We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, good value, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful, good value, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed here 6 years ago and again in May 2014. It is really diificult to find nice affordable accomadation in the Blue Mountains but for both times I stayed here it as been an exceklent choice. The hotel is beautiful and we were upgraded to a mountain view room, which had amazing views over the mountains and I would actually pay to secure this room if I was going to stay again for special occasion. The room seemed like it had been fairlg recently refurbished and the electric blankets and heating were great for a cold weekend. There was no lift but the staff were really friendly and did offer to help with our bags. The staires were only really problematic for my partner who had just completed the 100k Wilderness walk through the blue Mountains! Otherwise it is loveky old winding staircase from the lounge with open log fire up to the rooms. Continental breakfast was included and was fine for us as we wanted a nice big lunch, otherwise for a small fee you coukd have a cooked breakfast. Few minutes walk into town, and if you are coming from the train station there is a path the whole way, less than 5 min walk. I woukd definately stay here again. Previously we have stayed in B&B that have been tired and run down. We looked to stay at one of the resorts but these are twice the price, breakfast is not included and they are not walking distance to the town for dinner at night. We stayed on a Sunday and the restaurant was closed, butotherwise this is also suppose to be very nice with the same beautiful view overthe mountains that we had from our room. My only negative comment was that in the evening the water was only luke warm in our shower despite leaving it running for a while. This was not a problem in the morning and I never called reception about it so in fairness to them maybe it was easily fixed.

Room Tip: Mountain view room is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniveve200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Jenniveve200
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is always pleasing to be able to share such positive comments with our staff.
The views are indeed amazing. and our location is certainly private, but within a short stroll of the main street of Katoomba, and all it has to offer.
We did have a minor teething problem with our new water heating system maintaining temperature, but when we detected this, we were able to correct it immediately.
Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    229
    101
    41
    24
See reviews for
96
327
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The building is amazing - go light on luggage as there are lots of stairs.
Restaurant a must - food beautiful.
Breakfast is average - cold meat looked like they had passed there use by date.
Worth a visit

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view - you don't want to be stuck at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Summer200955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Summer200955
Thank you for your review,
It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay, and your dinner in our Jamison Views Restaurant.
Please be assured the cold meats served are fresh and definitely not past their use-by date.
I trust you enjoyed the rest of the breakfast buffet offerings.
Yes it is good advice to book a "view room", notwithstanding the views are equally enjoyable from our lounge, cocktail bar and restaurant.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Wonderful relaxing weekend at the Mountain Heritage in Katoomba.

Comfortable room, relaxed vibe and pleasant people. Was fun on Friday night, with the piano playing, a wedding and various celebrations... good fun and lovely fire etc., It was cold and pouring with rain, so being inside with such a convivial crowd was great. Altogether an old style comfy vibe

However, make sure you don't stay on a Sunday night as we did, as the whole place shuts down and you are left (if the weather is inclement) forlornly gazing out of the window.... The view is wonderful, but no food, not even a packet of nuts! The snacks in our room weren't replenished so we couldn't retreat there either.

The room was good though, with a spa bath and comfy bed!

Room Tip: Rooms are all of a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Liz W
Thank you for your comments. It is pleasing you enjoyed your long weekend stay with us.
Yes we did indeed have a very busy time with many events, and a well patronised restaurant on both Friday & Saturday. Our resident pianist Alan Johnson certainly adds to the relaxing but fun atmosphere. Sometimes when business slows, we take the opportunity to give the staff a rest, and close the restaurant, as we did on the Sunday evening.
I apologise that the snacks in your room were not replenished, please be assured this is not typical of our service. We hope this will not deter you from staying with us again, when next you travel to the beautiful blue mountains.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Building was amazing, loved the fireplaces and the general feel of it.
Disappointments;
• seeing a shower curtain in the bathroom when it had clearly been renovated not that long ago
• TV not working - had to call 3 times for someone to come and fix it
• not advised at checkin that we had a complimentary breakfast on the second night of our stay, it didn't appear on our copy of the booking details and we didn't find out til checkout when they listed it on our bill - when we explained we didn't realise it was included we were told, oh well, it really is built in to the cost of the accommodation you would have paid that much regardless. The breakfast for 2 was valued at $80

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TV2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear TV2011
Thank you for your review.
Firstly let me apologise for the tardy response by our maintenance staff to re-tune the TV in your room, which was a rather busy night for us.
Most of our rooms do have shower curtains rather than glass, but we do have some suites with separate glassed showers, which would perhaps suit you better, so please ask for one of these, should you wish to stay with us again.
I also wish to apologise for the confusion around the breakfast, and the fact that our receptionist did not make this clear during check-in. Because you paid a higher rate for the second night of your stay, we decided to include a complimentary breakfast (which is why it did not appear on your booking), how ever it seems this was not made clear to you when you arrived. The $80 amount you noticed on your account was the balance of your account at that time, although having checked this I see it is not completely clear as it appears next to the complimentary breakfast notation.
It is pleasing you enjoyed our building and the feel of our wonderful mountain mansion, and the warming open fireplaces. It is disappointing we fell short in a couple of aspects of our service, and I hope you will return and give us another chance to make it right.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Although a little bit expensive, it really is a lovely hotel, perfect for a weekend getaway. Loved the fireplaces downstairs too with views looking out over the valley. Only small issue is the spa, a little bit old/not fully functioning. But apart from that, highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dschrafft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Dschrafft
Thank you for your wonderful review, it is indeed pleasing you enjoyed the many aspects of your stay with us.
I am a little intrigued by your comment regarding the spa in your room. We tested it and it is fully functioning, and I am wondering if the water jet settings may have been turned to low during your stay? I would be pleased to discuss this further with you should you wish to, and have the time to call me direct at the Hotel.
Once again, thank you for for taking the time to provide us with your comments.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great spot, we stayed in one of the Valley View Suites. Separate to the main hotel, own parking which was great. Very spacious suite, own balcony, lounge room, fully equipped kitchenette, very very comfy bed, great night's sleep. There were a few little things that would have lifted our time there to the next level, given the amount we spent for our time away, but I have e-mailed the hotel direct to provide this feedback.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binny111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Binny 111
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
It is pleasing you enjoyed your stay in one of our quite special Valley View Suites.
I am intrigued by your additional comments, and I don't appear to have received an additional email, so I would be very pleased if you could call me direct at the Mountain Heritage so we can chat about your suggestions.
Many thanks once again for your comments.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

So yes, the hotel is a bit expensive. But it was such a great experience.
Yes the hotel can seem a little bit old school on some comfort, but so genuine.
This is why we love it so much. The decor, the furniture, the garden, everything here is genuine and makes you live at the Blue Mountains rhythm.
The staff is absolutely lovely and will help you getting the best of your stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qlemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear qlemarie
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at our unique mountain mansion.
I will share your feedback with our staff who also take great pride in helping make our guests stay a very positive one.
Once again, thank you for your comments, and we hope you will visit us again.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
1.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
3.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
5.3 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Property: Mountain Heritage
Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing