We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time”
Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Step back in time”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed for the weekend August 2014. Peaceful and old charm was refreshing. Staff were amazing and professional. We had a Balcony fire place room. Very nice. Bed was confortable but furnishings a little old.
I had a 6 hour spa treatment at Sublime. It was amazing! Standard of many international spas. 5/5!
Food was very ordinay. Un remakable.

Room Tip: I always need a balcony room as Im a smoker. But get a fire place room. Balcony very average, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Family Travler_8
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is indeed pleasing you enjoyed the peace and charm of our 106 year old mountain mansion, and your spa fireplace room with balcony.
Our on-site day spa is indeed amazing and very popular, and well worth the indulgence.
I am sorry our food did not meet your expectations, and I hope this did not reduce the level of satisfaction for your stay.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Regards
Eric Sward
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    237
    104
    41
    26
See reviews for
99
343
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel in Katoomba was an excellent place to stay. I went for a weekend only but totally enjoyed the old world charm from the decor and furnishings to the friendly staff. Being winter I found the room warm and cosy and quiet. Loved the wonderful view from the dining room and terrace. True mountain landscape. Great lounge rooms with open fires. Sit and read a book by the fire. The dinner in the dining room was very good. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Sally G
Thank you for providing your wonderful review.
We are pleased you enjoyed our restaurant , your room, our great lounges and fires, and the old world charm of our 106 year old mountain retreat.
We hope you will come back and stay with us again when next you visit the beautiful Blue Mountains.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

With a group of 13 we spent a very enjoyable 2 nights at The Mountain Heritage 11-12th July. Our room was ready on check-in and was very nice, clean and warm. We had a deluxe double, which was on the ground floor, so the view of the valley was limited, but it was cheaper than the rooms upstairs with the view. In any event, the room was a good size, very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was also clean, and of a good size. The positive of being on the ground floor meant we didn't have to tote our bags up the steep stairs. Reception staff were courteous, and sorted without fuss the problem we had in relation to our room being taken by someone else!

The restaurant and sitting areas are very comfortable, with open fires in the sitting areas. Very pleasant. Breakfast was the standard hot & cold buffet, but well presented and plentiful. Scrambled eggs were the standard offering, but you can order eggs as you like them (poached etc.). The serving staff are excellent - very polite and attentive, without being obtrusive. The Yulefest dinner on Saturday night was exceptional - 4 courses, followed by port & mince pies in the library or sitting areas. Entertainment was provided by a four person singing group doing Christmas songs, as well as a visit from Santa Claus, which the kids present loved, and they were given gifts as well. Photos also came with the package - an excellent addition.

Overall an above average weekend. We enjoyed ourselves very much. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upper level South east corner rooms have a terrific view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonman106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Dragonman106,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your 2 night Yulefest weekend stay with us.
We love catering for groups, and as you know, it makes for a great relaxing fun night for friends to get into the spirit of our Yulefest festival.
We hope you and your group will join us again next year.
Once again, thank you very much for your very positive feedback.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We attended as a group last weekend , the package was good, rooms were warm and comfortable, log fires roaring, staff were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble.
Check in was efficient , all professionally handled

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Michael V
It is wonderful to hear you and your group enjoyed our premier event, Yulefest last weekend.
We appreciate your positive comments, I will certainly share them with our staff.
We hope you will join us again next year in our 35th year of presenting our Yulefest celebration in the the beautiful Blue Mountains.
Once again, thank you for your comments.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Mountain Heritage. When I rang to book I asked for the room that we had stayed in previously, I was told that the floor we had previously stayed on was booked out. As I had waited till the day before we travelled to book I completely understood but we were very pleasantly surprised on arrival to be given the room beside our previous room and chocolates and a welcome back note were waiting for us. The staff once again were very pleasant and everything was spotless. The close proximity to the main street is wonderful and the views are spectacular. I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Jennifer Z
We are always delighted to welcome back guests who have stayed with us previously, you are like gold to us.
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are really happy you enjoyed your return visit, and we trust there will be many more.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Couldn't of asked for any better. Suited us perfectly in every way. Clean rooms and great location with helpful staff. Would stay there again when in the area. Loved the ambience and old world charm. The perfect romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK6669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear SK6669
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
We are always delighted to receive such positive comments.
It is very pleasing you enjoyed your stay with us including the ambience and old world charm of our 106 year old mountain mansion.
We hope you will return and stay with us again.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2014

On a cold clear mountain day, we arrived at the Mountain Heritage, delighted by our room that commanded views over the spectacular Jamison Valley. It was tastefully decorated in the heritage style, and everything was very clean. Windows could be opened to let the fresh air in, and a quiet air conditioner ensured the room was adequately heated. Being just a short walk to the main centre of Katoomba, meant we could walk for dinner in the brisk mountain air, arriving home afterwards to our warm and cosy room. The continental breakfast in the dining room was tasty and made all the more enjoyable because of the spectacular views from the tables. At all times we experienced friendly and helpful service. We are looking forward to our next anniversary!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annabel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Annabel D
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is very pleasing to receive such positive feedback and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at our historic mountain retreat.
We hope you will come back and stay with us again when next you travel to the beautiful blue mountains.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
914 reviews
1.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
3.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
5.3 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Property: Mountain Heritage
Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing