We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Cosy Atmosphere”
Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm, Cosy Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Have stayed in this place twice and wouldn't mind staying again on my next trip to the Blue Mountains. Hotel is lovely, opposite to modern, it is very homy, Restaurant with pleasant ambiance and view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misheeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mishee M
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We also, would love to welcome you back when next you travel to the Blue Mountains.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    237
    104
    41
    26
See reviews for
99
345
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed there two nights.
Great location especially when having breakfast, you can have the view over the mountain.
However the room was not serviced when we came back second night! Used towels were in the bath tub with no replacement. The toothbrush we brought were binned. Bed was not done at all. We had to go to the reception asking for clean towels and shower gels. We didn't ask for a change of room as too tired.
The room was quite noisy as you can clearly hear the foot steps upstairs.
A great or terrible experience would make me want to write a review and this one was terrible!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeyang13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Mikeyang 13
Thank you for your feedback.
I am following up on your comments, it seems our housekeeping has made an error in not servicing your room.
Please accept our apology for this unfortunate mistake.
I would love to discuss this with you and will call you direct on the number you gave us.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very elegant and quite hotel even the day we checked in was fully-booked. The staffs are polite and well-trained. The room is well-decorated with old vintage style. Love the backyard garden and lobby of the hotel especially.

Room Tip: Rooms with view and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tchang012000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear tchang012000
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, our staff and your room.
I will certainly share your comments with our team who will be very pleased to hear such positive feedback.
We hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed overnight in the middle of Autumn and were bowled over by the view of the blue mountains. Perched on top of a hill, rooms on one side of the hotel have enviable views of the mountains. Unfortunately, our deal involved us staying on the other side, where there was no view at all. On the first floor, where the rooms are, the floorboards are such that movement in other rooms could be felt/heard by us in our room. Overall, the place feels old. This could have been intentional, but the faint smell of mould betrays the hotel's age. Even while the views on the veranda are excellent, more could be done with the parking area (divided into several open spaces) and the outside fountain (where a cistern-like device to control water flow could be seen above the water). No complaints with our dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. The food was first class and the service was impeccable, as expected of a 4.5 star hotel. All in all a not bad overnight stay.

Room Tip: The extra cost of selecting a room with a view of the Blue Mountains is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Jujie A
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and you found our restaurant dinner & service first class and impeccable.
Yes indeed, the view over the Jamison Valley is something special, and we agree the extra cost of a room at the front of the building, overlooking the valley is well worth it, even though the same views are available from the guest lounge, cocktail bar, restaurant and the outside verandahs.
We are of course an old (106 years) building, still operating as a Guest House, for which we were originally built, and maintaining the look & feel is a challenge at times.
Thank you for your feedback on the car park(s) we will have a look at how we can improve these, although we have deliberately avoided making the parking bays too stringent, as we have many different/oversized vehicles stay from time to time.
Once again, thank you for your comments, we do appreciate your constructive feedback.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Nice hotel, with that old vintage feel, but with modern commodities.
Nice staff. Pleasing overall, but a bit stuffy in some corners, that show it's age, with some lack of maintenance.
A shame, because it really gives you a true heritage experience, with nice staff to go with.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jnmarinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear jnmarinho,
Thank you for review. It is pleasing you liked our 106 years old mountain retreat and the nice staff
who really make a difference for us.
We do maintain a full schedule of maintenance, which you may appreciate is quite extensive in our historic building, and I trust there was not something that detracted from the level of satisfaction of your stay with us. I would be pleased to hear from you direct if you wish to do so regarding any item that was of concern to you.
Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your comments.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Came here for a weekend getaway from Sydney. Went home feeling refreshed and relaxed. We got a free upgrade to the Spa room with the view, the whole place was retro but in a stylish way. It was really clean. I felt like I was transported back to the late 1950s as Roger Sterling from the show Mad Men

The restaurant called Jamisons downstairs was really good, it was reasonably priced but served delicious and well presented food, much better than your average cafe/bistro but not that much more expensive. We had a 3 course dinner and a hot buffet breakfast there.

By far the highlight of this place was the staff. I've never been to a hotel (especially in Australia) where all the service staff were so courteous and had such a good attitude. I've been recommending this place to all my friends and family and I will be back.

Room Tip: Spa room with the view - it's huge and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Eddy C
We are delighted you had a great time with us.
I will certainly share your comments with our wonderful staff and especially our Jamison Views restaurant staff and Chefs who will be very pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and service with us.Your comments are like gold to us and we are grateful you took the time to provide them.
Many thanks once again, and we hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed in Katoomba on an art retreat over a weekend. The hotel smelt very musty. Our room on ground floor near car park was very noisy in the night. It sounded like someone was vacuum cleaning at 2 am. Possibly old bathroom taps were shuddering when turned on. The location is great and fantastic views, so it is a pity they don't do more to capitalize on this. Katoomba in General is very expensive... A tourist trap

Room Tip: Top floor with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JenBear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear JenBear2
Thank you for your feedback.
We are pleased you enjoyed the view and location of our retreat.
I am curious about the noise that occurred at 2am and would be pleased if you could contact me direct so we can try and trace the source.
I trust you will consider us again when next you visit the beautiful blue Mountains.
Once again, thank you for your comments.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
917 reviews
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
1.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
3.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
5.3 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Property: Mountain Heritage
Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing