We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Old Lodge-Avoid the Restaurant...”
Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed January 18, 2010

The rooms are incredibly big & nicely appointed. The staff are very helpful. The view from the lodge is fantastic.

We stayed here for 2 days (Jan., 2010). It was enjoyable except for our dinner on the second night.

Dinner: The service was incredibly slow (approx. 50 mins. to be served after waiting 20 mins. to have our order taken. The portions are very small while the bill is very big. Very expensive for the food that you get. This could be excused if the meal were tasty, but it was not. Stay at the lodge, avoid the restaurant for lunch or dinner. The breakfast, on the other hand, was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jccarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 596 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2009

Located top of the hill most rooms offer great visibility over Blue Mountains, really enjoyed! Whole building gives strong impression of old days, lovely atmosphere and still everything modern working.
There is lot of space to discuss and have good time with friends, lovely coaches and chairs. So if not going to Katoomba main street pubs you still have alternative to staying rooms.
At restaurant service was full of mistakes and odd behaviour but kitchen knows what they are doing. This happened both evening meal and breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ettelbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I recently spent some time in the Blue Mountains, which included a stay at the Mountain Heritage Hotel. I love this hotel! A hundred years old with so much beauty to offer. Old world charm is a fitting analogy inside and out. I could only imagine the stories it could tell! Yes there are spots that look a little worn out and weathered(too few to notice), but who cares if there is a small stain on the carpet(it wouldn't ruin my vacation or get me to write a bad review). Enjoy the hotel for what it is - a piece of history. I spent the better part of an hour just looking at old pictures in hotel hallway, a century of ever-changing nearby landscape, buildings, horse "n" buggy, etc. The new and improved staff were friendly and helpful. I had the pleasure of meeting the new general manager- Justin. He was friendly and knowledgeable about the area. He seemed genuinely interested in helping make our entire Blue Mountain experience the best it could be. Also had the chance to dine in the restaurant. Where the food was Very good and the view second to none. It was completely breath taking and relaxing to watch the sunset with a glass of wine from the front terrace. I definitely would stay again, if not just for dinner and a sunset.
Thank you for a memorable time!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Just got back from Katoomba,Blue mountains where we stayed at the Mountain Heritage.We a family of 2adults n 3 kids for the Yulefest package where we paid Aus$1400 for 2 nights in the Valley view suite 2.

Our main bedroom had single 2 beds joined together to create a double bed !

The air-conditioning unit was clicking n knocking noisily and in the still of the night was even more audible,we had very little sleep the 1st night!
The second night we elected to have it turn off.

The shower taps were leaking and the carpets in the bedroom were stained.

As you can understand we won't be rushing back to the overpriced , tired , old hotel that is the Mountain Heritage.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Mountain Heritage. What made our trip so special was definately the staff and the effort they made to make us feel at home. As is expected with a Heritage Hotel, the decor was dated and a few dollars spent on improvements without altering the character and history of the Hotel would not go amiss. We had many opportunities to chat to the new GM, Justin and his wife Colleen, both of whom are obviously passionate about the hotel, something you don't often get in large Chain Hotels. Justin shared his vision with us and I am sure all the hard work he is putting in will result in many more travellers enjoying the hotel as much as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logans_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for one night recently; it was the only room that seemed available in the mountains.

The outside and location of the hotel were perfect it had lovely gardens and was well maintained the lady who greeted me at the front desk was warm and helpful.
The atmosphere of the shared areas of the hotel was one of cozy old world charm and was very relaxing with wonderful views from the sitting and dining rooms.

Unfortunately the condition of our room was pretty poor, although very clean, there carpet was very worn the bed was sagging and all the cushions and throw pillows were flat and pilled,

The sofa in the room was torn and ripped (see photo) and quite grubby, the spare pillows in the wardrobe had lipstick and something that looked like blood on them.

Another point was the cistern of the toilet was constantly running forcing us to turn the tap off.

All in all the hotel was very nice but simple things like updated linen a cover for the sofa and attention to detail would be nice, would not stay here again as for the same cost we could have stayed at a higher standard hotel in the same area.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERKO30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Before we booked the Mountain Heritage Hotel, we read some reviews from fellow TripAdvisor members - some were good, some not so good. We came home delighted with the decision to have stayed at the Mountain Heritage Hotel in Katoomba.

There's no denying its scenic location - the views across the blended Katoomba-Leura townships and the Jamieson Valley are beautiful and relaxing, no matter the weather. We experienced rain, fog, mist and brilliant autumn sunshine during our three day stay; the rain didn't stop us getting out and exploring. (That was the day we drove over to Jenolan Caves anyway, so who cares if it was raining while we went underground in this absolutely amazing cave system.)

It's a very easy 10 minute walk from the hotel into Katoomba if you want to shop or eat out, but the hotel's restaurant is also excellent and we very much enjoyed the dinner and three breakfasts we had there. We choose to eat out the other two nights, finding two great cheap and cheerful local places to enjoy for a change of pace.

I love hotels with history and the Mountain Heritage Hotel certainly has plenty of that. Now over 100 years old, it used to be called The California and we enjoyed looking at the great array of photos lining the hallways and reading about the hotel's many years.

And although it is old, it certainly wasn't grotty or neglected as is sometimes sadly the case. We had the fortune to share a drink with the hotel's relatively new General Manager and he told us about multi-million dollar renovations in recent years. He is continuing with updates to room interiors and we certainly had no issues with the quality of our room, its views or its facilities.

One thing that impressed - it's scrupulously clean thoroughout. And warm! Heaters and fires greeted us after a long, wet drive the 'long way round' (we headed out of Sydney to the northern part of the Blue Mountains towards Lithgow, then around to Katoomba). A restorative glass of wine by the fire with pleasant and unobtrusive service made a most welcome change after three busy days in Darling Harbour.

Thinking about some of the TripAdvisor reviews, I wonder about some people's expectations of a heritage hotel. They are old, but if well looked after they have a charm and a sense of history no modern hotel can ever recreate. If I was being picky, I would also say that the Mountain Heritage isn't perfect, but it's very, very good. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The hotel staff were always pleasant, our room super clean and warm and it provided an excellent base for our three days of exploration in the Blue Mountains.

We would love to go back and enjoy a winter Yule Fest weekend - they sound fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
3.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: $107 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing