We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING! it feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Ranked #3 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING! it feels like home”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Me and my girlfriend found this place called Kurrara Guest House Katoomba on wotif.com we saw it was a bargain so we booked it. All good.
when we get there the host greets us very politly and with a BIG smile on his face.
The beds were just AMAZING!
The SPA was also amazing.
We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ragusa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    99
    18
    9
    18
See reviews for
44
268
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

There have been some awful negative comments from people here. Don't believe them, they are, to put it bluntly, prissy snobs who don't know a good time when they see it. This lovely place has an old Australian colonial charm that few B&B's in this country have. The hosts are friendly and informal which may not appeal to all but which I like. I'd take these guys over the stiff hospitality school trained robots you get at conventional hotels anyday.

Some people here were shocked that the soap was from ALDI or complained that the breakfast menu was far too simple or that the place had too much "unecessary" antique furniture. If the quality of soap is your main concern when you stay at a hotel, this is not the place for you, find your nearest cookie cutter Novotel or Hilton please. If you want a full breakfast menu, well again stay at a bigger hotel, this place is too small to support the kind of hospitality staff needed to serve a full breakfast every day; also it is a 5 minute walk to Katoomba town center which has too many nice cafes and restaurants to count where you can eat, so really it's not an issue. As for too much antique furniture, do I really need to explain the stupidity of that comment? If you don't like that kind of atmosphere then don't stay here, me and my girlfriend loved it, it felt like we were in the 1800s; sure not everyone wants that but if that's the case stay somewhere else, the pictures on this website make it very clear that this is that kind of place so I don't understand how you could stay here and be shocked at the old world decor of the place.

My only criticism is that the place can creak a lot and the walls are quite thin, so at night you'll toss and turn a bit because of the noise before dozing off but really that's a minor complaint and there's nothing that can be done about it. This house is over a century old so it can't be helped, it's going to creak and groan but that kind of adds to the charm in a way. Also thought I'd mention that I heard some odd noises in the night and it might just be my imagination but I think the place might be a bit haunted, which is very cool in my opinion, ghost hunters definitely need to check this place out.

I will definitely stay here again and the value is great, it cost us 100 for 1 night which is almost the same you pay at the local youth hostel for a double private room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abcdefg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This review, should be caveated - we stayed in November 2009, so it may not reflect the current state/staff of the guest house.

We arrived to noone being there and we ended up having to chase up the host by phoning a landline (I think the host was David). This wasn't really a major, but not a great start!

The house is very pretty and amenities were fine/adequate. The lock on our bedroom was a bit rickety/didn't like to lock easily and the french door to our 'private' section of the deck was a little bit dodgy. We didn't have many valuable on us, but if we had then I wouldn't have felt 100% comfortable leaving them locked in the room. We also couldn't get the wireless to work but we didn't really chase this up, so it wasn't really a bother to us. The rooms are also quite noisy - a *private* weekend may not be as private as you hope.
The location is good - very quiet, a close walk to the Three Sisters and town centre.

It seems that the host has now changed, which appears to have done customer service at the guest house a world of good. While our host was not rude or outwardly unhelpful, he didn't seem particularly interested in being there

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_girl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This is my fourth visit to this guesthouse. It is an attractive and well maintained historic property with various sized rooms. We enjoyed the rose suite this time which we found spacious and comfortable. The old fashioned furnishings complement the beautiful stained glass and original feel of the house. On other visits I have stayed in a smaller room upstairs, also with a northern aspect, and have enjoyed all day sunshine in winter. A very reasonably priced continental breakfast is available. The guest house is well positioned - an easy walk both to Echo Point and to the Katoomba shops. Our host, Anthony was helpful and courteous. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

The experience here is unique and what real travelling is all about. The property is elegantly aged and this contributes to a type of character that you will never experience in a run of the mill hotel. The decor is charming, eclectic and intriguing. This is a property full of stories and the host anthony is indeed the perfect match for the surroundings. This property represents amazing value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed briefly on a Wednesday night and were warmly welcomed by Antonio the proprietor. The building is an old colonial building with much original furniture and original styling, filled with fascinating old books. The rooms were functional but the walls a little thin. A place with much character and a surprising number of teddy bears.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Our three night stay in this beautiful old guest house was a very pleasant experience. Together with its old word atmosphere and warmth of hospitality was like stepping back in time.Loved the authentic antique furniture in our room, and the slightly temperamental door lock with its very over sized key made us smile every time we used it. A totally charming experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
899 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
0.6 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.6 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 19 in Katoomba
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurrara Historic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Property: Kurrara Historic Guest House
Address: 17 Coomonderry St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurrara Historic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. In 2012, it was handed over to new owners and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is centrally heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 Upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area.We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing