We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but Food(nah)”

Savoy Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 91 Restaurants in Katoomba
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good service but Food(nah)”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The service was good . People were nice and non-rushing type. Food didn't seem right , some maybe frozen and underprepared.
Well cooked food has always been a priority while travelling.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jipten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    141
    62
    35
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best veggie food in Australia so far”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

looking for a proper meal mid-afternoon, we were delighted to see the range of choices at this cafe. The place has art-deco features and old style wooden booths, but the food was modern and eclectic. We knew we were on to a winner when husband ordered eggplant parmigiana and saw the chef pick up an aubergine. The flavours were spot on, the salad fresh and dressed with balsamic vinegar, the chips fresh and a generous portion. Shame we can't go back to try the rest of the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BonediggerYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“funky retro look and good food”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I enjoyed the meal but my partner thought it was just average pub style food . The decor and atmosphere was very Newtown ( Sydney ) or Fitzroy ( Melbourne ) and was quite original .Waitress was dressed in the rock and roll gear as well .

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SydneyAustraliaGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Really enjoyed a delicious lunch at the Savoy, great staff good atmosphere and good value, the Tandoori Turkish roll is to be recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average quality, big menu”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I ordered a lentil, pumpkin and feta pie.It was about $16. I got a shock when it arrived because it was burned and just not what I had in mind. Too much pastry! It was a very big and very tasty serving with TOO MANY chips. Why do places put so many chips on the plate? It is acceptable for some of the actual plate to be seen. It was about 4 potatoes worth - fresh but offputting. Really fresh simple salad served with it. Ambience was OK with lots of young backpackers at the booths. Livened things up.
Very few of the empty tables were clean. Most had crumbs or food or cups on them. There were only two tables of diners there when I arrived, so it can't have been too hard to clear the tables. Just a bit sloppy overall.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank porcupinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savoy Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Savoy Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing