We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely, inviting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Ranked #3 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Homely, inviting”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed only one night at Kurrara Guest House but we wished we booked for longer! It's character and homeliness is incomparable, Ian being the best host ever! We loved the port and spa bath in the room, the fireplace in the lounge, the openness of the host and of course the two dogs! :) Would recommend without hesitation, hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ujlnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    99
    18
    9
    18
See reviews for
44
265
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

You could not find better hosts than Evelyn and Ian who have had the property for such a short period of time but have already done so much to it. They made our stay outstanding. Its such a beautiful house and I can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omalleySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorokan, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The new owners, Ian and Evelyn are hitting the ground running since buying this business 6 weeks or so ago. They are endeavoring to repair the building and the previous bad reputation created by the former owner. They are doing a great job.
We stayed in the Honeysuckle Room. Large canopy bed, spa bath in the ensuite. This is a place for people who like something "quirky". There are old world furnishings, comfortable lounges, plenty of books, DVDs to pass the time when not exploring the Mountains or chatting with the owners by the fire sharing a port or two.
This place has the feeling of staying with a distant relative, warm, welcoming and friendly. Its close enough to some great music venues to walk or drive. We will stay again the next time we are in the mountains.
Thanks to Ian and Evelyn for helping to make our weekend very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Honeysuckle Room has a spa, close to dinning room, front door for a quiet entry after seeing the sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Cosy rooms, warm lounge, period furniture and furnishings and comfortable surroundings. What more to ask for? If you are looking for a getaway with quiet time, this is ideal. It is a bit of an uphill walk to the main street in Katoomba for food, but otherwise perfect. stop for hop-on-hop-off bus is just a minute away, and echo point is 15 minutes by foot.

breakfast can be better though - it's a very basic cornflakes and bread thingy that doesn't thrill. you can always pay more for a cooked breakfast i guess.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lihaiwubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

I loved my stay here unreservedly. Although an historic building every nook and cranny of the house was warm and dry. From the King Sized bed to my snug dormer window room to the cosy breakfast room with fire place this guest house was not just great value but part of the whole Katoomba weekend experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarloBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend at the beautiful Kurrara House.

The new owners made us feel very welcome and were more than willing to share tips on what to do during the day and where to eat at night.

Our bedrooom (Marguerite) was very quaint with lovely old furniture. It had a huge and very comfortable bed - I haven't slept that well in years. The bathroom is also nice and fits with the theme of the house - and, importantly, the water runs hot and strong in the shower.

The house is warm and comfortable. We enjoyed a lazy Saturday night reading on the comfy leather couches in front of the open fire - exactly what we were hoping for in the Blue Mountains and the lounge room is a lovely place to sit and relax over brekkie while reading the papers provided. There is also a large collection of books in the lounge room for those who forgot to bring theirs along.

The location is also great - we don't drive but were able to easily get to Kurrara from Katoomba station; from Kurrara down to Echo Point (where we started our bushwalks) and from Kurrara to Leura Cascades and town centre.

Only slight disadvantage we noticed is that the walls aren't super-thick so we could hear the people in the next room talking - but that's probably to be expected in a house of this age. Certainly not a problem in terms of us being able to fall asleep at night and I'm only mentioning for completeness' sake.

Excellent value for money. We really hope to return in the near future and wouldn't hesistate to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckE2061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My two-night stay at Kurrara was an absolute pleasure. The Lily of the Valley suite was delightful, with its old-fashioned decor, ensuite, TV and DVD player, lots of space to hang up clothes and a very comfortable bed. A word about the DVD player - I noticed that one reviewer said their room did not have one. It's actually built into the side of the TV!

Breakfast was simple but tasty - cereal, toast and a variety of jams and toppings. The dining room is lovely, and I enjoyed sitting out on the verandah with a good book.

With helpful and charming staff, generous space and lots of books, CDs and DVDs to enjoy, I thoroughly recommend Kurrara for a weekend away in the Mountains.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keziah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.6 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.6 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.3 mi away
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurrara Historic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Property: Kurrara Historic Guest House
Address: 17 Coomonderry St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurrara Historic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. In 2012, it was handed over to new owners and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is centrally heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 Upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area.We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing