We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel”
Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Quality hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here very much (and have stayed several times before). It's a good quality hotel with very well-appointed rooms, a good restaurant and some of the most fantastic views of the Jamison Valley from the common rooms and bar. In winter the open fires are lit and there's a beautiful atmosphere. The only downside is that, lovely as it is, it's a little overpriced for what you get, especially the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    238
    104
    43
    26
See reviews for
99
348
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I booked this hotel for a romantic luxury night away with my partner in a 4.5 star "heritage" hotel. This description is very misleading because the hotel has very little original features left and was refurbished in the 90's to give a heritage look and feel. Our room was a fireplace spa suite which smelt of air freshener so badly we instantly began to get headaches and was also very pokey with one window which looked onto a wall. The bathroom wasn't what we expected from a 4.5 star heritage hotel, it looked like an average domestic bathroom and the fireplace was gas operated with a repro surround. I instantly decided to see if we could move to another room. The concierge was faboulous and offered a change of room straight away. The new room was much better, larger with more windows and on on a corner with a view of treetops on one side and the car park on the other (at least not a wall). There were no robes or slippers, luxury bath products, or herbal tea's in the room and very thin sheets on the bed. The main area's in the hotel were decorated with large bunches of artificial native flowers. Breakfast was buffet style and cold by the time we got to it at 7:30am and no soy milk on offer, however the waiter happily provided it for me once i asked. This is not what we have experienced in the past when booking a 4.5 star hotel.

Overall the hotel was clean and tidy and staff were lovely and very attentive. I guess our main gripe with the hotel was the 4.5 star rating, the "heritage" claims and overall the price. There is no way this hotel is 4.5 star,its either a play on words at best or totally untrue at worst. This hotel should be rated 3 star and much cheaper. The star rating and price really raised our expectations which lead to our disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank birdienumnums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Birdienumnums

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that our receptionist assisted you into another room that you thought was much larger but in fact that room is exactly the same size as the one you were in. The only difference is that the second room has two windows and not one large one like the first room you went to.
Those exact rooms were inspected by AAA Star Rating in December 2011 who advised us that we had maintained our 4.5 star rating. Having stayed in many Hotels throughout Asia and Australia our rooms are quite large by comparison.
I am not sure why your breakfast was cold in the morning because we open at 0730 hrs and the food temperature was just checked (using food thermometers) prior to our guest's arrival. The temperature (which is recorded as part of our Food Safety requirements) is taken every 15 minutes.
If you check other hotels in the mountains that are of a similar standard to ours you will find that our rates are always more competitive than theirs.

Thank you and kind regards
Roger Sargison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

After reading several reviews really didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised on arriving at, our Heritage room. The room was spacious, very clean and although on the side of the building our room was sunny and had a filtered view of the mountains. We found the breafast to be very satisfying and loved the fact that we could walk to the main street of Katoomba. We plan to stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Went there with my two 20 yr old daughters for a bond two days. In family room for the first night. Had to change rooms for the second to small inadequate room for second night, third bed was sofa which was okay if one was a small child, occupant ended up sleeping on the floor; too uncomfortable to sleep on aforesaid sofa bed. Dinner was same price as nearby and excellent Silks at Leura, but the comparison ended at the price, the value being poor, food was okay, service was poor,uncoordinated, understaffed and waiters in a tizz, needing to be reminded of one's order. The background music was Michael Buble(?) all the time, one album of hits. Breakfast cost $19, and awful. The warmers were not supervised, hence the bacon, scrambled eggs, beans were cold by the time one git to the plate to the table. The automatic toast machine was slow and unsupervised. The same Buble tape played at breakfast again, was there all the time.even when I checked out at 11am on Saturday, commenting to the concierge about it, gaining the reply, "Oh is it?" I replied, "The same tape has been on since we arrived tow days ago, I used to like Michael Buble!"
Generally, the hotel is understaffed and under-supervised, no obvious management. Perhaps the icing not on the cake was being overcharged on check out to the tune of $180 which was rectified on my challenge. Bad taste in the mouth from experience. Only plus was the potential views which were not given to us although there were such rooms empty during our stay. For some reason the staff gave us cloistered rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rabbitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Rabbitto,

Thank you for your feedback. Firstly I must point out that your accommodation was booked in advance by yourself, so you were aware that there was going to be a room change on your second night (with an additional charge for the larger room on the first night). I am not sure why you decided to choose that lesser priced room for yourself and your adult daughters because it really isn't adequate for 3 adults. The additional amount you were charged on checkout was correct, as it was for the larger room on the first night of your stay. You were refunded on checkout by our receptionist (not Concierge) when in actual fact the charges were correct as per your advanced booking information.
I was at dinner on the night you dined and was not aware that there were any problems with service, in fact we received some very positive feedback on that evening from other guests who dined. The Buble tape playing was at the request of the small conference group that were staying in house and consequently that is why it was playing again at breakfast.
During breakfast (again I was dining there) the temperatures of the food are checked regularly (with a food thermometer) to ensure that they are at the correct temperature as per our health safety requirements so I am not sure why your food would have been cold.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and yes we do have larger rooms with views but they are priced accordingly but where possible we do try and upgrade guests if these rooms are available which they weren't during your stay.

Thank you and Kind regards
Roger Sargison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful with great knowledge of the surrounding areas. The room (18) a spa and fire place suite was spacious with a warm gas fire, stronghot spa but with no view. The windows looked out upon the neighbouring buildings roof.
Room service was quick but the food was a little dissapointing. Mini Bar prices were out of this world, not that we ever use them.
At night they have a painist playing down in the bar which gives off a great vibe and warm atmsphere infront of the open fire place,
The hotel has been running since the 1880's I believe and if the service stays the way it is now, it'll continue for anothr 100 years!
Worth a pop in for a drink, even if yo dont stay, especially in the colder months!

Room Tip: Spa and Fireplace rooms are a must in the colder months!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRyanPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Enjoyed staying for one night, it's charming and gives you a bit of a feel for the history of the region. Restaurant food is not that great but the good service and surroundings make up for it. It's a place to stay inside and enjoy the hotel itself.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noisha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel. It is an older style hotel with lovely heritage featurees, although it is in need of a lick of paint and basic maintenance. There are 2 fireplaces that you can sit and relax by, and a piano man that plays on a Saturday night. They douse the fireplaces around 10:30 so you cant sit up with a nightcap unless you get one of the rooms with your own fireplace. The resturaunt has lovely views over a valley. Didnt eat there for dinner. Breakfast was awful. Very stale and unappetising. Had the usual fruit, cereal, scrambled eggs etc. Would rather go to one of the local cafes. The rooms are very large with bed, lounge, and desk. The bathrooms are also quite big. The beds are comfy. THis hotel is the birthplace of CHristmas in July in The Blue Mountains and they hold a Yulefest each year. I havent been but a friend has and they thoroughly enjoyed themselves and are going back. Overall, this is a comfortable hotel with lots of nice features. Not 5 star but I would go back.

Room Tip: Te hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren but all rooms have close access to car park. If you want that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Property: Mountain Heritage
Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing