We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Avalon

Avalon
Reserve with
Avalon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 91 Restaurants in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Australian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Set in the historic Savoy picture theatre building, AVALON Restaurant and Cocktail Bar at Katoomba combines playful art-deco charm with hearty food, friendly service and spectacular Blue Mountains views. Located on main street Katoomba, enter the historic Savoy picture theatre foyer and make your way past the ticket booth and up the stairs. The restaurant inhabits the dress circle of the old theatre, and offers a decor of quirky retro finds and spectacular mountain views over Leura and the Jamison Valley. Meals are prepared in the old projection room, and cocktails and retro tunes are served in the former refreshment lounge, now a cosy bar complete with roaring fireplace. The art deco architecture is complemented by an eclectic collection of furnishings and artwork. The style of service is casual and friendly. Licensed and BYO wine.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My sister and I make a yearly pilgrimage to Katoomba for the Blue Mountains Blues and Roots Festival and always take the opportunity to have dinner at the Avalon. The food is first class and the decor very engaging. A feast for the tummy and the eyes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    84
    21
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Retro Plus”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Avalon has amazing decor reflecting it being in a former cinema and a view with a Wow factor. Happily you get a lot more than this. The meal was solid, almost old fashioned styled food, but of very good quality. The service is very attentive but still friendly. Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank D and N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortdale, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My friend and I were staying in Katoomba for a weekend. As the weather was foggy, we decided to try to find a nice restaurant in Katoomba on Saturday night, so we could walk rather than drive. Most of the restaurants in the main street looked pretty "down market" and this was a birthday celebration so we tried the Avalon, upstairs in an old cinema. We hadn't booked and were lucky to get the last available table for two. The service was very friendly and the staff were happy to chat and answer our questions. The menu seemed to have no particular theme but we both found something to order the we enjoyed, despite there being limited choice for a vegetarian. The wine list was adequaate and reasonably priced. It was quite crowded and there was a large group celebrating next to us but the noise level was tolerable. Compared to other restaurants in Katoomba I would definitely recommend Avalon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tassietraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pick of the restaurants in Katoomba”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

An excellent restaurant with a good wine list and breathtaking views. The liquorice cheesecake is a favourite of mine as is the chicken-fillet on rosti potato with mustard sauce. Friendly service in a relaxing atmosphere. Certainly worth a visit if you're in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Average food in this quirky environment”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This converted old cinema is certainly a quirky location for a restaurant. There is a fascinating array of furniture, carpets, decorations and memorabilia, but the overall impression was one of grubbiness. Service is laid back but friendly. Our table was rather too small by the time we had our bottle of water, bottle of wine, drinking glasses and food plates on it, so much so that we were forced to place items on the floor and a nearby lamp table.

Food portions were generous but there was no finesse in their presentation - a large veal steak could have been better trimmed to remove gristle before cooking, and carrots were clumsily large chunks as were potatoes, the whole lot being heaped onto the plate. The spring rolls we shared for a starter were OK and my table companion described the chicken fillet as rather boring. However, the prices were as average as the food

On our table was a notice indicating that the chef had been a contestant in the Australian version of the Master Chef television competion. Our guess was that this chef did not get anywhere near the final.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akrivos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalon also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing