We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room, comfy bed, helpful and enthusiastic staff, well priced.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sky Rider Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean room, comfy bed, helpful and enthusiastic staff, well priced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

My wife and I spend three nights at the Sky Rider Motor Inn during a long-long weekend in the Blue Mountains. It's an older motel and looks rather unassuming from the outside, but don't let this deter you; our room was spotless, airy, and quiet of an evening, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was hot and punchy in terms of water pressure. Housekeeping was on the ball; it was nice to arrive back to a tidied room, remade bed and fresh towels each evening.

The managers/owners were very welcoming and went to great lengths to ensure we were looked after, including accomodating a dietary requirement (speaking of which, the cooked breakfast was fantastic value) and providing us with complimentary utensils and plateware for the poolside BBQ. They were also very helpful with directions and advice around the local dining and sightseeing scene.

The motor inn has good access to the Great Western Highway (but very little traffic noise), the better-known tourist sights in Katoomba are a short drive or reasonable walk away, as is Katoomba's main street with its many eateries.

The Sky Rider is wonderful value for money and we'd definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hirkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review. Really is nice to hear such positive feedback... what can I say but we will try our best to keep up the good work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    160
    41
    13
    1
See reviews for
121
151
20
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Family run business [I specifically asked about that to confirm an assumption because]; despite being an old establishment, the owners obviously work hard to keep everything nice and clean - grounds, room and breakfast - no dust or mould anywhere. Only a short walk to Katoomba station (or about AU$7 by taxi). Only a short walk to Scenic World. My wife and I caught the train up Friday night and train the back to Sydney Monday morning. We had a lovely relaxing weekend. Bring a poncho and pack dry socks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
I'm guessing you experience a little rain during your visit. The Mountains can be a little unpredictable with regards to the weather, however views can be just as spectacular with a little mist in the valley as it is on a clear sunny day so don't be put off ... just come prepared.
We are very proud of our motel and as owner operator we want to ensure our guests receive the best service possible and enjoy the beauty of the mountains. Come again when the sun is shining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed in a deluxe queen room & found it very spacious.
The bed was sooooo comfortable.
The only room for improvement was the bathroom. It was partially great & partially okay. It had been renovated but half was still old. A small space for the shower (with shower curtain), but it was all very clean.
There was no traffic noise so made for a great nights sleep.
The staff (also the owners) were wonderful.

Room Tip: If you are a couple I would suggest a deluxe queen room for size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnieTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Bathrooms, certainly the top of our renovation list for 2014/2015 and part of our continued upgrade plans. We are refurbishing all bathrooms and where necessary replacing shower curtains with shower screens to offer a more modern looking bathroom. Traffic noise is rarely an issue with our guests as we have a lot of foliage surrounding the motel and since the highway was moved it creates very little noise disturbance. Thank you and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night on the way to Canberra. The host was a lovely lady who really cared about her job and her customers. She was extremly helpful in finding good food spots and advised travel tips.

The hotel is clean tidy and comfortable. The hotel itself is dated and you can see this is certain areas. However this appears to be the trend in katoomba.

The room was spacious with modern cupboards and a good quality lcd tv with good signal for free to air programs.

The bed was comfortable more firm which is fine for us. The pillows could probably do with an upgrade.

Tea coffee and free biscuits were provided in room with a kettle and toaster to use.

There is a heater and an ancient air conditioner that we didn't need to use.

The bathroom is large but extremly dated. The shower was clean and had very good temperature and good flow. The only thing is there wasn't any shampoo or conditioner only soap, which I would expect from a motel.

The only cons really is I think the bathroom could do with a renovation and some new pillows. :-) oh and include some shampoo/conditioner.

Otherwise the stay was pleasant convenient and would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of renovating all of our bathrooms to improve the overall comfort of our guests and within this process we are moving to triple sheeting in our rooms and installing new bedding including pillows. The issue with Shampoo and Conditioner has been raised before and we are now sourcing a suitable product to stock in all our rooms. We appreciate your feedback and hope you may stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

The staff was very nice we got there early and asked if we could just park there so we could walk into town. They were very happy to check us in early with no extra charge but they still needed to get the room ready for us. We were very happy for that. The room was clean when we came back. Nothing fancy but it was very nice for one night and you park right out in front of your room so not hard to get the luggage from your car. We had the continental breakfast in the morning the staff and service was so nice and everything was clean and fresh to eat. The coffee was good too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay the service provided. As owner operators we strive to ensure our guests enjoy the best level of service we can provide and the sunny dining room is a great place to enjoy your breakfast. We will always try to accommodate early arrivals and never charge a fee for checking in early as long as the room is available. Allowing guests to get a head start on their exploring. We can always store luggage if a room is not quite ready.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

A friend and I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the Blue Mountains to do some bushwalking.

The motel was well located just off the main road and only a few minutes from the Katoomba Centre.

The room was very affordable and included all the expected fitting including bar fridge, tea and coffee facilities. The motel is a little dated with older bathroom fittings but nothing at all to complain about.

The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed a daily breakfast which was great and affordable. Definitely no complaints. The staff were also very friendly and accommodating including providing recommendations for meals and bushwalks.

Overall I was very happy with this experience and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ethornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. Our maintenance goal over the coming months is to continue work on the bathrooms to renovate the older bathrooms and modernise the fixtures and fittings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed in this motel in the Blue Mountains and whilst the mist made the visit unsuccessfully, the motel provided a good value, comfortable place to stay. I left something behind and they kindly posted it on to Perth for me. A friendly owner with good service. Thank you.

Room Tip: Need a car to get into town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Its a shame the wether was un favourable but we are pleased you had a comfortable stay with us. It was our pleasure to return your item we know how easy it is to leave something behind.
WE look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#9 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Rider Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Rider Motor Inn

Property: Sky Rider Motor Inn
Address: 302 Bathurst Rd | (Cnr. Valley Rd), Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#1 Best Value Hotel in Katoomba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Rider Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Blue Mountains Motel with a B&B atmosphere is perfectly positioned in the heart of this stunning World Heritage area in the main town of Katoomba. The motel is family owned and operated, your hosts Lynn, Ross, Jamie and Kerry are on hand to offer that extra personal touch and attention to detail to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere during your stay. Spend a night - Not a fortune!! The Sky Rider Motor Inn is renowned for providing clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a quiet garden setting. Our 24 guest rooms types vary from Queen, Twin, Deluxe and a range of Family rooms, all provided with free wireless internet. Our popular salt water swimming pool and BBQ area are favourites with our guests can enjoy their breakfast in our dining room with garden views and open log fire for the cooler months, we serve a full continental breakfast as well as hot breakfast daily. Free parking is available to all of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sky Rider Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Rider Motor Hotel Katoomba
Sky Rider Motor Inn Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing