We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I and our teenage son stayed 2 nights in a family room which had 2 bedrooms. There were heaps of beds- 3 singles in one room and a queen and single in the other, so the room would be great for a big family. There were also 2 bathrooms and a tv in each bedroom which was a real bonus. My son and husband really enjoyed the games room with the retro arcade games. The motel is also in a good location within walking distance of the town and restaurants. Probably the thing we were most impressed with was the buffet breakfast on offer each morning- WOW! Everything you can think of to eat including omelettes, french toast, 3 types of juice- you name it and they have it. The lady working in the breakfast room (and I gather who is the cook) was so nice and friendly and obviously works extremely hard putting all that food together every morning.
Overall a really enjoyable stay and will definitely be back if I am ever in Katoomba again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    60
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
39
69
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here for one night in January. The hotel is in a very good location to visit the 3 sisters with stunning views. We were disappointed to find that the restaurant was closed that evening, however luckily we were a short walk from the town where we found a lovely restaurant. The breakfast was very nice, however the lady that served it wasn't very friendly. She said all of the right things, but a smile or once more with feeling would have helped. The rooms were nice and spacious with free WIFI.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

A last minute overnight stay early January.
We found the Heritage to be a most comfortable stay.
Rooms are small and neat - bed was very comfortable.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was fabulous, every taste catered for. Would highly recommend.
We would visit again in the future as we found the Heritage Motel to be clean, very affordable and close to all the cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in family room for a couple of nights. Clean but very old furnishing. Second TV is not working, but we didn't watch much TV anyway. Was offered a DVD player which we didn't take it.
Perfect location, good variety of "Australian" breakfast which include French toast. Good value for money. Nice cafes and restaurants around. All staff are nice and friendly too.
I'd give 4.5* for location, 3.5* for motel itself.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DnD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was the first time we had stayed in a 3.5 star hotel with the kids. It was a bit of a step back in time. The carpet colour nearly gave me a seizure. However, it was clean and tidy.
We had a great time in the 70s games room and the buffet breakfast was good value,although very crowded.
Great location in terms of access to everything and the owners gave us good recommendations on where to eat and where to avoid.
We stayed in a family room (2 x queen beds). It was ok for what we paid.
Staff were lovely and friendly.
I guess you get what you paid for - not sure if it qualified for that extra half a star though!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles80, Owner at Blue Mountains Heritage Motel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thankyou for choosing to stay with us and finding time to submit a review, sorry if we dont do beige colours in our carpets etc, the carpet in your room whichj is a nice rich green/blue colour is new in the last 12 months and is a commercial Axminster as used in a number of 5star hotels in Sydney. Fantastic that you appreciated and enjoyed the Games Room and our collection of machines from the 70's era, we have spent a lot of time finding these and mainting them for new generations.

As you point out the tariif for 4 persons at $188.00 per night ($47.00 per person including Full Hot Buffet Breakfasts) is very good for such a peak time, (it is even less if you book direct and dont pay 3rd party commissions)

Glad that you overall had a great time and yes we are an official AAA rated 3.5star property.

Come back and see us soon.

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great way to spend the weekend relaxing in a very comfortable spa room. Nice dinner only a minute walk down the road. This Motel has a great gamesroom took me back to my childhood had heaps of fun. Lovely friendly staff and a lovely breakfast before departing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles80, Owner at Blue Mountains Heritage Motel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thankyou for telling us how much you enjoyed your stay, we enjoyed looking after you and would love to see you again in the not to distant future

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here on a Friday night 29th Nov. room 27. Room good size with queen bed & a single bed, small table with 2 chairs, 1 single lounge chair, kitchenette (microwave, sink & bar fridge) & ensuite. On opening door when we arrived a very strong smell of bleach was present (obviously to clean ensuite) but rather than complain we opened the windows & aired the room out, problem fixed. Motel is a tad dated but if you want 5 star then pay 5 star prices. Our tariff included hot b/fast with great variety. Would stay again if in area & didn't want the drive home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountains Heritage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains Heritage Motel

Property: Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
Address: 218 - 224 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly St. Elmo Heritage B & B)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Mountains Heritage Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Mountains Heritage Motel is rich with historic culture, friendly customer service and an unbeatable location in the heart of the Blue Mountains. The motel is situated in close proximity to top quality restaurants, quaint cafes and eclectic boutiques and shops, yet it is well away from highway and railway noise. The property is just a short stroll from Katoomba Railway Station and only a 10 minute walk to Echo Point, The Three Sisters, Scenic World and The Edge Cinema; allowing you to experience all that the Blue Mountains has to offer. Visit our website or contact our friendly front desk staff for more information on packages, events and more. Blue Mountains Heritage Motel is a proud link in the Equeva Accommodation Group chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Mountains Heritage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing