We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lurline House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lurline House
Ranked #2 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very warm welcome”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Tea and cake on arrival is a very nice touch we were made to feel very much at home, we had one of the spa rooms nice size bathroom and comfortable bed. Position is good within walking distance of town centre and Echo Point (Three Sisters) and there is also a very nice restaurant called Pins on Lurline only a couple of hundred yards away. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of fruits, cereals and breads etc. as well as the cooked options. The hosts were very friendly and helpful I can thoroughly recommend staying here if you are visiting the mountains.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GordonLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    66
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
67
473
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Pros:
- Hearty and comprehensive breakfast. Breads were excellent, as with other breakfast items (full american breakfast available; cooked fresh)
- very cosy house and rooms
- good selection of DVDs.
- Hosts were polite and helpful, service staff during breakfast very attentive and cheerful.
- Great location.

Cons:
- We needed a room/rooms for 4 persons comprising 2 adults and 2 children. We were told that the room could fit 4 (and were charged accordingly for the 2 additional children) but the room could only fit one extra bed; it turned out that 1 child was expected to sleep on a two seater couch (which was not a pull out bed). The length was short enough for my 5 year old but I feared he would roll off, and too short for my 8 year old. In the end we had to squeeze 2 children and 1 adult in the queen bed (which was a tight squeeze).
- TV screen was tiny.
- In winter, toilet floor was bitingly icy cold, and got terribly wet from the condensation arising from the hot water. My other party in an adjoining room had chilly air blowing in through the toilet ventilation system.
- During breakfast, the fumes from the open kitchen pervades the living and dining area and gets into your hair and clothes.
- Carpark tight.

The cons are just areas which could be improved upon, but I would still say that overall, we nevertheless had a pleasant stay at this charming establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenWSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange NSW
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This B&B is great! The hosts are great, location is great and breakfast was lovely.
Unfortunatly it rained the whole time we were at Katoomba but spending the afternoon at the guest house was relaxing. There were heaps of DVD's to choose from as well as books and magazines.
We were offered umbrellas when we ventured out in the rain. Its the little things like this that makes the difference.
The only down side was the onsite parking got a bit tight with the guesthouse fully booked, we were able to park on the street though so it wasnt too bad.
I would love to stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyOrangeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to stay just 15 minutes walk to the centre of town and also the same to the local scenic attractions. The house is beautifully decorated and the service second to none. Breakfast is great and just keeps coming!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davistown, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is our second stay at Lurline house and it certainly won't be our last. Peter and Suzanne run such a great little B&B that we a re sure to visit again at our soonest opportunity. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage next to the main guest house. The cottage is immaculately maintained and well appointed. With central heating a full kitchen and 2 bathrooms it suited our 3 person family perfectly.
Breakfast at Lurline House is one of the best parts if the stay. Our hosts sure know how to put on a spread. with fresh and canned fruits, hot porridge, cereals etc to start off with then followed by a cook breakfast with a choice of bacon, eggs (anyway you like) sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms or French Toast or omelette most people will find something to their liking.

Peter and Suzanne are also so friendly and ready to recommend an attraction to see or restaurant to try.

Overall a 5 star stay!

Room Tip: For a family choose the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Sometimes a B&B or hotel is one of the highlights of your trip and our stay at Lurline House certainly falls into that category. It's such an attractive property; the house is beautiful and has superb furniture. It fits into the area perfectly. I love that you can have breakfast at a cosy table with a tidy little garden and fountain providing a wonderful background just outside the window. I also love that you can relax at the B&B either inside the delightful rooms or in the well laid out shared areas. Breakfast was simply outstanding with a great range of delicious food and plenty of it! The hosts and staff would also talk to you about the day ahead which was useful because they have plenty of good ideas and tips. The service at Lurline House is textbook. The hosts and their staff are friendly and helpful without being at all invasive. And for the prices we paid, we certainly thought Lurline House was excellent value. The rooms (and the rest of the property) are simply spotless. All the little things in the rooms are nice, like the table you could sit at to have your tea or coffee (and there is plenty of tea and coffee provided... along with biscuits and chocolate). The only area I can't give a 5 in is sleep quality. It is possible to hear noise from other rooms, particularly from televisions. I don't think much can be done about it but it's not too bad and certainly not bad enough that it should put anyone off from booking Lurline House. Finally, this B&B has a perfect location. It is a short walk to both Katoomba's main street and Echo Point (where you can see The Three Sisters). I will certainly stay there again if I return to the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus_PM_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just spent two nights at Lurline, again. This is our second visit, this time with six friends. We already knew how good it is and now our friends agree. Peter and Suzanne are the perfect hosts, they know exactly how to treat guests, extremely friendly but not overpowering.
The breakfast is superb, no need for lunch. A great couple of nights away, a win by "The Blues," heaven.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter, unless you want a spa room the standard rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
858 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lurline House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lurline House

Property: Lurline House
Address: 122 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lurline House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lurline House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lurline House Hotel Katoomba
Lurline House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing