We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Lurline House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lurline House
Ranked #6 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Lovely Inn, elegant breakfast, helpful hosts - the ratings are well deserved.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 700 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2009

Only had one night at this B&B - what a shame! We would have been happy to stay longer, but our itinerary didn't permit.

We were met by Peter when we arrived, a lovely man with impeccable manners who was ever so helpful in giving us local information. The tea and cake was a lovely welcome, and we ate it in the lounge area, which was relaxed and filled with antiques, but not at all pompous or starchy.

The room was comfortable, well appointed and clean. The spa bath was wonderful and the shower generous in proportion. A bar of toblerone awaited us on the bed! Little touches like that really go a long way.

We had a very comfortable night, and enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast next morning, including full english, toast, fresh fruit, yoghurt...you name it, they had it, plus tea and coffee. All the food was well cooked (in front of you!) and good quality.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone - what a great place to stay in such a fabulous area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Stayed here for three nights and for the first two nights we shared the very positive comments of other contributors. However the third night was disturbed by the activities of three couples on a reunion weeked who continued noisely drinking in the lounge alongside our bedroom until 2am, then continued with "other" activities in the next bedroom. Sound installation was minimum.
Super walking along the ridge nearby and recommend the Rooster and Carrington Brasserie for evening meals.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Peter greeted us upon arrival, and after settling us in our room, prepared tea/coffee and cakes for us. The room was charming, I especially liked that the french doors off the sitting area opened to the front veranda, where I enjoyed relaxing for a little while with a book after a long day hiking. It is just a short walk from Echo Pt, and there is the best little chocolate shop along the way! Peter has lots of books on hiking area sightseeing in the main room, which were helpful. Breakfast was delicious and huge, with everything made to order by his charming staff; fresh fruit, cereals, yougurt, omelets with vegies or eggs and bacon, fresh tea and coffee and juices.... And we enjoyed the amazing birds that came to visit just outside the garden doors while we ate. Very enjoyable stay, recommend highly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbeara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

This is a very friendly and well organised B&B. On arrival Peter welcomes you, shows you to your room and then makes you tea with lovely cakes.
The rooms are really nicely decorated, cosy without being too twee. Four posters with net canopy, sofa in the room and a great bathroom with spa bath and shower cubicle. We were in a room separate to the house which was great as we didn't have to worry about waking people up if our 5 month old daughter cried in the night. We stayed 2 night and had clean towels both days and everything was very clean. It's a family run outfit and Peter's Mum is a lovely lady.
The breakfast area was really nice and you could order whatever you wanted and it was cooked there in front of you, omelette or full English or both if you're like my husband! The also have local guides to Blue Mountains and Peter is happy to give recommendations if you're not sure. We went to Jenolan caves which he suggested and it was lovely day and an amazing drive there. He also told us the route to drive over to the Hunter Valley which isn't for the faint hearted as it's a hell of a 4 hour drive with some of the windiest road I have ever driven and I come from Wales!
Would definitely stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paleandinteretsting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Where can I start. From the moment we arrived, Peter welcomed us and made us feel at home. Hot tea and cakes were waiting for us. Whilst having that we saw native Australian parrots right by the door step. The place is very peaceful after visiting Sydney. Breakfast is excellent. Good choice of cereals, juices, hot breakfast made to order. I thought the rooms were a little bit on the small side but fine. Location is excellent, not far from Katoomba city centre. Can walk it. Overall we really had a lovely time at Lurline House and would definately recommed it and would return again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PShah16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Peter takes good care of his property. He remembers his hosts' requests and takes a moment to address them one by one. He's methodical, organised and conscientious. A great host.

It has a good location. A short walk to the trails and restaurants.

The breakfast hall is charming and so is the breakfast. Sufficient selection for a good start of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matchaspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
967 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.4 mi away
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lurline House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lurline House

Address: 122 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: $67 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lurline House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lurline House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lurline House Hotel Katoomba
Lurline House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing