We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, But Our First Stay Was Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the Blue Mountains Heritage Motel last year and really enjoyed our stay there, particularly our room and the hot buffet breakfast. Due to our excellent experience last year, we booked with them again this November when we returned to Katoomba. Unfortunately, this time around, things weren't nearly as good.

We paid for the motel's advertised "hot special", which included a queen-sized bed, kitchenette, and the buffet breakfast. When we checked into our room, we were immediately disappointed. The room was VERY small and cramped, the kitchenette was nothing more than a small counter, microwave and a bar fridge (not even a sink), the carpets were dirty and threadbare, and our "queen sized" bed was actually what appeared to be a double bed. My fiancé and I thought the bed looked small, as we have a queen at home and it was a lot smaller than ours, but we knew for sure when we went to bed and my poor fiancé’s feet were hanging over the end of the bed (which has not happened in any other queen bed we've ever slept in).

We also walked down to the game room that was advertised in the hotel, only to find an outdated, smelly room that was probably built in 1970 and hadn't been updated since. There was a row of old arcade games (okay, I'll admit the retro games were pretty cool, but I don't think it was an intentional choice, rather than the hotel just having not updated their arcade in 20+ years), a pool table that was in bad shape (the cloth on the table was torn, making it hard to play), and an air hockey table that was out of order. A bit of a disappointment.

On the plus side, the breakfast was still good (despite the runny eggs, but I digress...), and we enjoyed the variety of foods offered. We also asked for a DVD player from reception and had to hook it up to the TV ourselves, but it was still nice to have.

All in all, the room was pretty dismal, but it did the job for one night. If we hadn't previously stayed at the BMHM, I'd probably give our stay just two stars, but the fond memories from our first stay bumped it up a star. We'd possibly stay again (it is in a good location), but next time we'll make sure to book the same sort of room we did the first time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 161 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We'd initially booked this through Wotif 2 days before roads were closed around the Blue Mtns area and the town was surrounded by the serious bushfires that continued for at least a week. We called the motel and were advised by a gruff man that the booking was non refundable, and that there was no danger of the fire situation becoming worse - which obviously proved to be wrong. We then contacted Wotif who were more understanding and arranged for our booking to be postponed until a few weeks later and were kind enough to waive the usual change fee too. Luckily we did - although we were disappointed with the attitude of the gentleman who seemed to have a water tight view of bookings made and did not care about the fact that the motel's guests are there to enjoy the beauty of the area and not to put themselves in danger and inhale a weekend of smog and pollution.

Nevertheless, we faithfully arrived a few weeks later and were shown a tiny shoebox of a room on the main street on the ground floor. The bathroom was modern and recently renovated however the room itself left a lot to be desired - being very old and basic. We also suffered from the loud thumping of people and children screaming from 6am on the Sunday morning in the room directly upstairs from ours and the sound of people talking. It was so loud that we could hear the ceiling creak every time. That prevented us from having a nice sleep in although we wouldn't have had much of one anyway, given the breakfast was only offered until 9:30am! The breakfast itself was actually quite impressive, with plenty of hot fried food as well as the usual cereals, stewed fruit and toast. The older lady who ran the show and the young gentleman who attended were polite and friendly.

Too bad about the room itself.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swisstruffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles80, Owner at Blue Mountains Heritage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hi

Glad that you enjoyed your breakfast which was available from 7.00am until 9.30am, as you said most guests want to be out and about enjoying the sights not sat in the breakfast room. The bushfire alert in the North of the Blue Mountains was a concern and we did our best to transfer bookings when we could or refund if this was not possible. When we received calls form worried guests we (in this case me) gave a true picture of the conditions in our immediate area, in Katoomba we could not see any sign of the bushfires and which thankfully never came closer than 15 kilometres and we were not affected by smog or polution, neither the Highway nor the Railway were ever closed.
You had booked through Wotif and accepted their booking conditions, I explained that you had to cancel via them but you seemed unable to understand so I initiated the change of dates with them and arranged for the fee to be waived. The date you changed to was a very busy weekend with golf groups and a wedding and we did our best to get you in, the room that you had booked was a Standard Room with Air Conditioning, Ensuite, Queen Bed and LED LCD TV etc the tariff of $138.00 including Full Hot Buffet Breakfast is very reasonable for a Saturday night. The room which has recently been renovated is compact but has Queen Bed, Dining Table and Ensuite, it is average or slightly larger than a typical overnight Motel room, we have a large range of rooms up to King rooms that are over twice as big. Our notes show that you requested a late checkout which we willing obliged at no charge.
We hope to see you again, whenever you travel it is best to book direct and always take out travel insurance to cover eventualities.

Kind regards

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have listened to the latest information of the Fire chief in NSW as to the danger in the Mountains, and everyone being asked not to travel into the Mountains unless it is essential hence we asked to cancel our booking,

We were informed by reception that there was no danger not even the smell of smoke in Katoomba, Having ourselves been through a bush fire in the Mountains while we lived there we could not believe the statement.
A refund will not be given however we can rebook our room within 6 months, however as we are from interstate we will not be able to avail ourselves of this. I feel the information given by the receptionist is putting people at risk especially those from overseas who have no idea how dangerous this situation is.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles80, Owner at Blue Mountains Heritage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Robert
Your comments are not correct,you asked us what the conditions were like in Katoomba and we gave you a completly true answer, we advised where the fires were and what the situation was here on the ground. We would never provide information that could put any one at risk. We advised you that you could either cancel or hold your booking for 6 months, but as you had booked via a 3rd party website you would need to initate the cancellation through them and also write to us (email)confirming your cancellation. You chose not to do any of this but to attack us via Tripadvisor and even rate your experience 'staying' with us when you clearly did not arrive. We have refunded many guests that followed our advice on how to cancel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Arrive with no booking and was accommodated quickly. A lovely double room in the old part of the building. A nice little kitchen add on makes this place spot on. All the mod cons and great heating as its freezing tonight! Very comfy and got a lovely cooked breakfast in the heritage room. Very close to the centre of town.Nice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles80, Owner at Blue Mountains Heritage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hi

Thankyou for your review as a family owned and operated small business it was our pleasure to loook after you and we would love you to return.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this Motel last weekend. And it was really good the chappy at reception went out of his way to make sure we had a good time . We have children with special needs and this was no problem for this man. And his great staff . We arrived late at night we are from out west and he waited up for us to make sure we had everything we needed. The room was set up for us on arrival nice and warm and comforting . The decor a little dated , However that was okay as the the breakfast each morning was Great .They have a true country style breakfast . Big Buffett in an awsume breakfast room . It's self serve and definitely no shortage of selection and quantity.. You are located right in the centre of town . Great for just strolling out to the club or restaurants next door . Short distance to the 3 Sisters and the New train Ride at Scenic World. If you have a family I can recommend this place as its ideal for family's ..

Room Tip: They have .. 2 types family rooms . The 2 room suite is the bigger one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles80, Owner at Blue Mountains Heritage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hi

Thankyou for your review we are realy glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again

kind regards

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a great place this is....

Staff:
All the staff were great, really no complaints at all.

The Room:
We stayed in a suite with a fireplace and spa. The room was huge, and comfortable, one one down side is the king bed was made up of two singles. The spa just fitted both of us :)

The Hotel:
This place is a great example of old world charm, from the fitting, to the photos, and the decor. If you are into early Victorian England decor this place is great. The location also offers cracking views of the valley. Be sure to ask for a room with a view...

The Food:
The food at dinner was just beautiful, good selection on the menu, decent selection of wine. Breakfast is pretty basic, but easily enough to fill you up for a day in the Mountains.

More:
I would definitely stay here again, it is a great spot for a romantic weekend away. Onsite parking, wireless internet, mini bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. Prepare for the cold if traveling in the colder months. 10m walk from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked one room too many & were told they could try to resell the room, which they did. When we went to sort account out we were given No refund for the sale of this room & would not even discuss it. I would rather sleep in my car at the local tip than stay at this motel again. We found the office staff unbelievably rude and have never encountered such behaviour before.

Room Tip: Do not prepay you may regret it if you need a refund !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caitlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles80, Owner at Blue Mountains Heritage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

This lady booked 2 rooms each for 2 persons for the Friday and Saturday nights via a 3rd party booking site. On her arrival on Friday she was very stressed and pushed in front of other guests who were checking in. Her voice was raised and she was complaining that she had just called the 3rd party site to cancel one of the rooms for the two nights and they had told her that she would lose the first nights tariff. We tried to be very sympathetic to her and said we would sort it out, she then informed us that she wanted a 3rd person in her room, so we upgraded her to a large family room, told her we would try and sell the room she had cancelled and would work it all out on her departure. We were unable resell the cancelled room on the Friday night but did so for a lower tariff on the Saturday night. On Sunday morning she came to check out and told us that she had been knocking on other guests rooms and asking them how much they had paid for Saturday night. We advised her that we had calculated out the cancellation fee and the extra person charges and would be sending her a refund cheque for $17.00. She was very angry and raised her voice again, we asked her to please leave. She had handed her key back to us and it was on the reception desk, about half an hour later a housemaid alerted us to the state of the room that the lady had used, the contrentsof theamenities tray, tea coffee milk etc had been strewn around the room as had the contents of the wardrobe and the bedding, the key that she hads obviously taken back from the reception desk was found in the back of one of the drawers that had not been pulled out
This whole episode is recorded in both our records and that of the third party website.
Who would be a Motellier?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
1,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
605 reviews
0 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
180 reviews
0 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountains Heritage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains Heritage Motel

Address: 218 - 224 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly St. Elmo Heritage B & B)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range: $70 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Mountains Heritage Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Mountains Heritage Motel is rich with historic culture, friendly customer service and an unbeatable location in the heart of the Blue Mountains. The motel is situated in close proximity to top quality restaurants, quaint cafes and eclectic boutiques and shops, yet it is well away from highway and railway noise. The property is just a short stroll from Katoomba Railway Station and only a 10 minute walk to Echo Point, The Three Sisters, Scenic World and The Edge Cinema; allowing you to experience all that the Blue Mountains has to offer. Visit our website or contact our friendly front desk staff for more information on packages, events and more. Blue Mountains Heritage Motel is a proud link in the Equeva Accommodation Group chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Mountains Heritage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing