We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely refreshing”
Review of Avalon

Avalon
Ranked #8 of 91 Restaurants in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Set in the historic Savoy picture theatre building, AVALON Restaurant and Cocktail Bar at Katoomba combines playful art-deco charm with hearty food, friendly service and spectacular Blue Mountains views. Located on main street Katoomba, enter the historic Savoy picture theatre foyer and make your way past the ticket booth and up the stairs. The restaurant inhabits the dress circle of the old theatre, and offers a decor of quirky retro finds and spectacular mountain views over Leura and the Jamison Valley. Meals are prepared in the old projection room, and cocktails and retro tunes are served in the former refreshment lounge, now a cosy bar complete with roaring fireplace. The art deco architecture is complemented by an eclectic collection of furnishings and artwork. The style of service is casual and friendly. Licensed and BYO wine.
Blue Mountains Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Absolutely refreshing”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I always enjoy the Avalon. The staff are pleasant, efficient, all are wearing a smile and the whole place has an excellent vibe. The food is always delicious and it is served with military precision.
Having dined over the years at Avalon we leave feeling satisfied and happy. It is important to book since the restaurant is usually full.
Oh and the other things I like are the BYO option clearly marked on the menu and that they have enough sense not to impose those nasty card surcharges. Other restaurants in the upper mountains please take note!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sallymay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    95
    23
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Generous in many ways”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was really good food. The roast duck was splendid, and lots of it, and for an entree I had the best spring rolls I have ever had. The service was so efficient it was machine-like in it's professionalism, but warm and funny. All women service? The 50s dresses were so bright and colorful, just great. Yep, do see the ladies' loo! Do book, as it was pretty busy. Just a good fun evening out. BYO option too. One of the most enjoyable evenings, food and service I've had recently. Certainly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmcentralcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quaint, quirky and excellent food”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you like everything matching and in black and white with stuffy waiters this is not the place for you. Interior was eclectic making great use of it's location in an old picture theatre. The food was amazing - as good as many posh restaurants I have eaten in. The wait staff were warm and friendly. My tip is make sure you visit the toilets whilst you are there (weird sounding but those that have will understand why)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank julesk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane Cove, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

From the wonderful decor to the great meals & service, make sure you visit Avalon when next in the mountains

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My sister and I make a yearly pilgrimage to Katoomba for the Blue Mountains Blues and Roots Festival and always take the opportunity to have dinner at the Avalon. The food is first class and the decor very engaging. A feast for the tummy and the eyes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalon also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing