We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moon River - wider than mile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moon River Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kempsey
Berry, NSW
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Moon River - wider than mile”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Beautiful views of the Macleay River from our motel room. We were given the room at the end as we were traveling with our dog. She had immediate access to the grass from the back of the Pajero. It was a very clean and comfortable room with a double bed. The bed was particularly comfy. We decided to eat at the restaurant, which was an excellent decision. The food was delicious. We started off with escargots in mushrooms, then I had Bouillabaise and my husband sirloin steak, which he enjoyed. The waitress was friendly and helpful. All in all I great spot to stop. We were particularly pleased that the motel had no objection to us staying with our dog.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the river, as they have tables outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joram48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    61
    23
    4
    6
See reviews for
32
52
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Tonight we are registered guests of Moon River Motel in Kempsey NSW Australia. The room is clean, quiet and well fitted out, however we would have appreciated wine glasses instead of water glasses.
The restaurant that is part of the motel complex is very under rated. We were the only clients there on a Saturday night and were certainly not disappointed with the food. Duck confit, not the easiest dish to pull off, was tender, moist and plentiful. Served with fresh greens and a potato frittata it was delicious. The veal escalopes were tender and served with
a mustard and Chardonnay sauce. Once again we were not disappointed. The wine list is limited but with enough choice to keep you happy.
Service was excellent with our waitress knowledgable and friendly. Would I recommend this restaurant to fellow travellers and locals, certainly!

Room Tip: Room 11 overlooked the eater and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggera Waters, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great spot to stop for an overnight stay. The rooms look to have been recently refurbished and are spotlessly clean - I am very particular about cleanliness and I was very impressed. The bed was super comfy and we both had a great nights sleep. We were travelling with a large 4wd and car trailer attached and the owner gave us a few options of where to park and it was no trouble at all. We ordered breakfast to be delivered to our room (very tasty and hot) and sat on the picnic tables right behind our room overlooking the river - very peaceful and a great start to the day. Would definetly stay here again if needed to break up a road trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelS8917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed for three nights on a work trip to Kempsey. My room was renovated, the and bed very comfortable. The bathroom was also seemingly as new. The staff were all very friendly. The grounds are very well kept. This place is directly on the river, which makes for a very peaceful setting (particularly welcome, given Kempsey is not the most picturesque town). What I particularly liked was sitting on the deck of the restaurant, overlooking the river. The restaurant does the usual country fare, but, it actually does it very well. This place is quality. I almost think it's a shame that it's in Kempsey, as for that reason alone I'm not sure that many people would stay there. I really do recommend this highly -- especially a glass of wine on the deck!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We just needed a clean room with free parking, and wifi. This was perfect. There isnt too much in Kempsey, but it is a good place to stop over as it provides an affordable overnight stay alternative to the more expensive coffs harbour or Port macquarie. It was perfect for us and located near shopping and restaurants. We didnt try but there is a restaurant right on the premise as well. Hotel owners were friendly and the rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Over night stop over and this hotel was the right place. Off the road and next to the river it is very quiet and the Queen bed was extremely comfortable. Will definitely recommend. We didn't use the restaurant but it looked very clean.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed overnight deriving from Sydney to Gold Coast.

Got delayed on the way and reached at 9.30. had spoken to the motel people and they waited. Though dinner / restaurant was closed but the nearby Mc Donalds was an ok substitute.

Location is peaceful, and there is a river flowing towards the rear of the rooms. Pretty relaxing to just step out and sit on the wooden benches outside.

BREAKFAST IS NOT available unless you order the previous night....so BEWARE...

Minus the food arrangement, everything else is pretty efficient and good.

Room Tip: If Mc Donalds is not your idea of dinner, reach before 8 pm. Lou's cafe ..a.round 700 metres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeepberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempsey
17.3 mi away
Seabreeze Beach Hotel
Seabreeze Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in South West Rocks
154 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kempsey Powerhouse Motel
2.2 mi away
Kempsey Rose Motor Inn
Kempsey Rose Motor Inn
#7 of 7 in Kempsey
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Drive Motel
Park Drive Motel
#3 of 7 in Kempsey
56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Motel Kempsey
Motel Kempsey
#4 of 7 in Kempsey
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#5 of 7 in Kempsey
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon River Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon River Motor Inn

Property: Moon River Motor Inn
Address: 159 Smith Street | Macleay Valley Way, Kempsey, New South Wales 2440, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kempsey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kempsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moon River Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet riverbank Kempsey motel accommodation on the banks of the beautiful Macleay River. Nice 3 1/2 star rated rooms on the riverbank with great views on the river. Free wireless broadband, Austar with Foxtel and HD digital TV programs on HD LCD TVs. Comfortable river executive rooms with office desk, free broadband internet access, free wireless internet access for the busy business person as well as comfortable river rooms for people who just want to relax. Step out of your door, sit on the river bank and relax in Nature's Wonderland. Looking for nice and economical accommodation? Our economic rooms are well priced for those seeking a comfortable and affordable stay. These 3 star rated rooms in the side-building offer economical accommodation and have all that you need: en-suite shower, air con, hair dryer, toaster, TV, fridge, wireless internet accessible free of charge. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our gardens with pool or sit on the riverbank, watching the Macley slowly passing by. Enjoy lovely meals and great wines at Moon River Restaurant - with great views on the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moon River Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing