walkway, she replied......
I explained that I wasn’t asking to have the tables joined, just two separate tables.
I’ll have to check, she replied......
OMG......

Finally we were seated!!

This was just the start of a very disappointing evening.
Wrong orders, lengthy delays for some, things added that weren’t supposed to be in them (when we had specifically asked due to allergies), and one meal reordered after everyone had finished, as it was totally missed off the order, despite being clearly written down.
The food was very nice, once we finally got to eat.
They seemed to be more concerned with getting take away orders out first though.

All this after a day of travel and what was supposed to be a relaxing meal before travelling again the next day.
NEVER AGAIN.......

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank RGT1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie Z, Manager at Kempsey Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are very glad that you enjoyed our food.

We believe there may have been a miscommunication as our waitress thought that you were asking to place the tables together which would have blocked our doorway so we apologise for the miscommunication.

We are aware that while it may seem that we prioritised our takaway orders, that is simply not the case. When you arrived we already had a huge amount of orders and they are completed in order of how they were received.

Once again we are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 60 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Ate here Friday night on a stop over further up north.
It was a small restaurant, although I do believe there was more seating upstairs.
It was very cramped and hot inside. Not sure if our waitress was new or just a bit slow but she was very daft and slow.
Bit of a wait for food, there was 9 of us though, but takeaway orders seemed to be their priority.
Our food arrived, although it was not all delivered together and meat before rice etc. one meal was not delivered until we had nearly all finished.
I had no complaints with my meal, but was let down by the service

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank 146NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie Z, Manager at Kempsey Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are very glad that you enjoyed our food.

We are sorry that you felt cramped however had you not had someone with mobility issues we would have seated you in our upstairs dining room. We did our best to accommodate such a large party of walkins on one of our busiest nights.

We are aware that while it may seem that we prioritised our takaway orders, that is simply not the case. When you arrived we already had a huge amount of orders and they are completed in order of how they were received.

We are deeply disappointed that you would make such disparaging personal remarks about one of our staff members and we hope that in future you would confine your comments to the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2019

Run of the mill Chinese restaurant, ‘cheap and cheerful’ style. Convenient location, easily walked to from nearby motels and the town centre.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2019 via mobile

For a quick casual Chinese meal in Kempsey, we found pleasant and tasty. Not many eat in customers but a good option

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank jrr270455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2019

New owners but same good food and service that this Restaurant is known for. We Dine here regularly Short soup is particularly good and their sesame prawn toast? Yum

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank fredowitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kempseychinese, Owner at Kempsey Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2019

Thank you so much for this awesome review! We appreciate it more than you know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kempsey Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Kempsey, New South Wales
 
Frederickton, Kempsey
 

Been to Kempsey Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing