We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Ranked #4 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Old world charm and hospitality”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the guest house over the Easter weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay. Evelyn and Ian were wonderful hosts - having assisted us even before our arrival with restaurant recommendations and bookings.

Our room (the Honeysuckle) was located on the ground floor towards the front of the residence. It was a charming, quiet and comfortable room with a four poster bed, and spa in the bathroom. The only drawback was not being able to watch the television anywhere other than from the bed. Other bedrooms have small sitting rooms which, if you want to sit in your room rather than in the communal lounges,might be better suited for this need. We weren't in our room for much as we enjoyed the other areas of the hotel so much.

Breakfast was served from 8am each morning and was very pleasant with every imaginable cereal, tea, breads and condiments offered. No small detail is missed. You can partake of breakfast either in one of the dining areas or take it back to your room. Coming together with other guests provided a nice opportunity to speak with other travellers - with a number of internationals staying at the same time.

The hotel's location is in a quiet suburban street, a few minutes drive from Echo point and within an easy walking distance to several restaurants. We dined at Pins (excellent meal with great service and very reasonable pricing), The Rooster (more expensive and perhaps not quiet as good value for money as Pins) and a local Indian restaurant which wasn't bad. The RSL is just around the block. It was also just a 5 or so minute drive to Leura Falls and to Leura mall. So for us, with a hire car, it was in an ideal position.

Our hosts, Evelyn and Ian were that rare breed - there with advice and assistance, up for chat, and responding to our every need - we had only to ask. We had special dietary requirements which were met and Evelyn even shifted the outdoor furniture for us when we wanted to have a quiet drink in the pretty garden. They were there if you needed them but also allowed guests their privacy if that was their preference.

We couldn't recommend this hotel more highly. It was the perfect venue for a getaway. Coming from Queensland, the climate change was pleasant. We flew to Sydney, then caught the train from the airport with a change at Central then onto Katoomba ($20 ea - 2 hr trip) where we collected a hire car from Hertz (who were also very helpful). Travelling this way we had an enjoyable stress-free ride out of Sydney and avoided the weekend traffic.

If you are thinking about visiting the Blue Mountains, give yourself a treat and enjoy this wonderful historic guest house that comes with old style hospitality.

Room Tip: If you want a room which provides a separate sitting room, these are available. Check out the websi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    99
    18
    9
    20
See reviews for
46
277
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome and comfortable from the moment we arrived. The Rose room was beautifully furnished and we received the rest we needed prior to our next baby. Breakfast was simple but filling. The four poster bed was a nice touch. Thanks Iain and Evelyn.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shebbear
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed in this guest house last weekend and had an awesome stay - it has so much character. It's run by a very welcoming and friendly couple, Ian even offered me a lift back to the station when I was rushing for the train. One of the mornings I had to be up at the crack of dawn, so was invited to help myself from the breakfast room - yoghurts, cereal, milk, fruit etc. Loved the old sash windows and light fittings, and the bed was super comfy.

Walls upstairs a little thin, so could hear the telly in the next room, but apart from that no qualms. I'd say stay here if you like things a little different from your bog standard hotel room.

Room Tip: The Lavender Room is light but cosy at the same time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We obviously missed out on other travellers experience with the owners/hosts and their warm service as the 2 women there during our stay were put out by our communication each time we needed assistance eg like an iron or where was breakfast, we were not shown around properly and felt uncomfortable staying in the house, as we were not made welcome
Breakfast is basic dont expect too much, we got snapped at for asking where the spoons are etc perhaps labels are needed
the rooms are ok the bed was good, the bathrooms are showing their age
we tried this guest house instead of a resort - will go the resort next time

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Boski, I read with concern and dismay your review posted 27/02/13, since taking over the business in May 2012 my wife and I have worked exremely hard to provide comfortable, relaxing, value for money accomodation in our grand old (111 year) Guesthouse, I can only apologise that you did not receive the obvious attention that should have been provided during your visit.
At that particular time my wife and I had taken a rare few days away, I have checked through our guest book and spoken with the staff on duty over this period, and have gone through the circumstances with them, One of our ladies had a personal issue at this time, but it in no way detracts from the fact that your personal experience was not up to our usual standards, again I can only apologise for this situation, I thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention and you can be assured that we will 'try harder' in the future.
Thanks & regards Iain & Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at Kurrara with my young daughter. We were instantly made to feel at home. Our hosts were delightful and accommodating. The ensuite rooms upstairs have divine new latex beds (like sleeping on a cloud!) and beautiful bedding. They are cottage style and rustic - not characterless like standard motels. Renovations are still underway so this place will only get better over time. Breakfast is a real treat - and healthy too!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyherlihy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Evelyn and Iain are the perfect hosts. Their hospitality was so generous and warm and the Kurrara Guest House is absolutely beautiful and so comfortable. There were so many lovely little extra's which made us feel treasured. The rooms were very comfortable, spacious and quiet and the continetal breakfast was delicious with a lovely variety including special dietary options e.g. gluten free . My friends and I were in Katoomba performing at the Blue Mountains Ukulele Festival. Evelyn and Iain were so interested and supportive of us, they even came along to hear us perform. I look forward to staying at Kurrara again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Kurrara, and it was lovely to see you perform at the Ukulele Festival. We look forward to your return visit and your new repetoire of songs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at Kurrara last weekend with my daughter. It's wonderful - friendly, comfortable and spotless. Our bedroom had a single and a queen, and its own ensuite - ideal. Many of the other rooms had their own sitting areas and four-poster beds. The furniture throughout is period, but the bedding etc is new and comfortable. Breakfast was basic with fresh breads, croissants, fruit and cereals. The hosts provide gluten-free and dairy-free options without any fuss. There was even a decanter of port in the lounge and in each room! Walking distance from town, 5 minutes from the nearest tourist bus stop, but in a very quiet spot. We loved the access to fruit, treats, tea and coffee, available all day in the comfortable lounge. Fantastic accommodation - I would recommend it to anyone and will certainly go back.

Room Tip: The Lily room has the queen and single. All of the rooms look lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
932 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
577 reviews
6.0 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 19 in Katoomba
686 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurrara Historic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Property: Kurrara Historic Guest House
Address: 17 Coomonderry St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurrara Historic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. In 2012, it was handed over to new owners and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is centrally heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 Upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area. We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing