We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kempsey Powerhouse Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kempsey
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay here again”
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed here for one night on the way back from Surfers Paradise. We were made very welcome at the front desk. The owners chatted with my girls. And I was asked if I was an NRMA member - which saved me $10. The room was much better decorated than the last motel we stayed at in Kempsey. And it was spotlessly clean (I even did a Hotel Inspector and checked some obscure places). There was free wi-fi but I forgot the ask for the code. I was thinking the room was rather noisy with trucks on the highway, but then I realized the glass sliding door was open. Once closed it was very much a faint background noise and did not disturb our sleep at all. We bought our own pizza in to eat for dinner but would have ordered in if we'd known what a great selection they had (we're vegetarian) and breakfast sounded good value too (but we left before 7am). My girls picked out some DVD's to watch (for free). We will definitely stay here again. I was nervous after reading the mixed reviews but since it was rated no.1 in Kempsey we decided we'd try it. So glad we did. We just can't fault it, except it took quite a while for the hot water in the shower to heat up :-).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libbywithnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    64
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
67
67
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2010

my partner just being engaged stayed here in the spa suit and it was amazing the room was situated down the back near the pool as it was on the highway like most motels the room had a spacious bed room and the decore was beautiful there were huge sliding mirror doors seperating the bathroom and the bathroom was equally as big the fridge was stocked and we even got a 10% discount for our engagement and the meals were fantastic and room service was promt g would recomend this stay to anyone near or far. 10\10#

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyandnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I stayed at this motel through work. It was the worst experience I have ever had. I had a spa room, with a queen bed. The spa was full of spiders and when I filled it up spiders came out of the spa jets, obviously not used for a long time. There wasn't any milk in the fridge to make coffee and when I rang and asked they said they would send some up but never did. The worst part was when I went to get into bed and found rodent droppings under the pillow. I stripped the bed and then moved it to look for the rodent and under the bed I found mouldy and rotting food and a moldy cigarette. The bathroom windows would not shut and being right on the highway I couldn't get any sleep. Would never go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lochness69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I have stayed at the Powerhouse Motel arounf 8-10 times in the last few years while travelling between Sydney and Brisbane on business. I have always made sure I plan my trip for a stopover at the Powerhouse due to the welcome I recieved from the owners Bev and Neil.
The tooms were always clean and tidy, the meals have always benn awesome and the pesonal sevice from the owners has always been a delight - you're always treated like an old friend and nothing is too much trouble.
Bev told me a few months ago they were selling and I wondered if things might change with new owners in place.
To my amazement, the new owners are every bit as engaging and hospitable, perhaps even more so!!. Every request is met with a smile, nothing is too much trouble, the food is just as good and they love to have a chat and swap stories over a cold drink at the bar.
This one stays on my list of "must stay" motels whenever I'm in the area

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swannie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melourne
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2010

HIghly recomended for a night or for a week. Great friendly hosts who just made the stay all that more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter12Melourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2010

A big thank you to the owners of Kempsey Powerhouse who took in my family as a late night booking and went out of their way for a whole weekend to ensure we had the best service. Meals were made to order, the rooms were spacious, clean and well presented and the owners were a great source of local information for things to do.
I think you would be hard pressed to get anything better anywhere near the area and completly recommend it. We have been been back a second time since and it was just as good if not a bit better as they remembered us and made us feel at very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2010

My wife and I travel regularly from Melbourne to Brisbane to see family and friends we choose this route because of the scenery and the fact that we both love to fish we stop at various places along the way to dangle a line.
Our favourite place to stop is the Kempsey Powerhouse Motel both coming and going, we are always greeted with a warm welcome from Bev and Neil and after unpacking and having a hearty meal sit and chat with Bev and Neil for hours during and after closure, we have become friends with their family and often their kids pop in and visit us when in Melbourne, Bev and Neil have pointed out various places of interest in and around the surrounding area, the local music is top class, it will be an added bonus when they complete the Slim Dusty museum.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApelrightTrailers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempsey hotels
3.0 mi away
Moon River Motor Inn
Moon River Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Kempsey
126 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Drive Motel
Park Drive Motel
#3 of 7 in Kempsey
56 reviews
1.8 mi away
Motel Kempsey
Motel Kempsey
#4 of 7 in Kempsey
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kempsey Rose Motor Inn
Kempsey Rose Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Kempsey
86 reviews
2.7 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#5 of 7 in Kempsey
91 reviews
3.0 mi away
Colonial Court Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempsey Powerhouse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempsey Powerhouse Motel

Property: Kempsey Powerhouse Motel
Address: 465 Macleay Valley Way | 1klm Fm the Roundabout Exit Sthn End of New by-Pass, Kempsey, New South Wales 2440, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kempsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kempsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kempsey Powerhouse Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5 acres of manicured bushland, the Kempsey Powerhouse Motel is a quiet place to unwind after a day on the road. It is suitable to sit amongst the trees up the back and enjoy the wildlife that abounds or watch your children kick a ball around in safety well away from the road. We are no longer pet friendly. The motel is also very conveniently located set back from the highway halfway between Sydney and Brisbane. The motel is 500mts from the southern most exit if heading to the north or 1klm only if heading south. The now completed Slim Dusty centre is only 200 mts down the road. The motel is close to beaches and other interesting icons around town. 21 Very clean and spacious rooms, majority are ground floor and others have a maximum of three steps and handrails. Parking outside the door for most rooms. All rooms have had a modernized makeover with the bathrooms being our main priority at present. Ample truck, trailer and caravan/camper parking available near units. A very affordable a'la carte restaurant and bar is available Mon to Sat from 6.00Pm and can vary depending on the season. Closed on Sundays and Pub Hols. Booking a table is recommended on arrival to ensure you do not miss out on a delicious meal. Room service is also an option. A wide variety of Australian meals is offered. Children, romantics and small groups can be catered for. Your hosts, Tracy and Martin, are welcoming folk who enjoy and take pride in caring for the needs of their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Kempsey Powerhouse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing