We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stopover - quiet and comfortable”
Review of Park Drive Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Drive Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kempsey
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“great stopover - quiet and comfortable”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Recently stayed at the Park Drive on our way to Queensland. Our experience was that it is easy to book, staff really helpful, with its location providing a quiet and comfortable stopover. We decided to re-book for an overnight stay on our way home from Queensland too. Good choice for a family and also worth considering as an alternative to the popular stopovers in locations other than Kempsey when travelling to QLD.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dont_forget_camera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
15
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our trip down from Townsville to Sydney.
Check-in was simple and efficient and host was helpful in assisting with local directions. Being on a main road we were worried that we would get a noisy room at the front however we were pleasantly surprised when we were allocated one of the newly refurbished rooms at the back of the property.
The room was lovely walking in, have very nice furnishings, good sized tv, adequate mini fridge, and very nicely renovated bathroom.
Shower was warm and pressure was great, bed was comfy and heater was warm when we needed it in the morning (as it was a little chilly).
Was first motel on the way into town (from the north) but wasn't too far out of the way from Woolies, Big W, McDonald's, KFC, Bottle-o, etc. If you need it, around a 10 minute flat walk.
Was an enjoyable, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatMA890314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex Inlet, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great price, good clean room, very comfy and pet friendly.
I accidently left my pillows behind, Rod was sooo helpful, he organised
the return of my pillows to me in Sydney, which was great coz one of
them was very expensive. I am very grateful to him for this extra service
and cannot thank him enough.I would definately stay here again, but hopefully
not leave anything behind next time :-)
Thanks Rod

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniemac030660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Good overnight hotel if you are travelling between Sydney & Brisbane as we were during the Xmas Holidays.

The hotel has a 24hr check-in and the owners provide great service at time of check-in / check-out.

The rooms are standard, the showers are clean and there is good pressure in the showers and we never ran out of hot water!

They have tea making facilities, microwave, toaster etc which was good in preparing our breakfast the following morning for our departure.

Good location - cant miss it as it is next to a service station and is the first hotel when approaching all the hotels when travelling towards NSW or would be last hotel if travelling towards Qld.

Word of warning that we had to drag our suitcases up a flight of stairs, there are no lifts so if you can book a room at ground level.

For the price we paid it suited our needs for an overnight room, no frills..

Room Tip: Stay at ground level - no lifts and is a struggle to get heavy bags to top level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prince_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

What value for money. Great price and the cleanest motel room I have come across. The bed very comfy.. Huge fridge. Very spacious room. The manager was extremely friendly and helpful. Glad we stayed there. Sometimes the trucks at the next door petrol station can be a bit noisy but over all it didnt spoil our stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallydavchels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My cat and I stayed at the Park Drive recently to break up the trip from Canberra to Brisbane. Great to find a clean, pet-friendly motel right on the Pacific Hwy.The motel is set back from the road and room was very quiet. Very comfortable bed, I usually don't sleep much the first night in a strange bed but I slept very well. I had everything I needed for a comfortable overnight stay. Aircon kept us cool in the humid weather, good choice of tv channels tuned in, room had a small fridge and plates, cutlery etc for dining in. The bathroom was clean and tidy, towels were quite soft. The gentleman who checked me in was very friendly, and the cleaning staff I talked on departure were also very nice and friendly. Very good experience, would definitely stay here again. The decor is not super modern but its quite comfortable and it was clean and friendly, can't ask for much more.

Room Tip: I had a pet friendly room, very handy as they are on the ground floor with car parking right at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stopped here twice on our trips between Sydney and the Sunshine Coast and will do so again later this week. The rooms are comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped with crockery etc so you can make your own breakfast. We stayed in one of the back rooms (number 8) which was very quiet despite the motel being on the highway and as reported by others, the manager is helpful and friendly. It's an easy stroll up to the Macleay Hotel for a beer and nice bistro style dinner. Plenty of takeaway choices nearby too.

Room Tip: Not sure what the front rooms are like for noise but the back ones are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussietraveller0958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempsey
17.3 mi away
Seabreeze Beach Hotel
Seabreeze Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in South West Rocks
153 reviews
18.0 mi away
Stoney Park
Stoney Park
#1 of 1 in Telegraph Point
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon River Motor Inn
Moon River Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Kempsey
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kempsey Powerhouse Motel
2.3 mi away
Kempsey Rose Motor Inn
Kempsey Rose Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Kempsey
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#5 of 7 in Kempsey
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Drive Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Drive Motel

Property: Park Drive Motel
Address: 161 Smith St, Kempsey, New South Wales 2440, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kempsey
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kempsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Drive Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Drive Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing