We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hospitality!”
Review of Lurline House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lurline House
Ranked #2 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Perfect hospitality!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

It is a cosy and beautiful old-fashioned house but with all the modern day comforts of free wifi, dvd player (with a big library of dvds to borrow) and a bathroom jacuzzi. It is also well situated as it is within walking distance of both the town centre and the main Katoomba attractions.

We were extremely impressed by the service! The staff were very friendly, professional and attentive. When they learned that my husband and I had arrived in Katoomba by train, actually offered to personally drive us to the station at the end of our stay so we "wouldn't have to carry (our) luggage the entire way."

The breakfast was also delicious!!

Room Tip: For couples wanting a romantic getaway, it is worth paying a little extra to get one of the deluxe s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Wellses_at_Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    68
    9
    0
    7
See reviews for
69
492
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Recently we had the pleasure of staying at Lurline House. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. Peter and Suzanne were excellent hosts. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulld0g3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We flew over to Sydney on Easter weekend for a quick tour of The Blue Mountains, we decided to spurge out a bit more to stay at Lurline House as having read some of the reviews on trip advisor. Well we were not disappointed, from the time we got there to the time we left it was an absolute pleasure! We had the room next to the breakfast room and it was delightful, four poster bed, spa bath with all the little extra's (choclotates on the bed), coffee,tea with little packets of biscuits. And the room was very spotless. We were greeted with a hot pot of coffee and hot cross buns. They sincerely inquired what our plans were to make sure we had breakfast on time during our stay, to guide with any extra helpful hints or places to see. The house is positioned wonderfully, walking distance to the Three Sisters lookout, town and not much futher to Katoomba Falls and then onto Scenic World.
Breakfast was superb, with fresh fruit and cereals to a cooked breakfast to order with non stop coffee or tea. Their hospitally was generous and genuine - we couldn't have asked for anything more!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBarrsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

It was very homely place to stay, Peter was excellent and welcoming. Beautiful room with garden, we arrived late in night, and didn't have problem to check in late. Absolutely loved everything about it.

Room Tip: Upstair room will have more privacy....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hondas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I couldn't fault this place in any way. From the moment we entered Lurline House we were greeted by Peter who was extremely friendly. He checked us in and gave us a lot of information on th elocal area and various walks available. The room was lovely and homely and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was also delcious. I would highly recomment staying here, however book well in advance as it is also very popular!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkE82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This B&B is decorated beautifully, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. Peter and Suzanne are wonderful hosts made us feel like house guests. There was a very good breakfast cooked to order. Peter provided directions and suggestions for touring. First class!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a special place. The owners were very hospitable and helpful. The location is excellent for exploring Blackheath, Katoomba, the Jenolan Caves, and other parts of the Blue Mountains. Katoomba is a quirky town. Lots of cafes, a few good restaurants. Compared to the prices we paid in other parts of Australia, this is a bargain.
The downstairs lounge was convenient for groups (although we were alone and didn't need that). Our room was as comfortable as it could have been. A/C if it was hot. Radiator if it was cold. Comfortable bed.Very nice bathroom. Free WiFi. Marvelous breakfasts. We watched beautiful cockatoos roosting in the tree branches outside the breakfast room as we ate our pancakes. Quite a sight!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
915 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
0.4 mi away
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lurline House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lurline House

Property: Lurline House
Address: 122 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lurline House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lurline House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lurline House Hotel Katoomba
Lurline House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing