We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a blast from the past”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Ranked #2 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in the Lily Room at Kurrara mid week, along with a number of guests. It seemed pretty busy for a Thursday. The room was outstandingly renovated and refurbished - attention to detail impeccable. The common areas of the guest house are warm and inviting. Breakfast is a happy affair with much chatting and good humour. The management is friendly and helpful.

I cannot recommend it highly enough and will most definitely visit again at the first opportunity.

Room Tip: The pics are an accurate representation of the rooms - the whole guest house is situated in a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eidolon_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Our thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Kurrara Historic Guest House. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again. Iain & Evelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 442 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very happy with my recent stay here (5 nights, R&R, mid-August). It was everything I wanted from a guesthouse: warm and welcoming, traditional style but low-key, not over-the-top "cute". The owners and staff really seem to love the house and what they're doing with it. It's still a work in progress, but the progress is amazing! Period decoration and furniture, leadlight windows, creaky floors, slightly thin walls (not a problem unless someone decides to have a party in their room); two sitting rooms with fires, plus a sunny enclosed verandah - all perfect for reading, talking, listening to music, or just sitting. Bedrooms all look great. Mine was the Lily - big, filled with light, with the most comfortable bed I've ever found away from home. All have modern, functional ensuites. Continental breakfast with plenty of choice, which was fine for me as I don't like hot breakfasts. 10 mins fast walk to Katoomba Street with shops and cafes; 15 mins fast walk to Echo Point and the Three Sisters (via a handmade chocolates shop). And it's so quet! All you hear is the occasional car, children walking to school, birdsong, the wind in the trees.
Thank you Iain, Evelyn and Stephanie. It was great to meet you.
Susie (Australia)

Room Tip: Ground-floor rooms are bigger, with fourposters and spas, but might be slightly darker during the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luchdturais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you Susie for taking the time to write a review of our guest house. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Kurrara. Your 5-day stay offered the time to explore the various nooks and crannies of Kurrara, and find the sunny spots to sit and enjoy breakfast, a pot of tea, and a good read. We sincerely hope you will visit us again. Warm regards, Iain & Evelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here July 12th & 13th. This is definitely the best B&B on Coomonderry Street in Katoomba. It is also in our top three of accommodations stayed in during our five weeks journey in Australia. As Americans we found Australia to be pretty expensive so it is a relief to run across a B&B at a fair value.
The new owners, Ian & Evelyn have been busy getting this place up and running and are doing an exceptional job. They are both super hosts.
Rock On.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

It was a pleasure to have you both come and stay with us at Kurrara, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's good to know that as 'new owners' we are on track, and that we are meeting your expectations. We hope that if you visit our neck of the woods again, that you will come and stay longer and spend more time exploring the Blue Mountains. Best wishes, Iain & Evelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We just spent one night but it was really a lovely place to stay. The new owners have done a wonderful job of making this historic guesthouse into a great place to stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room small but very nicely decorated.

Lots of work going on but they are keeping it to an authentic 1902 guesthouse feel, without the discomfort!

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, buffet style in a lovely lounge area complete with a fire burning. Just perfect as the outside was blustery cold.

Room Tip: The rooms can be chosen from their website so you can see that each room is individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed only one night at Kurrara Guest House but we wished we booked for longer! It's character and homeliness is incomparable, Ian being the best host ever! We loved the port and spa bath in the room, the fireplace in the lounge, the openness of the host and of course the two dogs! :) Would recommend without hesitation, hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ujlnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

You could not find better hosts than Evelyn and Ian who have had the property for such a short period of time but have already done so much to it. They made our stay outstanding. Its such a beautiful house and I can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omalleySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The new owners, Ian and Evelyn are hitting the ground running since buying this business 6 weeks or so ago. They are endeavoring to repair the building and the previous bad reputation created by the former owner. They are doing a great job.
We stayed in the Honeysuckle Room. Large canopy bed, spa bath in the ensuite. This is a place for people who like something "quirky". There are old world furnishings, comfortable lounges, plenty of books, DVDs to pass the time when not exploring the Mountains or chatting with the owners by the fire sharing a port or two.
This place has the feeling of staying with a distant relative, warm, welcoming and friendly. Its close enough to some great music venues to walk or drive. We will stay again the next time we are in the mountains.
Thanks to Ian and Evelyn for helping to make our weekend very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Honeysuckle Room has a spa, close to dinning room, front door for a quiet entry after seeing the sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
967 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#6 of 19 in Katoomba
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.3 mi away
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Shelton-Lea B&B
Shelton-Lea B&B
#7 of 19 in Katoomba
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurrara Historic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Address: 17 Coomonderry St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: $99 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurrara Historic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. In 2012, it was handed over to new owners and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is centrally heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 Upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area. We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing