We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First choice for B&B accommodation in Katoomba”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lurline House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lurline House
Ranked #2 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“First choice for B&B accommodation in Katoomba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

A real gem of a B&B. With really nice touches like welcome afternoon tea and cake, great collection of walking guides and my fav, a decanter of port to accompany your evening planning for the next day!
Perfect location off the main street, quiet but close enough to walk in to town for dinner. Plus you can walk 10min down to the three sisters lookout which is lit up till 10 at night.
Breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice, room we had was well made up, clean and had everything we needed (inc hair dryer).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk_explorerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    66
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
68
474
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We have stayed in the blue mountains on several occasions but keep finding our way back to Lurline. Great location amazing breakfast lovely rooms very friendly and generous hosts. We hope to find our way back to Lurline in the future. A big thankyou to Peter and all the team :)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Lurline House for one night. I booked it because I found a good deal on wotif, and it was close to where we needed to meet in the morning for the canyoning trip we were booked into.

When we arrived we were greeted by Peter, who set up afternoon tea for us in the living room while we were putting our bags in our room. Our room was lovely, with a four-poster bed, modern bathroom, and access to the balcony at the front of the house.

A 5-10 minute walk took us to the lookout where you can see the Three Sisters and a fantastic view of the mountains. The same distance in the other direction took us into the centre of town.

In the morning we had a wonderful hot breakfast cooked to order by Peter, and there was a huge selection of self-serve fruit and cereal. They even offered to drive us into town where we needed to meet up for our canyoning trip.

I would definitely recommend staying here, and I will definitely stay here next time I'm in Katoomba!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4m13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Everything about this bed and breakfast hotel was excellent, from the breakfasts through to the attention to detail, Peter and his wife had made our visit to the blue mountains special.the location is fabulous for walking access to the seven sisters.
We took two rooms with four poster beds and enjoyed luxurious comfort after days exploring the local shopping in Leura and the fabulous choice of surrounding restaurants this location has to offer.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pablouno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This place definitely lived up to its positive reviews. The owners were very helpful with directions and ideas for outings and restaurants. The room was comfy and tastefully decorated. We were on the 1st flr by the staircase. The only very minor oddity was a sofa bed which seemed not to fit the scale of the room. The TV is very small, but truthfully who would turn on a TV in this beautiful setting. Our room had a small patio accessible by private door.
We were warmly greeted and another plus was the very short walk from car park to room which is a great when you are only staying 1-2 nights. We were offered a wonderful tea the afternoon we arrived with tea for me and coffee for my wife. and 2 types of pastries. Yumm!
Breakfast was served nicely with a few choices. I recommend the full English style breakfast over the French toast which while served with real Canadien maple syrup were a little paltry & limp.
One evening we did have a delay in accessing the car park as the driveway is very narrow and the owner's dinner guests were blocking the way. This was resolved without a problem by parking on the street (plenty of space) and later moving into the car park.

Overall our stay was great and my complaints very minor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Lurline House, it was evident that Peter, the host, is very experienced at providing first class hospitality. We were helped with our luggage and welcomed with a hot drink & cake.

Whilst we had few requests, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was well equipped, clean and comfortable. The cooked breakfast was hearty, and made to order. There was also a good selection of fresh fruit, cereal and juice.

Unsure of what to see during our 2 night stay, Peter informed us of several scenic walks that would suit. There are also a good selection of guide books / tourist information in the lounge, along with newspapers and magazines.

Peter and his wife did a fantastic job of making our stay in The Blue Mountains truely wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huffington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

From the initial welcome to the final departure, the host and hostess of this wonderful B&B could not have been more helpful. The breakfasts cooked by Peter are an absolute treat and the helpful advice from him and his wife really did make our stay here extra special.

Many of the 'must do' sights are within walking distance and we found Katoomba in general and Lurline house in particular to be the most perfect base. Its only a short walk to the town which has bags of charm and plenty of eating options - all of which were reasonably priced. The two antique Emporiums are also open late, so they provided a welcome browsing opportunity on the way home.

We stayed for 3 nights and wished it had been longer. Lurline House is one of theose places that readily convinces you that an excellent B&B is far superior to any Hotel. Highly recommended. Peter (and your wife of course) - you are a credit to the Hospitality Management industry - many thanks again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanRemains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.5 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lurline House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lurline House

Property: Lurline House
Address: 122 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lurline House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lurline House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lurline House Hotel Katoomba
Lurline House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing