We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a motel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moon River Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kempsey
Reviewed January 9, 2013

As others have said, the motel is getting tired, but the rooms are OK for under $100 (but no view at this price!) Didn't have any trouble with traffic noise, but i didn't sleep well as the bed was very soft with no support. Ordered breakfast, and the food was actually excellent but there were 2 drawbacks - 1. The price of $3.90 for a 150ml glass of juice poured from a bulk pack (I had expected an individually packaged serve at this price) and the $3.50 service charge on top the price of 2 full breakfasts! Surely a service charge should only be applied to orders under some minimum amount.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anniegetyagun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 132 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Despite the corny name, this place is delightful! Sits on the river bank just back from the Highway so you dont get the noise. We arrived early and sat by the river and relaxed with some nice wine.
The rooms have been well renovated and are tasteful and comfortable. We would certainly recommend this Motel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobHelen02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This motel is barely adequate as a motel. Really the only plus (and not all that much of one) is that it backs onto the river.

Stayed there two nights and while the room was clean, room cleaning left a lot to be desired - when you empty the rubish bins, usually you take the removed bag with you, not leave it on the bed. When you use the shower, expect the whole bathroom floor to get wet - the shower has a curtain around the area but, as it ends about 4 inches above the floor, spray scatters across the whole bathroom.

Had room service one night I was there. Almost all the 10 menu items were fancy asian dishes, no beef or chicken dishes to be seen. I had one of the few non-asian dishes on the menu (seafood platter) and, quite frankly, it was a big disappointment - small selection of seafood, with a strange tasting sauce, and more effort had gone into making it look fancy than had gone into making it taste interesting. I recommend going to the RSL in town for a feed, as it is a much better use of your money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

All the hotels along this strip are tired, this is one of the better ones. Basic but can get a room (no view) for under 100aud. You can still hear the trucks but all the highway hotels have the same issue.

The rooms and bathrooms are dated but the bed was comfy. If you are only stopping for the night and don't have much daylight go the basic room as they are all pretty much the same. However, if you have some time there, pay the extra for the river view it is quite lovely.

I couldn't get breakfast because as I ordered after 8pm? But McDonalds is down the highway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nichpa2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Enjoyable experience,, on arrival received a warm greeting ,unit had been refurbished and very well presented ,spotlessly clean with a lovely view of the river ,grounds very well maintained .
Dinner in the restaurant ( river side ) lady serving our table was Kay , nothing was to much trouble service was good without being intrusive . Food was also excellent very pleasant experience thank-you AS

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrivermotorinn, Manager at Moon River Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Allana S
it's good to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. We'll forward your comments to Kay who was serving you at the Moon River Restaurant as well to the other staff members and the Chef.
Thank you for commenting about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Renate Breitkreutz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in the riverview room for one night. Our relative stayed in one of the other room. We were all pleased with our choice of motel. Could have stayed longer. Lovely view. We are very particular. Bed was very comfortable and we were given a choice of medium or firm bed. Clean and welcoming room. Free Wi Fi. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrivermotorinn, General Manager at Moon River Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Marie G
great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments.
Have a great time in Australia.
Regards
Renate Breitkreutz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed in an upgraded queen room and it was well worth the extra couple of dollars. Lovely deep comfortable bed, newly upgraded bathroom....an view out to the river. On site restaurant

Room Tip: Ask for the upgraded suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonrivermotorinn, Manager at Moon River Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Coland Rob
It's good to hear that you liked room and place and that you enjoyed your stay at the Moon River Motor Inn.
Thank you for your comments.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Renate Breitkreutz (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempsey
24.9 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
941 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kempsey Rose Motor Inn
Kempsey Rose Motor Inn
#7 of 7 in Kempsey
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Drive Motel
Park Drive Motel
#3 of 7 in Kempsey
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#2 of 7 in Kempsey
101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Motel Kempsey
Motel Kempsey
#5 of 7 in Kempsey
58 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kempsey Powerhouse Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon River Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon River Motor Inn

Address: 159 Smith Street | Macleay Valley Way, Kempsey, New South Wales 2440, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kempsey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kempsey
Price Range: $72 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moon River Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet riverbank Kempsey motel accommodation on the banks of the beautiful Macleay River. Nice 3 1/2 star rated rooms on the riverbank with great views on the river. Free wireless broadband, Austar with Foxtel and HD digital TV programs on HD LCD TVs. Comfortable river executive rooms with office desk, free broadband internet access, free wireless internet access for the busy business person as well as comfortable river rooms for people who just want to relax. Step out of your door, sit on the river bank and relax in Nature's Wonderland. Looking for nice and economical accommodation? Our economic rooms are well priced for those seeking a comfortable and affordable stay. These 3 star rated rooms in the side-building offer economical accommodation and have all that you need: en-suite shower, air con, hair dryer, toaster, TV, fridge, wireless internet accessible free of charge. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our gardens with pool or sit on the riverbank, watching the Macley slowly passing by. Enjoy lovely meals and great wines at Moon River Restaurant - with great views on the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moon River Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing