We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carrington Hotel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$204
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Explorers Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$87
$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Rider Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$69
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$252
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Sisters Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$75
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Katoomba Town Centre(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$82
$80
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveler rating
311
104
20
10
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
104
20
10
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslily roomrose suiteboiled eggscomplimentary porttea selectionafternoon teablue mountainswarm croissantscoffee machinespa suitesun roomthree sistersecho pointcontinental breakfastlovely guesthouseold world charmquiet street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 464 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and myself stayed here for 4 nights in September during our visit to Australia. We loved everything about the place. The room was lovely and we loved being able to sit in the other rooms downstairs at night to relax. We could even bring our own food in and wine. We had many a good conversation with Iain and Evelyn who were very good hosts. Breakfast was continental but there was a great choice of breads, croissants, cereals, yogurts and fruit etc. Everything was fresh and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. We would definately stay here again and recomment the guest house to anyone. A great stay. Thanks Iain and Evelyn

Room Tip: We saw all rooms on our arrival as the doors were open and they all looked superb so any room would be great
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldhamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed for one night and so glad it was only one night. For the cost of the room I expected much more. Not sure if it was the shower curtain, the 50 year old toilet or the plumbers tape fixing a leak but the bathroom was very old. The bedroom wasn't much better with the creaky floor boards and the paper thin walls which allowed me to listen to the TV next door as if was in our room.. Breakfast was provided which was great if you liked mouldy bread and out of date yoghurt... Very disappointing stay...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

We are always surprised and disappointed to read a negative review as they are few and far between, but admit to not being perfect! Kurrara is an historic guest house which has been operating for over 111years, and yes we do have creaky floors and other unique features peculiar to a historic house. Our guests choose to stay with us to enjoy these features in contrast to the blandness of modern motels/hotels, and to experience the history of Kurrara. The yogurt in our fridge that was 'a day out of date' was indeed an oversight, which we replaced instantly when you brought it to our attention. As for the mouldy bread I am unable to comment as our bread is freshly baked every day, perhaps you mistook a grain or the texture of our artisan breads for mould.

We do understand that your booking was made by another party and can only assume that had you booked a venue direct, that you may not have chosen to stay at Kurrara as it obviously did not appeal. We are delighted that the rest of your party enjoyed their stay immensely and have promised to return.
Kind regards,
Evelyn & Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My partner and I were looking for a quiet/retreat weekend. Katoomba had it all and Kurrara Guesthouse made it even more special. We caught the 6.30am flight from Brisbane to Sydney, hopped a train to Katoomba and were in our lodgings by lunchtime. Friendly greeting, cosy room. excellent breakfast, delicious complementary port. Kurrara had all that we needed for a perfect weekend. We stayed in the English Rose Master Suite, very comfortable, almost a home away from home. Plenty of room to relax and unwind. The whole property is well appointed, quaint, well situated between Echo Point and Katoomba. We caught the 'red' bus around and saw so much. We also did a lot of walking, which made it even nicer to come home to the spa and warmth of our room. Highly recommend this property for a nostalgic look at the past.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be lovely. I can only speak from experience to advise that the English Rose room is quite spacious and has a lovely aspect overlooking the gardens.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I actually could not fault this place!

We stayed here on our Blue Mountains trip in Sept 2013 and loved it! It's expensive. We payed about $180 for the king room with en suite bathroom. I simply had to stay there though, even if it was just for one night. The pictures and reviews of it looked amazing and... There was a 4-poster bed in the room. I'd never slept in a 4-poster before!

When we arrived the lady at reception could not have been more helpful. She gave us a detailed map and advice on where to go and what to see. She gave us a small trip around the house telling us about breakfast etc.

The house itself is beautiful. It was built circa 1900 and was opened as the third guesthouse in Katoomba for people visiting the Blue Mountains for the peace and tranquility away from the big city. It's wonderfully decorated with wood and offset with vibrant reds of lampshades and leather couches. Bookshelves line the walls and there's nearly a fireplace in every room. It has a uniquely Victorian-era, old-fashioned feel.

There was a complimentary decanter of port in our room which we enjoyed. The breakfast is amazing with all different types of breads, fruit, coffee and a variety if teas. It was a filling breakfast. You can eat it while enjoying the sun in the verandah at the front of the house.

In each room there is a tv with a huge selection of DVDs available to watch in the sitting room.

It is located between the town centre of Katoomba, about a ten minute walk, and the viewing point for the Three Sisters.

If we were going to Katoomba we would definitely stay here again and i would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My partner shouted us to stay last weekend for my birthday. We fell in love with the place from the moment we were shown our room - gorgeous crimson walls, a massive four-poster bed and a breakfast nook looking out over the garden. I can imagine a stay at Kurrara being a special experience in all four seasons and we'll certainly try to get back again soon.

Evelyn also showed us the upstairs rooms that have yet to be fully revamped and you can see what an eye she has for decoration, furnishings and materials. I think that this lovely old house can only become even more beautiful as they continue to work on it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews