We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Heritage Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Katoomba Town Centre
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Heritage Hotel!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We booked a family suite which was very spacious with good heating system, 3 heaters in our room! The bedding was comfortable and clean and towels were changed daily. Great toilet facilities with plentiful of toiletries which were being replenished every day.

Good lighting in the room, especially the bathroom where there is a spotlight kind of light which can keep one warm during shower in winter months. Never come across such light in those hotels I had stayed through my years of travel. There's even a jacuzzi in the bathroom!

However the carpet on the floor was a little run-down and there were no big plates provided other than some saucers with some cutlery.

The breakfast served every morning was excellent, great choices of food and plentiful. A wide variety of beverages were served too. The lady serving breakfast was extremely friendly and courteous. Beautiful deco and interesting reading materials posted on the walls in the dining room. The thought of the great breakfast make us want to go back there again!

However the receptionist wasn't too friendly especially to us, Asians. A little discriminating as we noticed he was very entertaining to the Europeans guests and answered all their questions and making recommendations to them but not to us when we tried to approach him!

The motel is very closed to shops, supermarkets, restaurants and tourist spots. There are a couple of very good Chinese restaurants, selling great food at reasonable prices, along the street.

Room Tip: Ask for room at ground floor if you have too many luggage. There's no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymum59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    115
    43
    11
    11
See reviews for
63
121
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Good value for money, well positioned, clean,friendly. Okay the fittings are a bit tired, but we liked it. Lady at breakfast made it great, buffet style and tables cleared and cleaned quickly. We had no noise. Lots of hot water even though we got in late after a great meal in the Paragon cafe followed by beers, music and snooker at the RSL. Great based for the town centre (Parts of which it appears time has forgotton, there should be preservation orders on so many buildings) and the mountains. Would return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nualabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Last weekend we stayed here in this hotel, right in the centre of Katoomba, close to everything. The hotel was comfortable, though the room a little small. I was disappointed with the kitchen facilities as they were very limited. The breakfast was very very nice and the staff in this hotel was very courteous and helpful. The bed was comfortable, and there was an electric blanket if we needed it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the heritage part, like we had, and at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is the second time my partner and I have stayed here and there are good reasons for while we will again. It is very reasonable priced (for Katoomba) and the location is excellent. The name says it all – it is within an easy walking distance to all the restaurants and bars in Katoomba and only a 5 min drive from the Three Sisters. Sure, the décor is a little 70s, but that is also part of its charm. The breakfast (and the dining area) is also a little 70s, but the food is hearty and the buffet is generous. I’ve always found the staff here very friendly and willing to help if and when required.

My only small criticism is I have never managed to secure a king size bed when staying. As a very tall person, it can make a comfortable nights sleep a little tricky. But maybe an extra glass of wine before bed would sort that out in the future. My height (again) also made negotiating the very small shower a bit of a challenge. But really, for these rates, I’ll be returning to this motel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMarc034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I am often disappointed with modern motels as they often seem to be lacking in service and cleanliness. This motel ticks all the boxes for me. The location is great, the staff friendly and the rooms are very clean. Yes it is dated, however it is in excellent condition for its age and is great value. Breaky is better than many four stars I have stayed in. I have stayed here twice and will head straight there next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Very central, great for dining out in katoomba without having to drive. Rooms are clean but a bit on the small side. Was in the old part of the building so it was a bit noisy with people going up and down stairs. Large breakfast choice at a very reasonable rate, and a very friendly breakfast cook.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarahliz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in a family room upstairs at the property located conveniently to all amenities, restaurants, shops, supermarkets, transport and scenic sites.

The staff were very friendly and made you feel like at home. The room was very clean and tidy with daily services. The buffet breakfast was great and provided with a variety of options. We enjoyed reading the copies of old newspapers posted on the wall in the breakfast dinning room, a very brilliant decor idea which matched with the heritage building.

Our children also discovered the onsite playground and made friends with the beautiful cat!

Lisa J

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles80, Owner at Katoomba Town Centre, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thankyou for your kind review, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.0 mi away
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katoomba Town Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katoomba Town Centre

Property: Katoomba Town Centre
Address: 218-224 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Katoomba Town Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katoomba Town Centre Motel is a proud member of the Equeva Group, established with a view to provide the Complete Accommodation Experience for every type of traveller; from individuals to extended families. Located in Katoomba, in the scenic upper Blue Mountains. Our motel is rich with culture, friendly customer service and located in the heart of Katoomba Town Centre where you can enjoy a variety of cafes, shops, galleries and walks to parks abundant with beautiful native flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katoomba Town Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katoomba Town Centre Hotel Katoomba
Katoomba Town Centre Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing