We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Ranked #2 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great friendly place with excellent owners who care about their property and the comfort and privacy of their guests.
Iain booked a restaurant for us for dinner (Pins) which was excellent and guided us to Niagra the first night, which again was excellent - and both BYOG! (We travel with our own supplies that we prefer)
We'll be back, breakfast was great, plenty of variety and good coffee. Rooms, Magnolia and Bluebell were very comfortable, although it did take 1/2 hour to fill the spa! However it was very relaxing after a day's climbing around the area. Very central to Echo Point and CBD Katoomba, just a short drive to Leura where we had a delicious lunch at the Deli overlooking the valley.

Room Tip: A very quiet area so no street noise at all. Any room would be great, just whatever suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Kurrara, and that everything met your
expectations, we look forward to welcoming you back when you feel like a break.
Kind regards
Iain & Evelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 445 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

On arrival in the late afternoon for a 3 night stay, after a day of travelling we were told that we would be upgraded to a spa suite as they had double booked our room with a party of 3. The booked room was a refurbished room on the first floor. The spa suite we were shown was on the ground floor and had clearly not been refurbished. There was no wardrobe, or shelf space or luggage rack for suitcases. Also the room was very dimly lit and felt depressing. Not ideal when on holiday! The receptionist said she would move us to another spa-suite which had a wardrobe, then when we entered the room she realised the wardrobe had been removed, probably because the room was too small. Asked if they had a clothes rail, the best that could be found was a towel rail. Lighting was again very poor with 2 of the 5 bulbs in the light fitting were missing. The reason given was reducing energy consumption. Also one bedside light was not working. The windows in the bedroom were sealed, no air conditioning hence no ventilation. There was one window in the bathroom that could be opened. The shower was poor, water pressure was low, and nearly scalded ourselves trying to set the temperature. The sloping base to the spar bath was slippery and made it difficult to stand comfortably under the shower, it felt precarious. I told the receptionist this was unacceptable and we be staying one night only and she agreed readily to a refund of the other two nights. We never did see the refurbished room but would advise anyone considering Kurrara house to establish exactly what they are getting. I would not recommend booking Kurrara House, but if anyone should consider it, don’t book the “spa-suites” until they have been refurbished, and for summer bookings ensure air-conditioning has been installed. The final criticism was breakfast. This was self service which is not a problem. However, the tables weren’t laid and it was another guest who showed us where the cutlery and crockery were. The staff member who was around didn’t ask if we needed help, or any other sign of offering a service. The only comment made was “ oh you are the ones leaving today”. On the positive side, the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't book an unrefurbished room. Don't accept an upgrade until you have compared your orig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank StarryBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear ‘starrybob’

In response to your “review” posted on tripadvisor ref your overnight stay at our property. As much as I do apologise for your inconvenience, I would like to correct some of your comments.

1) Due to the nature of the international booking system (not ours)and its inherent time zone delays, there are occasionally errors, i.e double bookings. If this occurs we do our best to either upgrade the guest or find alternative accommodation (you declined the offer).

2) Both spa rooms on the ground floor that you were shown as an upgrade had been refurbished to heritage standards. Both bedrooms are 5m x 4m + ensuite (hardly small), the 1st room you were shown also had a separate private dinning area. All ground floor rooms have 3.5m high ceilings, vertical tower eco-fans are provided.

3) Of the two rooms offered you picked the ‘Honeysuckle’ one of our most popular rooms, the bedroom has two 1 x 2.3m high windows (impressive and light). The room does have shelf space in the cupboard at the entry to the ensuite (an oversight I’m sure), the chandelier has 3 halogen globes out of 5 fittings producing high output 1250 ansi lumens, (we do our best throughout the property to minimise our carbon footprint) ‘Honeysuckle’ also has two bedside lights and a third by the TV. If one was unplugged it was probably due to a previous guest charging a phone.
The ensuite 2.5 x 3.3m, again quite spacious. also has two 1 x 2.3m windows. As in all properties in Katoomba, water pressure is dictated by the local water company. The spa bath shower has a non-slip surface conforming to Aus Standards.

4) Kurrara has been operating as a guesthouse since 1902. it is one of the few examples of this style of building left in the mountains, and we do our best to provide the ‘experience’ of a turn of the century guesthouse. Breakfast is fresh everyday and laid out, it’s serve yourself, how much and how often as you like. Kurrara is a heritage style guesthouse it has a very congenial atmosphere and for 112 years people meet, talk, share stories and travel adventures.

5) Situated in the mountains over 3300ft above sea level, the mountain air is cool clean and crisp, combined with the design of the house little need for air conditioning. Even in the high points of summer heat, we experience good breeze with low humidity. 'Kurrara' in traditional language means high campsite.

In conclusion ‘Starrybob’ I get the impression that our older style of accommodation may not have been the ‘experience’ you were looking for, I hope the Motel was more to your standard. The booking issue was obviously frustrating, again I apologise for the inconvenience to both you and your partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, so comfortable and relaxing. It is in a great location just get off at stop number five on the explorer bus and the guest house is a quick walk down the street. Ian was great with advice on what to do and where to eat. Lovely enclosed front porch area to eat breakfast . You can walk to Echo point from the guest house which is nice in the evening when the three sisters are lit up
It just has a nice homey feel to it which is what we wanted

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobanWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Kurrara guest house was one of the loveliest places I've ever stayed! My first B&B and wow the entire family loved it! The room was lovely with a slanting roof and high bed. Crisp clean sheets and clean bathroom. I thought the old school light switches and antique wardrobe were great touches to the room.

The tea/brekky room was great! Lounges and dining tables to sit and enjoy coffee and some of the 20 types of tea Iain and Evelyn had available for guests to enjoy.

We all enjoyed the brekky of croissants with cheese and tomato, cereals, fruit toast, yoghurt and more types of jam than we could try in one brekky!

Iain and Evelyn were lovely hosts- helping with any questions we had about must see places in the area. Thanks guys for a wonderful stay! If we are ever in the area we'll be back :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Kurrara is a real gem. It looks a little tired from the road at first, but is undergoing a refurbishment program. The owners are prioritising the most important bits first. The rooms have been really well restored with fresh paint, fixtures and the best bed I've slept in for a long time. Ian and Evelyn are great hosts, happy to offer advice on tours, local eateries or have a chat about their beautiful guest house. There are several common areas, all are very comfortable with a great range of teas, coffee, juice and snacks (fruit cake, biscuits, fruit etc) available to consume whilst relaxing in one of the leather lounge chairs reading books, newspapers or catching a TV show or DVD. Highly recommend a stay here, much better than the bland brand x hotel/motel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Stevendebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This beautiful historic home is a short drive into Leura's town centre and just minutes away from some of the most amazing scenery the Katoomba region has to offer. The entire house was very welcoming, and our room was clean and very comfortable (the canopy bed was a very nice touch). We stayed two nights and would have been happy to stay longer if not for our plans to continue north from there. The continental breakfast was very good - as was the coffee. A quiet, relaxing place to come home to after hiking through the countryside. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have just spent 3 night at Kurrara with 4 friends and had a great stay.
Friendly and welcoming hosts, a warm and well stocked sitting room,
plentiful continental breakfast, a separate tv room , port in each room , we would
highly recommend staying to couples and older families

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandypHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
976 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#5 of 19 in Katoomba
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.3 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shelton-Lea B&B
Shelton-Lea B&B
#7 of 19 in Katoomba
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurrara Historic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Address: 17 Coomonderry St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: $96 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurrara Historic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. In 2012, it was handed over to new owners and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is centrally heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 Upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area. We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing