We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of The Lantern Inn

The Lantern Inn
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Kempsey
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Lantern Inn Restaurant is located in the reception area of the Kempsey Powerhouse Motel. It is very comfortable and spacious. A warm welcome is offered to all motel guests and those folk from the town that wish to enjoy quality, generous portions of Australian food. Chef regularly puts on specials additional to the standing menu. All our meals are family affordable and we welcome children of all ages. Special occasions can be catered for by simply calling Tracy or Martin to discuss your special evening. We specialize in buffet style for larger groups. There is a dance floor in the middle of the dining room which can be lit up if required and a fully licenced bar as well. The fireplace adds that homely feel in the cold months and during summer there is air-conditioning. There is plenty of parking and also wheelchair access if required.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful meals, satisfying children and adults. The young ones enjoyed Chicken Nugget & Chips. We enjoyed the pleasant atmosphere of the restaurant setting & the service of the staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 29Stephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castle Hill, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Busy due to holiday peak, but worth the wait- food is divine!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived in town on Saturday 29 Dec so needless to say, it was a busy night! The owner warned us it would be a bit of a wait (the dining room was full and the kitchen was also providing many room service orders). She was right, it took quite a while before we got our meals but WOW! My husband ordered the scotch fillet, I had the garlic prawns, honestly the best meal of our weeklong holiday. Absolutely divine! Certainly made up for the wait as far as I was concerned. Our waitress was prompt and checked on us frequently. And the hostess/owner was very kind, chatting when she had a moment and bringing us a complimentary starter of olives and seasoned breadsticks (yummo). If you're in the area, you'd be foolish not to give this place a try. Wish we lived closer!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Lantern Inn has a wonderfel ambience. The food was delicious, the portions large and the prices were very reasonable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sajay52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Credit to the chef. All food came out at the same time, no one was left waiting and oh it tasted soooo good. Not a single complaint. Good value for money. Wish we lived closer as I would make it a regular place to dine. Makes my mouth water now just thinking about it. As Arnie once said, "I'll be back".

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4Mc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Yummy garlic prawns”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very nice restruant, good atmosphere. Yummy creamy garlic prawns.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tannalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lantern Inn also viewed

 
Kempsey, New South Wales
Kempsey, New South Wales
 

Been to The Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing