We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old & Dingy & Over priced& Definitely NOT No Smoking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Tumbi Umbi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old & Dingy & Over priced& Definitely NOT No Smoking”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The owners were very nice ,very helpful and the location was great. It is unfortunate that I cannot give positive feedback past that.
It was A/C but it was dingy and smelly,old mould mothball smell. Nothing like the picture on the website, we were really disappointed. It was a $60 per night quality and we paid more than twice that. The bathroom needs renovating. I would not choose to stay there again unless it was priced appropriately and it's certainly not my definition of 31/2 stars. The pool in the picture is blue and it was green during our stay,not ideal in summer, especially to be told it was ok???
We were also told it was No Smoking but instead of smoking in their rooms they sit outside your front door and blow the second hand smoke into your room as smoking is permitted outside the rooms on the verandah- that is not No Smoking !!!!! We had to keep our door closed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hfamily78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are disapponted you did not enjoy your stay with us. I must stress all our rooms are 100% non-smoking. We will certainly address the issue of guests smoking in front of other guests rooms and look at setting up a designated smoking area away from the rooms. The heavy rains did have an slight effect on the water colour in the pool but it is back to being crystal clear and we do test the water twice daily to ensure the pool is safe for swimming. We appreciate your feedback regarding our motel and we will use it to improve the service we offer to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    178
    45
    13
    1
See reviews for
136
168
23
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This inn is being renovated by it's new, friendly and helpfull owners. They are very welcoming and present a map to all visitors, on which they point out the highlights of the village.
The small pool is very refreshing. If you want to use the BBQ the owners will hand you a bbqset in which you will find cutlery, plates, herbs and anything else you might need.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstenNL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our BBQ and BBQ pack useful (both free of charge to all our guests). The pool and BBQ area is always popular with our guests and is a great way to cool off in this hot weather while cooking for the family in a relaxing setting away from the hussle and bussle of town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. A good-sized, clean room that had just been refurbished. A lovely pool and barbecue area. We had a very pleasing stay. Our expectations were met plus more. Wi-Fi and breakfast are extra but are inexpensive. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkp2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted we met your expectaions and you got to enjoy one of our newly renovated rooms, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I found the room quite dingy and run down, with an unpleasant smell which made me sneeze and my eyes run. A few hours after leaving the hotel the following day, it cleared up so I assume the damp peppery smell was to blame. The room was clean, but the pool water was slightly cloudy and did not seem clean to me. There was a weird witch doll hanging in Reception, which I found off-putting. I certainly wouldn't want to stay again and, at about double the price of the backpacker hostel in town, I think that might be preferable. Deafening noise from aircon.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your Review. We were very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are unsure what the small could have been in your room it is not something we have ever had issues with before now. The pool is cleaned daily and the water is checked twice daily to ensure we adhear to the strict health and safelty regulations set for all public pools. We pride ourselves on offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation and we are always disappointed when we have not met our guests expectations. However we always look at reviews positively and try to improve our business based on our guests experiences, so thank you again for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our room was a welcome end to a hot journey. We stayed in a twin room booked online for $80 a night with breakfast included. Spacious with a table and chairs, a double and a single bed. A dated bathroom but clean and large. Big TV was great after we worked out how to get the freeview channels - I was a bit upset when i thought we only had four channels! Pool area was nice with flowers and bbq (which we didn't use). The pool is saltwater and was really nice and cool on a hot day.
Our room had a nice big tree out front with parrots coming and going. There was no noise from our neighbours other than slamming doors and talking outside when people were packing up. We didn't end up having breakfast as my daughter is a late riser. There is a bit of road noise but not too bad as you're off the highway.
The customer service was great. The lady on reception was genuine and polite and offered information about the area.
The only negative is I thought the wireless was free but there is a fee which is payable at reception or via credit card.
Will stay there again!
Sure beats a backpackers.

Room Tip: Rooms 44 - 49 have nice shady trees and are close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeshe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we offer the Red Hot Deal through our website and it includes continental breakfasts a bargain for a last minute get away to the Blue Mountains. Regarding the bathrooms we are in the process of renovating all our bathrooms, so we hope next time you visit you may enjoy one of our newly renovated room.
The area up here is full of birds and you can see most from the comfort of your room. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crib Point
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This motel was spotlessly clean and despite being so close to the Blue mountains attractions (only 5 minutes drive), was a very cheap motel to stay in. The staff were fantastic and were very eager to assist with travel directions. Overall a very good motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We believe we have a great location close to the town and a few minutes drive to all local attractions. Our POOL and BBQ area is a perfect place to enjoy a refreshing swim to keep you cool throughout the summer months. We offer affordable, clean comfortable accommodation for all the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Great little highway motel close to all the katoomba sights. Very clean and comfortable. It's a very old motel but is well maintained. Why spend a fortune for a few nights. The breakfast was good and the staff extremely friendly. Great place to stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are working very hard to give our motel a facelift, all effort at the moment is going towards the interior of the rooms, after that we will get a chance to start work on the exterior to give the motel a fresh new look over the coming year. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.9 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
244 reviews
1.6 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Rider Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Rider Motor Inn

Property: Sky Rider Motor Inn
Address: 302 Bathurst Rd | (Cnr. Valley Rd), Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#1 Best Value Hotel in Katoomba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Rider Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Blue Mountains Motel with a B&B atmosphere is perfectly positioned in the heart of this stunning World Heritage area in the main town of Katoomba. The motel is family owned and operated, your hosts Jamie and Kerry are on hand to offer that extra personal touch and attention to detail to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere during your stay. Spend a night - Not a fortune!! The Sky Rider Motor Inn is renowned for providing clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a quiet garden setting. Our 24 guest rooms types vary from Queen, Twin, Deluxe and a range of Family rooms, all provided with free wireless internet. Our popular salt water swimming pool and BBQ area are favourites with our guests can enjoy their breakfast in our dining room with garden views and open log fire for the cooler months, we serve a full continental breakfast as well as hot breakfast daily. Free parking is available to all of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sky Rider Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Rider Motor Hotel Katoomba
Sky Rider Motor Inn Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing