We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Metropole Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Xi'an, China
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small bed”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Adequate. A beautiful old building but bed was small and creaky. Everything was clean and tidy but certainly nothing special. Breakfast was again just average and we had to eat early as they wanted to finish by 9!!
Great potential but not quite there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    95
    49
    25
    9
See reviews for
29
131
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a night at this place and it was really cute and nice. It is very clean with an old fashion vintage feel to it all.

The staff were really nice particularly as we didn't realise reception closed early on public holidays. They phoned us to tell us & left a key out for us with clear instructions on how to find our room.

It has nice little communal living areas & is in an ideal location. I plan to stay here for longer next time

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassie1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife, myself and my young child have been travelling around Australia for the last few months. On arriving in Katoomba we had a recommendation to stay at the Metropole. The Metropole is a guesthouse in the heart of Katoomba, it has a warm, inviting atmosphere that we really appreciated after a few months travel. The reception staff had good knowledge of the local area and suggested places to go, that we would enjoy, but would also suit our 4 year old. We had dinner one night in the beautiful restaurant on the premises, the food was generous, homestyle and delicous. All the staff from the were extremely helpful, nothing was any trouble for them. If we come back this way again we will certainly stay at the Metropole

Room Tip: Definitely room 4 with the small veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at the Metropole for a few days over New Year with a friend. The hotel was a stone's throw from the station and the town which was beautful. My friend and I did a lot of the walking trails around the Blue Mountains whilst on our stay, and the staff at the hotel gave us several recomendations about where's best to so and site see. The manager was extremely welcoming to my friend and I and saw him often around the hotel, we even had dinner with him one evening!

The hotel was peaceful and I really couldnt recomend it enough to couples or small familys who want to get awa city and experience the blue mountains.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Let me start by saying I love a place with character, and this guest house is lovely in that respect. My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful wooden interiors and the furnishings in the generous games room and library areas. Best to bring your own books to the library, unless you enjoy encyclopaedias and condensed Reader Digest editions. But there are plenty of great books available in town (try Mr Pickwicks - downstairs)

The location is excellent for walking around town and traveling by public transport, it's only a 1-2 minute walk from the station and the same to the main street. I had no problem parking my car in the limited car spaces available mid-week.

We booked a special that included dinner and a cooked breakfast, if we stayed again, we would skip the food. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, but the food was nothing special. I'm not super picky about food, but I would like to see something fresh come out of the kitchen. Lots of the food was canned or frozen produce.

When we booked, we knew dinner was included on our first night, but we were not informed of the dining time. I assumed it would be a flexible 6-8pm window, as I've experienced in other guest houses and BnBs. But this was a strict 6.00pm be seated for 6.15pm service. Unfortunately we arrived at 6.10pm, dropped our bags to our room and rushed in to dinner. It was as though we had burst into a strangers house, unannounced and sat down at their dinner table. Everyone stopped talking, dropped their cutlery and stared at us. Clearly there were some regulars and we broke the strict 6.00pm be seated rule. Would have loved to know this beforehand to avoid the awkwardness.

We had a room on the 2nd floor (top level) which overlooked the incredibly gorgeous Kingsford Smith Park. Unfortunately after dark, we could hear yelling and bottles smashing both nights between about 11pm and 2am (not on the weekend, this was Wednesday and Thursday night) We could hear the trains clearly from our room too. The pillows were like phonebooks, I arose with a bad headache on the first day, a migraine on the second.

If you made it to the end of my essay, I'd suggest bringing earplugs, maybe your own pillow, and don't worry about getting the included meals. Management could invest in some new pillows, an overhaul of the kitchen (staff great, food average) and better communication with guests. They can't control the noise, but perhaps some double glazing would help. I think if these details were taken care of, it could be a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelldashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Metropole on a perfect weekend in March. We chose this guesthouse on the internet for the chance to stay in an original 1930s setting with original woodwork. The very reasonable price included hearty homecooked breakfasts and 3 course dinners, as well as a bus pass for the duration of our stay. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. On day 2 we left a bag in the dining room at breakfast and didn't realise until we were on a bus tour. We rang the office and the bag which contained both expensive and treasured possessions had already been handed in by the waiter and was safely hidden away when we picked it up in the afternoon. We hope to stay there again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at The Metropole on a very, very wet weekend. We were almost housebound it was so wet so it was good to have the games room available where we played pool for quite a few hours over our stay of Friday and Saturday nights. We had room 9 on the corner of two streets. There was little traffic noise however the trains on Friday night were quite loud and I eventually drifted off into a sound sleep sometime after midnight and didn't hear anything after that. There were no trains on Saturday night.
We had purchased a voucher which included 2 breakfasts and a 3 course dinner. The food was edible but nothing fancy - just basic home cooking. Kitchen will prepare you a packed lunch if you are going out walking for the day. Consists of a sandwich, a piece of fruit and a juice for $6.50
It was great to have the carpark so close to the back door considering how wet the weather was. Just a quick dash to the car when we did venture out.
The bed, the room and the ensuite were comfortable with ample space and facilities. No cramped knees sitting on the loo like some other review.
TV reception was very poor and the receptionist told us it was like that when fog and wet weather strike. I wonder if a TV room with better reception capabilities might work - there are plenty of lounge areas around the complex where this could be situated.
Overall a nice place to stay for a quiet time away. I'm sure the place would be a real buzz on a Blue Mountains festival weekend when its fully booked.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Gang Gang St so you don't hear the trains so much - maybe something at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Guesthouse

Property: The Metropole Guesthouse
Address: Cnr Lurline Street 11-15 Gang Gang St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Metropole Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established during the early part of the 1930s in the heart of the beautiful township of Katoomba; the Metropole Guesthouse offers a uniquely historic Blue Mountains accommodation experience, retaining its period character with fine wood panelling and leadlight windows, some overlooking the lovely Kingsford Smith Memorial Park. The hotel is within comfortable walking distance to several key local attractions, specialty stores, dining options, buses and trains. Whether you're escaping for relaxation, adventure or just a bit of culture - The Metropole Guesthouse is the ideal mountain getaway. It's easy to immerse yourself in the senses and flavours of a bygone era; indulge your appetites in our 65 seat, licensed and atmospheric 1930's dining room; relax with a book in our guest library, use our free Wi-Fi or simply sit back and watch the world pass by on one of our many antique lounges... The Metropole Guesthouse can also provide function areas for meetings, conferences, weddings and birthdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metropole Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropole Guesthouse Hotel Katoomba
The Metropole Guesthouse Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing