We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful retreat with first class service”
Review of Lurline House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lurline House
Ranked #2 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We arrived early without warning. There was no fuss, and we were warmly welcomed, given lots of useful information, great pot of tea and incredible cake for morning tea.

The room was spotless, had everything we needed and the bed was fantastic. The ambience calming and peaceful, breakfast wholesome and delicious.
We are booking in for the same time next year.

Free Wifi a great plus!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazirola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for Lurline House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 690 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2009

We chose Lurline House because of the reviews on this website. We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Peter has thought of everyhing- from the warm welcome (and being picked up from the station) to the beautiful rooms, delicious breakfasts, friendly service and much more- there have to be some surprises! We would thoroughly recommend this guest house as a base for a stay in the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneandlinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Stayed in Lurline House following Trip Advisor's reviews and was not disappointed. Husband and I with two friends went to enjoy the Yulefest (at the Chalet). Peter is a true gentleman, his wife is lovely and his staff are so friendly. What a great atomosphere at Breakfast; you can chat with Peter as he cooks up your breakfast delights. Comfortable, beautiful, gracious appointments and centrally heated!! Peter even sorted us a take away breakfast box on our last morning as we were leaving very early to travel home. Lurline House is just a 10 minute walk to the Cafes and 3 Sisters, Ehco Point etc. Enjoyed an evening Port on the Chesterfield listening to Il Divo, this is the life. Hope to enjoy this type of hospitality again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie2mil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

I'm a bit late writing this review as my husband and I stayed at Lurline House on 4th and 5th of May this year. After reading all the great reviews on Trip Advisor, I was a hopeful but a little frightened I might be disappointed. I need not have been. It was everything the reviews said and more. Peter was the perfect host - he made us feel at home and helped us out with dining venues and ways to see Katoomba. The breakfast was delicious - Peter makes the best omelette and needless to say the room was picture perfect and spotlessly clean. These things and all the extra little touches mentioned in the other reviews (sadly missing in many B & B's we have stayed at) put it head and shoulders above the rest. My one regret is that though our room was lovely, we didn't go the whole hog and book the spar room - something to look forward to next time.
P.S. I would be remiss if I didn't mention Peter's great breakfast staff - their customer service is to be congratulated.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HunterValleyGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one night on the 2/07/09 and was surpised that the whole experience execeded my expectations after reading the previous reviews.

We were greeted by Peter with a warm introduction, pointed out all the facilities asked if there was anything we needed or would we like coffee or tea.

The room was large, spotlessly clean with a large bathroom and spa.

In the common area there was fruit. newspapers, maps, brochures provieded.

There was even a decanter of Port with crystal glasses in this area to warm up the soul after coming in from the cold.

Breakfast was fabulous, plenty of freshly sliced fruit, juices and a hot breakfast to die for. The now have sausages on the menu so a previous reviewer would be very happy.

To get into the main part of Katoomba is about a 15min walk and costs about $6 by Taxi.

Dislikes: Nothing ( except would have like to stay longer )

Would recommend to anyone looking for a great B&B. The best I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wobblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I and a friend spent two wonderful days at Lurline house and left wishing we had booked more. Great service, wonderful rooms, great location, a place you should put high on your list of hotels at which to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaijinTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

1st time in Sydney, booked the hotel based solely on advise from tripadvisor. Booked thru the hotel web site. Reply was quick and efficient. Beautiful house, Peter was a wonderful host, giving us tips where to go and dine. Yes, tea/coffee, chocolates and cakes were served when we arrive at 10.30 am, and it is free of charge! The chocolate cake was delicious. We were given the rooms even though check in was 2pm. Breakfast was delicious! Free internet access and parking. Overall, a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ezekiel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
0.4 mi away
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lurline House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lurline House

Address: 122 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: $66 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lurline House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lurline House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lurline House Hotel Katoomba
Lurline House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing