We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst attitude!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Katoomba Town Centre
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have never complained about accommodation or attitudes of people of where I have stayed before However here goes! I paid a deposit on a specific room where I had stayed in before. I did this over the phone and paid by credit card! I was told it was available and there wouldn't be a problem. I arrived and was given another room that was way below expectations. It wasn't as good as the other room so I declined the room. You would think that they would at least give you an apology and your money back and maybe even a discount for future bookings however they created an argument and refused point blank to give my deposit back! Be very careful in dealing with the people here, With their attitude they can get you in more than one way!
Wouldn't go near the place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
11  Thank Murray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 256 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Badly in need of a renovation, probably last decorated in about 1975, our family room was somewhat smaller than we had expected based on the motel website, and the trundle bed for one of our two kids made the room seem smaller still. The beds were comfortable however, the showers worked fine, and we were very pleased with our breakfasts, which contained a few pleasant surprises rarely seen at hotel buffets (curried sausages! french toast) as well as all of the usual suspects. Great breakfast room decorated with framed newspaper front pages of significant events. The motel is very well situated in Katoomba - but the adjacent town of Leura is far prettier, has fewer gloomy shut-down businesses, and would be our pick over Katoomba if we were to stay in the Blue Mountains again.
Pergola/picnic table was just outside our room so we were kept awake several nights by boozed up tourists chatting late into the night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingAussieMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles80, Owner at Katoomba Town Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hi Travelling Aussie Mum
Thankyou for yur review and positive comments about our great position and breakfasts. Property is family owned and always in the process of updating and improvement, the family rooms came about as like you we travelled extensively with a young family and found that accommodtion was very expensive when you try to sleep 4 to 5 persons.To help families or even groups of adults enjoy a stay away, we designed a full size single trundle bed that lives under the exsisting single bed, we only charge for 3 persons in the room, the 4th is free. Most guests appreciate the cost saving even if the trundle takes up a little extra room. Beds are all recent and are 5 star quality.
Katoomba has more interesting bric-a brac shops, lots of restaurants and some nice bars, Leura has more cafes, both are different, its all a matter of choice and it is great that they are so close together.
Sorry about the pergola, it is not been mentioned before, we are in the process of moving it into the BBQ garden.
Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very good basic accomodation, clean, comfortable and quiet. We were given a choice of 2 queen beds or queen and two singles. Great location in the middle of town. We had a delicious buffet breakfast in our rate. Would recommend this hotel to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The room is alright but the air conditioner is the worst. We were staying in the first floor. When the second floor turned the AC on we could not sleep. Please change the AC; it is so noisy. We decided not to turn the AC because we want to have a good sleep...

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sonnthida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles80, Owner at Katoomba Town Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hi Sonnthida S

Thankyou for advising us about the noisy air conditioner, we discovered a faulty bearing and repaired it the same day. If you had told us when while you were here and first discovered it we could have given you another room or fixed the problem for you. We try and check all these things everytime we clean the rooms but sometimes a fault appears the next time is it switched on.
Sorry again, hope you come back and enjoy a stay with us, I am sure that most properties are like us and will fix a problem if you tell us about it while you are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have stayed twice now and have been very happy with our stay both times. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is brilliant - right on the main street with everything just a few minutes walk away. We had planned to eat out for dinner the night we stayed but couldn't because our toddler fell asleep early, so we decided to order a take away - the man at reception was really helpful when we asked him to recommend some restaurants that might be able to deliver. Breakfast is always great and the lady in the breakfast room is really lovely. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sooty02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the motel for 3 nights. We had a choice of 2 queen bed family room or 1 queen, 1 single & 1 trundle. After checking 2 rooms, we decided to go for the room with 2 queen. We were very happy with our decision. We loved how big the room was. It's big enough to allow 2 little kids to run around a bit without running into furnitures. The only down side to that room is the air-con is VERY noisy. We couldn't be bothered to mention it to the owners. I don't think they would have fixed it in the time we were there anyway. In the end we got used to it. In a way, I think the noisy air-con was good as it drowned out outside/traffic noise.

The beds were comfortable, the pillows were a bit flat. Thankfully, we brought our own pillows!

We arrived to a clean room on the first day, but it wasn't cleaned on the second day. It might have been due to the fact we returned to the room earlier than the cleaner could get around to it. Thankfully, the room was cleaned on the third day and rubbish was emptied as well.

It was good to have the buffet breakfast included. It saved us from having to go around looking for cafes to have breakfast. That way, we ate our breakfast and went on touring around. The breakfast was ok, nothing to rave about. It was the same everyday. It was ok to have it for 3 days, but I think if we couldn't have it for more than that.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Katoomba Town Centre Motel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles80, Owner at Katoomba Town Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hi H R

Thankyou for positive comments, wish that you had bothered to tell us about the air conditioner, and we could of fixed it for you, that's what we are here for.
Along with our 5star beds we have good quality pillows and plenty of them, I myself sleep on a big thick latex pillow which we tried with guests but they were to big, your idea of taking your own pillow is a good idea.
Our Full Hot Buffet Breakfast has 3 Juices, 6 Cereals, Fruit, Porrige, Preserves, Toasts, Muffins and Crumpets, + 12 to 15 hot dishes (all freshly cooked everyday), tea, coffee etc.
Freshly ground coffee, cappuccino, expresso and hot chocolate are available at reception 24 hours a day.
If you go out early and then come back and put the 'Do Not Disturb" sign on the door our staff have been instructed not to disturb you, reception is open until 9.30pm, had you told us we would have been only to pleased to remove any rubbish, provide clean towels etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just wanted to say thanks for a great experience. I had to leave early due to circumstances and unfortunately believe that there was excessive noise afterwards for which I'm sorry and apologise. Had I still been there this wouldn't have occurred.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
596 reviews
0 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
440 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
0.7 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katoomba Town Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katoomba Town Centre

Address: 218-224 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: $70 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Katoomba Town Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katoomba Town Centre Motel is a proud member of the Equeva Group, established with a view to provide the Complete Accommodation Experience for every type of traveller; from individuals to extended families. Located in Katoomba, in the scenic upper Blue Mountains. Our motel is rich with culture, friendly customer service and located in the heart of Katoomba Town Centre where you can enjoy a variety of cafes, shops, galleries and walks to parks abundant with beautiful native flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katoomba Town Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katoomba Town Centre Hotel Katoomba
Katoomba Town Centre Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing