We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Ranked #4 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Comfortable & Convenient”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

This was our second time to the Blue Mountains but the first time we have stayed for a couple of days & we found Kurrara Guest House was conveniently place with an easy stroll to the town centre. The rooms were very well appointed with all your creature comforts, our room had a spa which was nice to come back to after a day of exploring. After a good nights sleep breakfast was waiting in the dinning room with plenty to choose from. Ian, the host, was very welcoming and informative and nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly recommend staying at Kurrara Guest House.

Thank you Ian for a pleasant stay

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    100
    18
    9
    20
See reviews for
46
279
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Booked this break online, and didnt really know what to expect. It was great. Good size and quality rooms, excellent food and a very warm welcome. Great help with places to tour. Cant wait to get back.

Room Tip: Look online they all looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelphi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Clean, comfortable, welcoming and the breakfast was good. The beds were clean and comfortable and the host Ian was very informative of the area.
In the lounge there was a roaring fire which was very welcoming as unfortunately for us the weather was cold and wet when we visited.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazdaTynemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Evelyn showed me to my beautifully restored four poster bedroom, with all the trimmings, which was very comfortable too. I walked to the Italian Restaurant Gustissimos near the station for dinner, which was delicious, with the service being first class. The spa bath was delightful, for Saturday getting ready for dinner locally at the Indian Restaurant called Anki's, which was 5* food! I watched a DVD each night, selected from the house library, which was had something for everybody, in the collection. The old world charm of the early 1900's house was very relaxing, with a continental breakfast included in my stay, that you could eat on the enclosed verandah. Or in the dining room. The Kurrara Guest House was in walking distance to the bus stop to catch the Explorer Bus to see the sights, & a ticket for two days at $38.00, is a deal too for unlimited travel. I travelled up & back by the train, at $8.60 a day per ticket, so it was a reasonable break away from the big smoke of Sydney at a relaxed pace. Evelyn dropped me back at the station, so I could catch my train home on Sunday, after midday. I will return again in the future! Thank you Iain for your local knowledge, which was very helpful, to get around town. Cheers Kim

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurama, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great friendly place with excellent owners who care about their property and the comfort and privacy of their guests.
Iain booked a restaurant for us for dinner (Pins) which was excellent and guided us to Niagra the first night, which again was excellent - and both BYOG! (We travel with our own supplies that we prefer)
We'll be back, breakfast was great, plenty of variety and good coffee. Rooms, Magnolia and Bluebell were very comfortable, although it did take 1/2 hour to fill the spa! However it was very relaxing after a day's climbing around the area. Very central to Echo Point and CBD Katoomba, just a short drive to Leura where we had a delicious lunch at the Deli overlooking the valley.

Room Tip: A very quiet area so no street noise at all. Any room would be great, just whatever suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Kurrara, and that everything met your
expectations, we look forward to welcoming you back when you feel like a break.
Kind regards
Iain & Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

On arrival in the late afternoon for a 3 night stay, after a day of travelling we were told that we would be upgraded to a spa suite as they had double booked our room with a party of 3. The booked room was a refurbished room on the first floor. The spa suite we were shown was on the ground floor and had clearly not been refurbished. There was no wardrobe, or shelf space or luggage rack for suitcases. Also the room was very dimly lit and felt depressing. Not ideal when on holiday! The receptionist said she would move us to another spa-suite which had a wardrobe, then when we entered the room she realised the wardrobe had been removed, probably because the room was too small. Asked if they had a clothes rail, the best that could be found was a towel rail. Lighting was again very poor with 2 of the 5 bulbs in the light fitting were missing. The reason given was reducing energy consumption. Also one bedside light was not working. The windows in the bedroom were sealed, no air conditioning hence no ventilation. There was one window in the bathroom that could be opened. The shower was poor, water pressure was low, and nearly scalded ourselves trying to set the temperature. The sloping base to the spar bath was slippery and made it difficult to stand comfortably under the shower, it felt precarious. I told the receptionist this was unacceptable and we be staying one night only and she agreed readily to a refund of the other two nights. We never did see the refurbished room but would advise anyone considering Kurrara house to establish exactly what they are getting. I would not recommend booking Kurrara House, but if anyone should consider it, don’t book the “spa-suites” until they have been refurbished, and for summer bookings ensure air-conditioning has been installed. The final criticism was breakfast. This was self service which is not a problem. However, the tables weren’t laid and it was another guest who showed us where the cutlery and crockery were. The staff member who was around didn’t ask if we needed help, or any other sign of offering a service. The only comment made was “ oh you are the ones leaving today”. On the positive side, the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't book an unrefurbished room. Don't accept an upgrade until you have compared your orig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarryBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear ‘starrybob’

In response to your “review” posted on tripadvisor ref your overnight stay at our property. As much as I do apologise for your inconvenience, I would like to correct some of your comments.

1) Due to the nature of the international booking system (not ours)and its inherent time zone delays, there are occasionally errors, i.e double bookings. If this occurs we do our best to either upgrade the guest or find alternative accommodation (you declined the offer).

2) Both spa rooms on the ground floor that you were shown as an upgrade had been refurbished to heritage standards. Both bedrooms are 5m x 4m + ensuite (hardly small), the 1st room you were shown also had a separate private dinning area. All ground floor rooms have 3.5m high ceilings, vertical tower eco-fans are provided.

3) Of the two rooms offered you picked the ‘Honeysuckle’ one of our most popular rooms, the bedroom has two 1 x 2.3m high windows (impressive and light). The room does have shelf space in the cupboard at the entry to the ensuite (an oversight I’m sure), the chandelier has 3 halogen globes out of 5 fittings producing high output 1250 ansi lumens, (we do our best throughout the property to minimise our carbon footprint) ‘Honeysuckle’ also has two bedside lights and a third by the TV. If one was unplugged it was probably due to a previous guest charging a phone.
The ensuite 2.5 x 3.3m, again quite spacious. also has two 1 x 2.3m windows. As in all properties in Katoomba, water pressure is dictated by the local water company. The spa bath shower has a non-slip surface conforming to Aus Standards.

4) Kurrara has been operating as a guesthouse since 1902. it is one of the few examples of this style of building left in the mountains, and we do our best to provide the ‘experience’ of a turn of the century guesthouse. Breakfast is fresh everyday and laid out, it’s serve yourself, how much and how often as you like. Kurrara is a heritage style guesthouse it has a very congenial atmosphere and for 112 years people meet, talk, share stories and travel adventures.

5) Situated in the mountains over 3300ft above sea level, the mountain air is cool clean and crisp, combined with the design of the house little need for air conditioning. Even in the high points of summer heat, we experience good breeze with low humidity. 'Kurrara' in traditional language means high campsite.

In conclusion ‘Starrybob’ I get the impression that our older style of accommodation may not have been the ‘experience’ you were looking for, I hope the Motel was more to your standard. The booking issue was obviously frustrating, again I apologise for the inconvenience to both you and your partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, so comfortable and relaxing. It is in a great location just get off at stop number five on the explorer bus and the guest house is a quick walk down the street. Ian was great with advice on what to do and where to eat. Lovely enclosed front porch area to eat breakfast . You can walk to Echo point from the guest house which is nice in the evening when the three sisters are lit up
It just has a nice homey feel to it which is what we wanted

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobanWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
578 reviews
6.0 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 19 in Katoomba
685 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurrara Historic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Property: Kurrara Historic Guest House
Address: 17 Coomonderry St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurrara Historic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. In 2012, it was handed over to new owners and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is centrally heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 Upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area. We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing