We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Pins on Lurline

Pins on Lurline
Ranked #11 of 91 Restaurants in Katoomba
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Japanese, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Pins on Luline's setting is a Katoomba landmark, a grand historic house built at the turn of the century. We deliver fine food with Contemporary Australian flavours and a focus on locally sourced produce. We provide an intimate, cozy and comfortable dining experience, set in the heart of the breathtaking Blue Mountains. Visitors can enjoy the surrounding natural beauty and the outlook of our stunning traditional English gardens with a glass of locally sourced wine.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Having twice called in to find it fully booked midweek, we reserved ahead for Friday.It was a delightful experience - very good food, nice ambience, decent pricing and locals as customers.
We had calamari (very well cooked) and feta tart (very good) to start, with kangaroo fillet (very good) and salmon teriyaki (excellent) to follow.All presented well by pleasant staff.They have a BYO policy(only 6 AUD corkage) as well as a good wine list.
Overall the best meal (and best value) we had in Katoomba by a mile.Well deserving of its high ratings. It is quite a small place so don't leave it to chance - book.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    137
    45
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner in the mountains.”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Pins had an interesting reasonably priced menu and the food was delicious. The waitress was welcoming and friendly. The restaurant was in a lovely garden setting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Intriguing menu at reasonable prices”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant as a couple on a Saturday night.
Tip: if you are visiting this restaurant on a Friday or Saturday night book well in advance. The restaurant is relatively small and is very popular. We booked 4 days ahead but found ourselves having to eat at 6pm as this was the only time available. Food is an eclectic mix of Japanese, Italian and Australian cuisines. We had bruschetta (with beautiful bocconcini and pesto) and pan fried gyoza pork dumplings. Recommend both highly. For mains we had kangaroo loin with salad and pork belly with rice. Both are board specials that are offered on a regular basis. Kangaroo was lovely but was definitely rare - so not for those who like their meat cooked more. Pork belly was flavoursome but quite filling. Bombe Alaska for dessert was a bit of a let down with the home made nougat ice cream proving rock hard and very difficult to cut. Gippsland cream was the highlight of the dish. Highly recommend the lemon sake. Restaurant offers BYO with $3 corkage fee. We brought our own wine but found the menu offered some interesting wines at reasonable prices. All in all we had 7 dishes and a sake for under $100, which was incredible value for money. Service was prompt and pleasant. Restaurant is set in a beautiful historic house creating a wonderful ambience. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone staying in Katoomba or close by looking for something a little different, but still good quality food at a reasonable price.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank klewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This resturant is #1 in Katoomba on tripadvisor not sure why, my experience was terrible. Busy Friday night, entree was squid which was burnt and that's all you could taste. Waited over 40 minutes for entree. Main was steak also burnt and I couldn't eat it. Left hungry and disappointed! Wouldn't recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mixed Result”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The meals on the chalkboard are diverse and sound great. The meals coming out of the kitchen look great too. We had bruschetta to start which was lovely. My wife had Kangaroo followed by Pins trio plate for dessert, she said both were excellent. I wasn't so lucky. The chargrill/smoke taste of my scotch fillet was so strong as to be unpleasant and it was lukewarm at best. I chose the sticky date pudding which turned out to be a disaster. It was dry and rock hard, I literally couldn't get my spoon through thicker part of the slice so had to leave it. Seems good value for money and quite busy for a Thursday night - better luck next time I guess.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 905Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pins on Lurline also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Pins on Lurline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing