We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Ranked #3 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Historic Haven”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a beautiful and peaceful place this is! We arrived late on Saturday night and were greeted by name. Given a tour of the welcoming common areas downstairs (fires blazing, extensive DVD and book collections and port on offer) and told to treat it like a friend's house which it felt like. Given full details for breakfast and a tour of our comfortable room-The Lily. House was cosy warm all night, we slept like logs in the antique bed and woke up to sun streaming in the windows.
Large range of items for breakfast-5+ cereals, loaves of bread, fruit, yoghurts and even warm croissants with tomato and cheese. Tea and coffee available all day and night-what a thoughtful touch.
Although at times I am a little hesitant to book guest houses, I did not want to leave this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonflyliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    99
    18
    9
    18
See reviews for
45
270
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We are a young couple from Italy, we spent 1 night in Kurrara the 2nd of July, we slept in the Queen Room with Spa bath!Everything was amazing, quiet and clean! Perfect and delicious breakfast, our room was clean and warm, no noises or problems.
The girl at the reception was nice and friendly. RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGnappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We loved to stay in BnB in blue mountains. The only bad thing is that there is not much choice of good reviewed places that cater for the 3 of us. And this time we come with a friend. ;)

The owner has kindly accept our booking for a night. Generally minimum 2 nights stated in their website. when we arrived Stephanie gave us a quick tour on the place.

This place has a quaint setting. We got the Lily room? The room has a queen size n a single bed. However it just that there will not be any more room to place our luggage. Since we are here for a night, we packed some essential in a small handcarry n leave all in the car.

The place is centrally located and quick to go to even Leura for dinner and shopping. Not to mentioned the echo point etc. However, our 2 times to the 3 sisters were not so fun. It was raining cold and foggy.

The breakfast was alirght. It will be 5 stars if they can provide hot breakfast during the winter months.

The strong free wifi is really an added touch since we cannot do anything in Blue Mountains in the cold wet days.

Overall, i felt that it is a value for money stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippo645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valla beach nsw
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Kurrara guest house and enjoyed every thing about it. The room was clean & the bed was very comfy with a new latex mattress & pillows. Our room had just been freshly painted. The owners have only been there 1yr and have done a wonderful job of restoring & renovating and adding that touch of old splendour. The breakfast was lovely with lots of choices. The array of teas and cakes & biscuits all day was great to enjoy by the fireplace at anytime.
We enjoyed a complementary port each night after dinner out, with guests we met during our stay. Thank You Ian for a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you require a larger room, request it. We had a small room which was fine with us and we had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelaVallaBeachNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I spent a weekend in Katoomba at the Kurrara guest house and really enjoyed my stay. You are a short walk to town and 15-20 minutes walk to Echo Point.

I stayed in the Lavender room, which was very comfortable with a really nice bed and large bathroom. I liked the extra touch of an in room dvd player and large dvd collection for passing time in the evening.

Breakfast was very nice with a good selection of bread, cereals, fruit, cheese and yogurts. As a tea drinker, I appreciated the large variety of teas.

The owners are really sweet and extremely helpful. Their recommendations of restaurants were spot on, especially Anki's indian. Delicious!

If you want to stay in a historical home that is quiet and unique, this is a perfect place. One note, because it is an older home, I noticed the walls are thin so its easy to hear others in the rooms next to you.

Thanks for a fun stay and the ride to the train station!


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The breakfast was good and the bed was comfortable. The cookies and cakes provided during tea time was a nice touch. Free Wi-Fi was good considering there's nothing to do after 5pm. They do have a wide selection of dvd that you can borrow to watch in your room.

The location is a bit far from the town and train station. It's still walkable but just a tad far considering its not on the main Lurline Street. The heating in the room goes off after a while and comes back on but with the thick duvet, it's warm enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyrusho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiscasset, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a wonderful find off the beaten track and close to central Katoomba. Having stayed the night before in another guesthouse in Mount Victoria (Victoria and Albert Guesthouse), this was a welcome change and a definite step up in quality and accommodations. Beds were comfortable, coffee (and port!) readily available and a huge library of DVDs at your disposal, one wanted for nothing. Breakfast was continental with fresh locally baked breads, hot croissants, fresh fruit, juice, yoghurt, and a wide variety of teas. Definitely worth a visit and we'd go back there in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Quiet street, so no bad locations from the outside. But, if you have a choice, ask for something not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish4Stripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
915 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 19 in Katoomba
680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurrara Historic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Property: Kurrara Historic Guest House
Address: 17 Coomonderry St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurrara Historic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. In 2012, it was handed over to new owners and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is centrally heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 Upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area. We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing