We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an overnight stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kempsey Powerhouse Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kempsey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We booked this hotel as an overnight stopover for a long drive. We stayed in a family room which had a queen bed in the main room and another room which had three single beds for the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovin2travel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

We were absolutely delighted with every aspect of the Kempsey Powerhouse Motel. -Genuinly welcoming hosts, Tracy & Martin - clean rooms with all the little extras provided. Dining room, food & staff were exceptional - we stay here regularly & would not consider going elsewhere when in Kempsey.

Room Tip: The variation of rooms suits most requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ursula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The Kempsey Powerhouse is the most lovely, family orientated place to stay whilst traveling on the Pacific Hwy. The restaurant cooks absolutely beautiful food & they are so lovely & accomodating. I only get to stay here every few months whilst I work in Kempsey & the owners, Tracey & Martin make me want to work here more so I can enjoy their hospitality again & again.
I would definately recomend an overnight stop & feed as you will never be disappointed! I cannot rave about them enough!!!

Room Tip: Even though the motel is along the Pacific Hwy the rooms are suprisingly quite considering. I had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammyh1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We popped in to the motel on our way home to syd and wanted to stay for a couple of nights. Marty and Tracy, the new owners for approx the last 12 months or so were delightful!!! The rooms were spotless and very comfortable!! We took advantage of their adjoining restaurant, 'The Lantern Inn' and the food was top restaurant quality at reasonable prices. I definitely recommend this motel!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

My husband and I had dinner in the Restaurant on Valentines evening and were very very pleased with the whole evening.

The table was very romantic, compliments to the chef , dinner was delicious, the food was five star.... Martin and Tracy were excemptional host... attentative and welcoming without being overbearing... we highly recommend eating here .... above all the 'bill' was a pleasant surprise.

Thank you Martin and Tracy for making the evening so enjoyable, we will certainly be back when we travel here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Alex and Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I travell to Kempsey for work on a regular bassis and have stayed in a couple of the Motels in Kempsey and I must addmit I was not expecting much from this one but wow was I suprised the room was large and comfortable which is important as I staying for three nights. When I arrived I was greeted by one of the HostsTracey she was triendly and welcoming, when I went down for dinner I was welcomed by the other Host Martin and made to feel verry comfortable, the meal and service was great I would deffinatley recomend the Powerhouse Motel. As far as noise if you sit on the verry clean and well maintaines veranda you can here the passing traffic but once you go into your room and close the door it is quite.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Trip advisor reviews have over rated this motel.
Pros- clean
Comfortable bed
Cons - really noisy gravel car park which means you hear every car movement
- old tiny bathrooms, one person at a time only
-restaurant was like being in a time warp, 80's decor and food and only pub food quality but drinks were well priced
- cost over $100, bit steep

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempsey hotels
3.1 mi away
Moon River Motor Inn
Moon River Motor Inn
#3 of 7 in Kempsey
128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kempsey Rose Motor Inn
Kempsey Rose Motor Inn
#7 of 7 in Kempsey
88 reviews
3.2 mi away
Park Drive Motel
Park Drive Motel
#2 of 7 in Kempsey
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Motel Kempsey
Motel Kempsey
#4 of 7 in Kempsey
57 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#5 of 7 in Kempsey
93 reviews
3.0 mi away
Colonial Court Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempsey Powerhouse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempsey Powerhouse Motel

Address: 465 Macleay Valley Way | 1klm Fm the Roundabout Exit Sthn End of New by-Pass, Kempsey, New South Wales 2440, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kempsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kempsey
Price Range: $78 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kempsey Powerhouse Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5 acres of manicured bushland, the Kempsey Powerhouse Motel is a quiet place to unwind after a day on the road. It is suitable to sit amongst the trees up the back and enjoy the wildlife that abounds or watch your children kick a ball around in safety well away from the road. We are no longer pet friendly. The motel is also very conveniently located set back from the highway halfway between Sydney and Brisbane. The motel is 500mts from the southern most exit if heading to the north or 1klm only if heading south. The now completed Slim Dusty centre is only 200 mts down the road. The motel is close to beaches and other interesting icons around town. 21 Very clean and spacious rooms, majority are ground floor and others have a maximum of three steps and handrails. Parking outside the door for most rooms. All rooms have had a modernized makeover with the bathrooms being our main priority at present. Ample truck, trailer and caravan/camper parking available near units. A very affordable a'la carte restaurant and bar is available Mon to Sat from 6.00Pm and can vary depending on the season. Closed on Sundays and Pub Hols. Booking a table is recommended on arrival to ensure you do not miss out on a delicious meal. Room service is also an option. A wide variety of Australian meals is offered. Children, romantics and small groups can be catered for. Your hosts, Tracy and Martin, are welcoming folk who enjoy and take pride in caring for the needs of their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Kempsey Powerhouse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing